General Irish politics discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Blut2

The national level polling doesn't always translate well into individual constituencies. It absolutely provides a useful overall guideline, but the major political parties all have far more granular data thats more useful at predicting how difficult (or easy) a candidate's re-election campaign will be.

Its a problem with a lot of seat predictions you'll see in Irish political analysis - people take the national polling and extrapolate it to every constituency evenly, when there can be a lot of local variation.

This all applies particularly for this upcoming election which had the boundary redraws happening recently. Lots of TDs had their core vote areas radically altered, for better or worse, which they're very aware of. They already know if they've likely gained or lost a few thousand votes based on the voting record of those local areas, which will obviously have a huge impact come election time.

Thanks for that. Interesting in so far as I've never been aware of them (FF), expounding it as part of their manifesto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,731 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Lemass wanted to name the party The Republican Party in 1926

Lemass, the pragmatist, wanted to call the new party simply The Republican Party. De Valera, attached to Gaelic symbolism, insisted on the Irish language name Fianna Fáil (meaning 'soldiers of destiny') after contemplating the name Fine Gael (meaning 'family of the Gael', which, ironically, became the name of the main opposition party to Fianna Fáil). The eventual formal name chosen for the new party was a combination of de Valera's Irish and Lemass's English ideas. It was indicative of Lemass's status in 1926 that his preferred choice of name was included in the final title, albeit secondary to de Valera's chosen name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,927 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭blackwhite

image.png

It's always been part of what they call themselves - going back to it's founding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,628 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Disagree, it was an excellent speech, well delivered. she put her own stamp on it. Not forced speaking, each point succinct. The key points, around housing and health services were primed with precise solutions. Rated it as a very good performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

This will pptentially be the biggest dilemma for the party after the next election.

Mr Gannon however finds it hard to see how he could go into government with Fine Gael, but it is not a red line. Ms Murphy also makes the point that the party would want to enter a "government of change".

Agree with that. I think the only red line HC mentioned was the Health Policy. She was signalling that the next Govn't could possibly be the first in the country without FG or FF. Probably wishful thinking at this point, if the polls tell us. Alt is that she was playing hardball on policy negotiations post election.

Gannon managed to have the worst attendance of any TD in the Dail in 2021 despite living in walking distance of it, and fradulently claim his travel expenses while he was at it. If hes also part of the SocDems wing desperate to keep them out of government hes really not doing them much good.

Quite the accusation there, what fraud did he carry out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Serves them right. They all lost their jobs because they went woke and "elected" a gay half Indian leader who they thought was bright and would lead them to electoral success despite the fact that their members overwhelmingly voted for Coveney. Instead Leo Varadkar's electoral record has been nothing but appalling for FG and they're all forced to throw in the towel and leave as they know there's no ministerial mercs coming down the line for them. Also LV tends not to promote competent experienced/older politicians but gobshites like Donohoe, McEntee and 19 covids Harris.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Nowhere in that article does it mention fraudulent activity - that's your description which I would say is deliberately incorrect!

I also note that several SF TDs were in the same position of having to repay expenses for not meeting the minimum number of days attendance...

No other TD recorded as low an attendance rate as Mr Gannon for the purposes of claiming Oireachtas expenses, although five Sinn Féin TDs, including the party’s deputy leader in the Dáil, Pearse Doherty, also failed to meet the 120-day minimum and had to refund thousands of euro in expenses to Oireachtas authorities between them.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

They all lost their jobs because they went woke and "elected" a gay half Indian leader 

That says a lot about you! 🙄

Putting my mod hat on: do not continue down that path in this forum

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

I thought it a great thing that a gay man with an immigrant background became taoiseach. Then I saw Leo Varadkar in action. I saw his nasty politics. His divisive nature. His refusal to pay nurses a measly €17m shortly after becoming taoiseach. Calling for vulture funds to come and rip off the Irish people ("stick with us"). Bringing An Garda Siochana to within 24 hours of a strike. . . . . That man is no leader and that's why they're all throwing in the towel. FG will get their comeuppance in June and later this year or early next year when the general election comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,682 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

All 'soft left' leaders talk that talk, from Pat Rabbitte saying he wanted to see FF put out of office for a generation to this famous contribution by John Gormley

but when FF and/or FG make them an offer they usually find themselves unable to refuse....

Him paying nurses has nothing to do with him being gay or being of part Indian descent except it seems in your mind.

Mod: I did say not to follow that path and you decided to so you've forced me to take action.

"Fraud is an intentionally deceptive action designed to provide the perpetrator with an unearned gain"

If I skipped half of my work days in a year, and deliberately overclaimed for expenses while I was doing so, that I was then later forced to pay back, my employer would absolutely fire me for fraud. As would I would wager almost every single private sector employer in the state.

Its absolutely horrendous performance from a sitting TD, and theres no way he deserves to retain his seat.

He didn't deliberately overclaim any expenses. A TD is paid the maximum Travel and Accommodation Allowance (TAA) and then once there yearly attendance is calculated, they either keep the money or must return it if they didn't reach the requirement. You really should learn the basics of how the system operate before defaming someone.

Gannon claimed more travel expenses than he was entitled to, and was subsequently forced to return money he had claimed.

He claimed €28,270 in travel expenses that year, to commute circa 2km in Dublin. A short walk.

And he did this while maintaining literally the worst attendance record in the Dail, while living in the second closest to the Dail constituency in the country.

Theres absolutely no justification for all of that, he deserves to lose his seat in the next election.

And, again, if I skipped work for half of the year, and inflated my expenses to the point of being forced to repay what I had claimed, I would absolutely be fired for fraud. As would almost any employees in this country. We should _at the very least_ be holding our politicians to the standards of the average worker.

You made an allegation of fraud when there is absolutely no evidence of this. I'm also conscious that you continue to avoid claiming that the SF TDs who also had to repay expenses were doing being fraudulent!

Again, i don't know why you insist on constantly lying and defaming a person. He didn't claim travel expenses. Every TD is given a travel allocation and if they don't reach the requirements to retain it they are expected to pay it back.

If your work place provided you with a travel expense of €9,000 and said that you need to come into the office 120 days to retain the full amount, otherwise you need to give back 1% for every day you come in below 120 then of course you wouldn't be sacked for fraud if you went into work for 100 days that year. Its ridiculous to even try and claim you would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭pureza

Gannon worked from home a lot or from his constituency office

There's absolutely nothing wrong with a T.D doing that when they live so close

It DOES NOT mean they weren't working or were away golfing

I gave the definition of fraud in response to you, which Gannon's behaviour clearly falls under.

I never mentioned any SF TDs? But any TD that fradulently claims expenses should lose their seat. In the UK they actually punished politicians for this, as we should do.

He claimed travel expenses. Some TDs don't claim them at all, or only claim a small amount, Gannon claimed €28,270 of them in a single year to commute a 2km round trip. While only attending his work place for less than 50% of the work days that year, literally the lowest of any TD in the Dail. Despite living one of the shortest distances away.

Are you trying to claim this is reasonable behaviour? Do you think this is a fair amount of travel expenses to claim from the Irish tax payer, given the distances involved? Do you think it actually cost him that much to travel to work, ie it wasnt' a fradulent claim?

How did literally every single other TD in the Dail, who all also work from home or their constituency office, mostly from much geographically further away, manage to attend more votes than him while doing so? Including many sitting ministers, who presumably have a lot more on their plate to balance?

If someone is literally the worst attending member of the Dail, despite being one of the closest geographically, and while only being a backbench TD, then theres a fair dollop of laziness in the mix too.

Gary Gannon may have other issues that restrict him. Don't be jumping to simple conclusions like, laziness;

You are still banging out this accusation of fraud despite providing absolutely no evidence of intent to defraud. Either provide your evidence or else stop trying to libel the guy!

I gave the exact definition of fraud. And listed his exact actions, which it applies to.

Do you think he non-fraudulently accumulated travel expenses of €28,270, in one year, commuting from Dublin Central to Leinster House?

For 108 days of attendance, commuting approximately 2km each way. That works out to €130 for each 2km trip that he billed to the tax payers of Ireland.

How exactly do you think this is in any way reasonable or justified? Or even possible to achieve non-fraudulently?

I'd genuinely love to know how its possible to legitimately rack up travel expenses of €65 per km. The already generous civil service mileage rate for travel of that distance is 41-51cent per km, less than 1/100th of what he claimed.

Post a link stating where he claimed €28,270 in Travel expenses.