Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,753 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Ha! Ok take him out.

13 then

High hopes for Osborne. Hands, Size, Speed, Left foot all in his favour. Both Henshaw and Ringrose at Leinster not in his favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Henshaw is not what he was. If anything, Hume is playing better.

Agreed. Ringrose has also been poor. He's not guaranteed anything either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Ringrose is guaranteed to start. Not in any doubt whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Happy for Farrell. Some impressive stats from his tenure in this thread:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Couldn't win the World Cup tho. Therefore he should have been sacked and a proven winner in o Gara brought in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,019 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

He'll be capped and starting for Leinster by then if he doesn't get injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

Now possibly but you also need to remember alot will change between now and the announcement, someone like Ahern who isnt even capped now could easily find himself on the plane 15 months time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭The Parish King

It’ll be interesting who is named captain next week when the squad is announced.

Gerry Thornley mentioned on a podcast during the week that he would be quite surprised if O’Mahony gets the nod (he didn’t clarify, but this seemed like an informed view), and that he thinks it will be either Ringrose or Ryan (this sounded more like an educated guess compared to his POM opinion).

Regardless of whether it’s Ringrose or Ryan (or anyone else for that matter), I just hope there’s clarity and we don’t go for a co-captain approach!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,984 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I've high hopes for Osborne. Has a a well rounded skill set and put in some excellent performances in Europe and domestically.

Injury has hit him at precisely the worst time two seasons in a row now. He's be capped by Ireland but for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭phog

It will be even more impressive after the Lions Tour, series win on the cards.

I’ve heard from a very good source that O’Mahony is retiring at the end of the season.

Supposedly couldn’t reach an agreement with Munster on tenor or value of a new deal.

Not expected to move overseas, just likely to hang them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭typhoony

Doesn't make any sense to make a guy captain whose only going to be around for max another 12 months, we also need to start fixing our lineouts sometime soon and that means trying to get Baird and Aherne fit in the same team, we don't seem to have any current 2nd rows who would be able to fix it.

Ferris mentioned on the URC podcast during the week that he'd heard the contract negotiations weren't going well. Didn't really sound like all is rosy down in Munster from what he was saying, senior players unhappy with training apparently, and hinted there was more to meets the eye with POM giving up the captaincy in the strange way he did.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Heard it months ago it wasn't going to happen and he wouldn't sign.

At that stage the rumour was he might go to ROG and try his hand in France with a view to taking up a coaching position post playing career.

The second part and ROG was more speculation but the contract negotiations seemed to be at a standstill at that stage. But again, pub talk etc so hard to know

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

D'Arcy wrote a piece on this a few years ago, when he was playing at least, as you progressed into your 30s the contract offers from the IRFU go down in value considerably.

POM got into a huge standoff over his contract when he signed the one year extension in Feb 2023, he wanted 2 years then (with the second year rolling off a central contract and onto a Munster contract) and couldn't get it over the line. If not for the RWC he'd have gone at the end of the 22/23 season.

Have heard it said multiple times that he and Graham Rowntree don't see eye to eye at all - and have had a couple of relatively direct rows, one of which led to the captaincy resignation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Would O’Gara be better compensated staying where he is?

I think the terms go down certainly but the value?

In POM situation he will be moving off a central contract and its down to what Munster can offer him which I would expect is a lot less. That seems to be the issue.

He has said he wants to coach at international level, question is does he want to take on international rugby so soon in his career. Before it was suggested not to take it on because once you coach Ireland you will never get back into a provincial job

6nations around the corner! No Sexton, no Hanson and several lads are out of form. I would say a grand slam is not on this year. I think we win our home matches and hopefully win in Twickers. Not confident going to France.

I'm hoping form is rewarded and Prendergast or Baird get an opportunity. I think Hume is deserving of a look too. Scrum half is concerning. No one is putting their hand up. Murray should not make the squad based on his form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

From D'Arcy:

"I signed six IRFU contracts lasting 17 years. A two-year deal aged 18, another two-year at 20, a three-year at 24 followed by one at the zenith of my earning power, age 27, before a plummeting spectacularly contract age 30. The sixth deal, age 33, was another significant drop, a take it or leave it offer.

My fifth contract was tough to swallow. I took a hefty pay cut in 2010/11 despite being at the peak of my powers, despite being the starting Ireland number 12 heading into a World Cup season."

• Administrators Posts: 56,260 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

That was pre-Nucifora too, presumably the blazers did the contracts back then, so you can only assume it's even more stringent now.

13 years ago and IRFU was at a lot of f**king around with contracts at that stage. Every year you had stories of players going to France etc. Then Sexton/Moore etc jumped because of the messing. Since Nucifora came onto the scene all of that has disappeared and seem to be more streamline. The reports of players jumping is limited and mostly when reported it turns out right(like Joey)

It probably happened then but don't think it is relevant anymore

Sorry only seen this after, I agree Nucifora seems to have it locked down and players they want are kept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭foxyladyxx

Leinster obsessed fan here……I would be most happy for Nash to play on the wing in place of Hansen with Osborne missing. He has that “dog” which is spoken about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭ersatz

Right, actually a genuine opportunity to rebuild. POM, Connor and Tadgh are question marks. Maybe we have Lowe but otherwise two new wingers, no Johnny. The loss of Hansen and maybe Lowe is a massive twist for Farrell given how imposrtant they are to how we play. Back/2nd row about the only consistency available and Joe to come in. Maybe Ringrose on the wing, and one/two of the Munster wingers coming in. 2nd place would be a big success this year, maybe third depending on Twickenham but I expect England to be a lot better this year.

Post edited by ersatz on

I would assume Stockdale will get another chance. I'd prefer to see Nash or Daly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭ersatz

Yeah, he was the last one out before the WC squad was finalised so he is in the picture. I haven't seen much of him this season tho Ulster fans on here seem non plussed. Nash and or Daly for me too. The front line back 3 is stellar, and I'd add JOB to that, but beyond them we run into familiar depth problems. It would be great to see some new blood tried out this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Have to say, I'm not overly enamored with Farrell taking on the Lions role. Just think it has the potential to create division with some players who are not selected and affect morale/confidence.