Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Anyone come accross the full match anywhere? Virgin Media are an absolute pain in the ass on Sky Glass, and haven't put the match in the playlist as usual

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Rugby24.net has it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭50HX

Ringrose is one of the best 13's in world rugby, he gets a bit of criticism for missed tackles but I think he's allowed that lee way by management as he shoots the line so quick

He's a brilliant reader of the game & superb passer

He's rarely injured & all of this shows why he is picked consistently, wasn't that long ago Aki had poor form, henshaw at 12 as a result which imo is he's best position

P.s I'm a munster fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Going to miss the U20s match - does anyone know where I can watch it after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭mogwai81

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,701 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Will Frawley ever get off the bench? Poor lad rides pine like he was born to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭hold my beer

I always thought you needed a VM TV sub to play their player, but it's playing online for me, cheers.

Shame it's not available on Sky Glass (I better check this later 🤣)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,576 ✭✭✭✭phog

6-2 split usually works against the two backs getting meaningful game time, coaches are nervous that they end up with only 14 on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭TRC10

You might want to try reading that again. Never said I wouldn't be posting at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,376 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Pity the referees don't get an overhead angle.

Really does seem like Porter is being judged on reputation rather than what's actually happening in the scrum.

BJ Botha arguing that Porter was unfairly penalised on Friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

A very promising development for Ireland (as we enter into the post-Sexton era) is Crowley's vastly superior athleticism, and how it allows him move laterally across the pitch when we're on attack, and join a lot of phases at the back if the pod, i.e., the option out the back door. Sexton was no slouch athletically, to be clear. A lot of this is simply due to age. As Sexton got older, he was an option in fewer pods, but compensated by assuming the role of a general, dictating where play should happen. Porter's try in the (I think second) test in NZ is my favourite example of how effective this was.

But at the same time, the more phases you can play with the 10 at the back of the pod, the more chaos you can cause. This means that the option out the back door has a kick, run and pass threat. Subtle difference, but at the top level, a defending team keeping tabs on three things will leave more gaps than a defending team keeping tabs on one or two. I can't imagine it's a coincidence that our forwards absolutely beasted the French pack in the carry, when our pods more frequently fixed them to multiple threats.

To be clear, this is not to diminish the great carrying performances by McCarthy and Doris. Nor is it to re-open the can of worms of the decision to keep Sexton on in the QF. It's just to say that we are moving into an uncertain era, following Sexton's retirement, and that the initial signs are that it might have some degree of upside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,701 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Same as last year. Atonio is belly flop master

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭letowski

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Don’t tell TRC that. It’ll diminish his ability to post misery. And we wouldn’t want tha….. oh, no wait, we pretty much all want that. Nevermind.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

France did it in 2022. Don't know if anyone else has done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭ersatz

When was the last time Ireland went through a match without a loop off ten?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,837 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Didn't see this anywhere else..maybe I missed it but it seems all the players in the France Ire game were wearing new gumshields with an embedded microchip for testing impacts and concussions. A few of the French weren't happy it seems with a short run in for wearing them.

https://www.ladepeche.fr/2024/02/01/france-irlande-au-tournoi-des-vi-nations-cest-complique-on-nous-limpose-cette-nouveaute-qui-fait-pester-les-bleus-11737975.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,112 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Well they got to 25 but it wasn't what was meant above. They only got two try bonus points.

Ireland came closest last year as far as I know to the perfect slam and finished on 27.

Ryan fluffing what would have been the try of the tournament vs Scotland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Its a point well made.

Also Loved seeing Crowley crashing over the top of Ramos.

Nobody’s perfect. Even Andy Farrell! (and yes it’s a can of worms) but there is no doubt in my mind that Crowley, McCarthy and Baird should all have played more minutes at the RWC. Esp. v NZ

I think this side is liberated with Crowley at outhalf.

He’s still learning but he plays with a freedom that is refreshing (mostly!) for everyone.

His athleticism and robustness is a big plus. But his mindset and attitude is equally important.

Im sure Farrell is going to be great for his game and will encourage him to be himself and play what he sees.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,950 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

No they haven't. I don't believe anyone would have done so in the past either even if bonus points had been available (ignoring that the games would have played out differently of course).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,950 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I mean, McCarthy was most directly at fault for the penalty that ended the match against NZ. Crowley made a number of mistakes trying to force things against France that thankfully weren't an issue given the overall performance but could have been relevant in a tighter game.

The new caps all generally played very well and have been put into a system that enables them to have the best possible chance of success. I'm sure there will be some teething problems over the course of the 6N but Farrell has done an excellent job of setting the stage so that we will succeed regardless and everyone will be the better for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

When was Henshaw "written off" by anyone? his form this season after he got back from injury has been good and he has been and has always been one of the best centres in Europe, hence why he played for the Lions.

Ringrose form has been great so far as well and he is a huge loss to the team for a number of reasons.

But the positive is having 3 centre players like Aki/Ringrose/Henshaw when you can swap between them for games and the performance levels stay high. Even McCloskey was playing great stuff around WC and is still in the conversation but I haven't seen how he has been playing post WC in a misfiring Ulster

I think you tried to post something positive but ended up making it a negative by having an unnecessary comment about Ringrose

Literally every time Henshaw comes in for Ringrose you hear people going on about how massive a blow it is, and every time they're wrong. People massively overestimate how important Ringrose is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Negri out injured for Ireland game , really doesn't help Italys slim slim hopes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Ah feck. You're right. Forgot about the 3 extra points for the grand slam.

13 has long been Henshaw's best position. Happy to see him there. There's no concern over his defense, he's a more physical tackler than Ringrose to boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,806 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

He did incredibly well for the Nash try. There were so many bad options there where he might have got isolated and/or turned over. Incredible example of rugby brain.

The Italy game is a perfect opportunity to bring in the likes of O'Toole, Baird and Casey to start. The win on Saturday was great but the age profile of the team is worryingly high for the start of a WC cycle with lots of guys in their mid 30s.. If we're going for the evolution rather than revolution approach that's fine, but we need to start gradually integrating the next generation in, and the Italy game is the perfect game to start that process, with us continuing it on during the summer tour and Nov tests.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,410 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

we just gave three young players their first ever six Nations starts away in France last weekend.

Farrell has never had a problem integrating younger players into the system.

There is no problem here that needs fixing

Post edited by sydthebeat on