Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ryan Tubridy Show **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,045 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The British don't like change , they'd have to warm to him, and it'd hard to do that on that kind of show and him being hyper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,715 ✭✭✭yagan

Isn't the likes of Hirst the RT of art, promoted far beyond any reasonable logic?

I never did understand all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,343 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Yeah a few more sponsorship mentions are required:😀

Guinness Storehouse

Waterford Crystal factory

English Market Cork

Kilkenny Castle

Giants Causeway

The Little Museum Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Far be it from me to psychoanalyze anyone from a position of complete ignorance of the field, but hey, it's an internet forum, lets go!

My tuppenny bit on this invented persona of "man of culture" from someone who we all know is doing olympic level spoofing is that Tubs is from a long line of achievers, high political office holders, academics etc. His own father was a MD / psychiatrist. I'd imagine there was always pressure on Tubs to do well academically and professionally. Perhaps the aspirations for him, whether explicit or perceived, weren't a good fit for him but he didn't want to be the lightweight or the eegit, the black sheep of the Andrews clan (that title taken by David McSavage!) so he has decided to keep up a facade of being a bookish, culture vulture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,045 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭backwards_man

Regarding the bookworm persona, I think going back a few years, he just needed A persona as he seems to be not charasmatic or even interesting, he is bland, meh, so he needed "something" so bookworm it was because he reads a few books and so NK planted the seed for him to write a book, to go along with the persona so he did that, guaranteed publishing deal in Ireland, and now that all the persona he has. but it was built on a charade and he is milking it to death because he actuallly isnt interesting, or funny, or particularly clever, so bookworm is all he has. But anyone who is actually a bookworm can see through it. Ah I dont like tearing him down but thats my take on it. He isnt the first to make up an act to make a living.

Regarding the Irish guests, i bet he is desperately trying to get Cillian Murphy and Barry Keoghan on the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,443 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Unfair on McSavage though. Probably not terribly likeable but undoubtedly witty. The silver spoon he was born with wal similar to Tubs' but , unlike the Dainty Little bugger, he effectively told his family to shove that spoon up their holes and went his own way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,536 ✭✭✭jmcc

A lot of writers (professionals) and readers have a very different attitude to that of Tubridy. This is because Amazon Kindle allows a book to be sold globally without the hassle of printing and distribution. This has led to some series appearing on Amazon that precisely target their markets. (One that I can think of is currently up to book 70.)

A lot of print books can get remaindered (copies that don't sell are marked down and sold off by the pound or kilo to bookshops like the old Chapters bookshop in Dublin). From the reader's viewpoint, Amazon's site is always open. It is also possible to publish an ebook edition and a print on demand edition with Amazon. Don't think that Tubridy would be capable of doing that himself as he doesn't appear to have the skills. His books were with large publishers.

He probably has one good book in him: (with apologies to Spike Milligan) "RTE - My part in its downfall.".

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Absolutely not. Hirst, as anyone versed in contemporary conceptual art would know, is a recognised, genuine talent.

If I were to compare Tubridy to any artist, I would say he’s like Jack Vettriano. Competent, professional, successful in his own right, but unchallenging: basically wallpaper that appeals to the masses.

IMG_4713.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Only one good book? So Patrick and the President was just a warm up? (for anyone who hasn't seen it before check the illustrations in that link)

Perhaps he'd be a children's author though they'd probably get bored too. :) The illustrations should come with a spoiler alert as there seems to be an ex-RTE presenter in some of them pretending to be a journalist.

Regards...jmcc

Absolutely not. Hirst, as anyone versed in contemporary conceptual art would know, is a recognised, genuine talent.

As anyone versed.... isn't that as pretentious as the bookman?

I think of lot of what we're seeing is a meltdown of hubris inflated by dedicated funding, be it in joke arts circles or the RTE canteen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

There’s nothing pretentious about recognising that one should understand a topic before dismissing it out of hand. Ignorance isn’t a virtue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,827 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Why would Virgin be going along with this plot? What's in it for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Chocolatier

I don't know how to include more than one quote in a post so I'll improvise.

@humberklog - lots of people on his Instagram account living in a parallel universe think the new show is the business.

@techman1 - I wouldn't agree that culturally he is dublin 4. Culturally he is Fianna Fail. 

@Expunge - Yes, I'd say the whole thing must be traumatic for him. Leaving home at the age of 50 (elderly mother etc.) to live in a rented gaff and having to sing for his supper, possibly for the first time ever. A lonely station, no pun intended. What's driving him? He has had years of gravy from RTE, money banked... why not amble about, do an occasional podcast, light the Christmas tree in Clifden and enjoy the fruits of his fortune. Instead he has schlepped off to London on a hiding to nothing. I suppose a year there might broaden his horizons. And he's bound to meet some interesting people on the flights over and back.

• This content has been removed.

Perhaps Hirst is as overvalued as Tubridy, but that's for threads with dedicated fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

His salary is probably covered by Paddy Power and/or the syndications in Ireland. But long term he also needs to build an audience in the UK as radio is very competitive there. So not much in it for them if he can't do that. Its obvious NK calls the shots and Tubridy goes where he's told. Go to Virgin, do 6 months and RTE will be begging for you to return, he was probably told.

Tubridy seems interested in holding onto some previous listeners from Ireland and staying relevant in Ireland.

Problem is a lot of traditional radio 1 listeners are loyal to the station and probably listen using traditional radios instead of through digital.

There's a risk he falls between two stools. It will be interesting to see what the Sunday listernership is in Ireland. There's a bit of anger in Cork about him cutting into a local show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,655 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

That's narcissism on a different level.

Instructions to the illustrator, "I want the little boy to look like me, and make me the journalist too".

Slightly sad and creepy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,343 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Eh I was joking but it’s still a mystery as to what virgin uk is getting out of this - it’s likely penetration into Irish radio so I assume they don’t give a darn about their uk audience right now on that station - it seems a bit lame though and it’s certainly not disruptive in that it’s not signalling a radical shakeup in Irish radio providers - people won’t stand for this sh1t - they’ll just turn the dial to a channel not broadcasting this rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭animalinside

His brother Niall is a also apparently a leading Neurologist.

That used to be quite common you know - the favoured son would become a doctor, and the idiot brother would be sent off to work with RTE.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,825 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

A little odd thing I noticed is that he never (or I haven't heard him) mention another host on Virgin and a fellow country man... Graham Norton.

Money.

Perhaps there's also a bigger picture with the Wireless Group (Virgin Radio's owner) wishing to sell its Irish radio stations and needing an Irish name to make them more attractive to a buyer? Virgin gets the advertising revenue and Q102 gets an ex-RTE presenter for much less than the previous RTE management thought he was worth. And guess who owns Virgin Radio, Wireless Group and The Sun and The Times?

Regards...jmcc

Post edited by jmcc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

And he's bound to meet some interesting people on the flights over and back.

Oh he would definitely meet some interesting people on the flights over and back, but he’ll never know that because it will be all Me, Me, Me, Ryan, Ryan, Ryan……

Id say he’d be a feckin nightmare to sit beside on a flight….

Id be plugging the headphones in for that sh1tshow…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,827 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

His salary is probably covered by Paddy Power and/or the syndications in Ireland.

Surely that can't be sufficient justification for taking on a guy they have no/very little confidence in as a presenter? My understanding is 10-1 is one of the most profitable but also competitive slots for any commercial radio station.

But long term he also needs to build an audience in the UK

But they must believe there is at least a decent chance he will do that, otherwise the hiring makes no sense. Virgin is a serious business after all, not some frolic of Chris Evans's...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,443 ✭✭✭leath_dub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,936 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Illustrator: "Calling it 'Ryan and the President' is a bit too much on the nose. How about we make the child look a little like you instead? "

RT: "OK. Can you also put adult me in the background?"

Illustrator: "Erm...well, that's still a bit...."

NK: "DON'T YOU KNOW WHO THIS IS????"

Would you consider that a lot of "conceptual" art is the product of low-talent chancers and is aimed at people who wish to be considered sophisticated? :) (Vaguely remember a monkey's artwork being passed off as that of a great artist and fooling quite a few art critics.) Wonder what Tubridy thinks about Aristotle's second book of Poetics?

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,179 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I reckon he tried to get a top up of some sort from Norton, be it a shoutout, or a few promo tweets…..

And I can imagine the response from Norton was;

no