If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Call your GP by their first name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭NSAman

Of course I call my doctor by his first name. I also have his mobile number (personal) he fields calls all hours from his patients….but then again this isn’t in Ireland 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,418 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I had Chris , then Aoife then Jamie and now that I’ve moved to a new area I’ve never met my ‘ current ‘ neuro

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

I call him by his title. I feel it's most appropriate as I am there to avail of his professional expertise.

I wouldn't be calling him or other doctors Doctor if I was dealing with them outside that professional relationship as there's no need to put people on a pedestal. But if I'm there to be treated by a doctor I'm happy to use the title.

The secretary refers to him by first name though so I actually don't think he would care either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭whydoibother

Dr Smith, I’d call the GP if he was not a close friend, but my pets vet I call Paul and really he’s got as much education as the Dr. - even probably more I’d say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

It's very likely that the doctor is indeed better than someone who displays petty emotion such as status anxiety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭standardg60

So basically, the bigger the arsehole the more prone to cancer.

Sounds fair.

For me, I'll ask to see Dr x when making the appointment, but one on one if they use my first name I'll reciprocate, it's nice to be personable.

Would people be impressed if their GP constantly referred to them as Mr/Mrs surname? Inherent deference is and should be a thing of the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

First name but seeing same for 20+ years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭ruth...less

No joke I actually had this conversation with myself the other day. Calling him Dr whatever just sounds I don't know kinky? But calling him by his first name sounds too familiar. I decided to go with nothing.

One of the previous GPs in the practice I attend was as informal as they come. Always wore his cycling shorts in practice, winter or summer. There was a double barrelled named consultant I had attended, and he was reading his report out to me. I was in stitches when he started off “Dr double-barrel @rsehole says here…” I hadn’t liked that consultant’s cold manner & scary but unhelpful potential unconfirmed diagnosis, but to give the man his due generations of his family had the double surname 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,445 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I split the difference. Dr John. Good piano player!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I call him Dr Dre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,508 ✭✭✭✭banie01

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭standardg60

If suffering with schizophrenia going with nothing is best for all involved 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

They're not real doctors anyway.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I want to find a hot lady doc with that name. And with long fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,359 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

Its not much of an achievement being smarter than your doctor in my experience. You know what "Study Medicine Europe" is? You get yourself a home study pack over three years and you are a qualified GP, hey presto.

Mind you when you are done you wont be able to tell the difference between an x-ray of an ankle and an elbow. Other graduates at senior house officer level have not done a female pelvic examination. What not even an amature interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

My GP calls me by my first name, I call him by my first name.

That's a handy tip for not having to remember other people's names. Just call them all by your own name and be done with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭mountai

Having attended the cancer section in Waterford Clinic for radiation treatment a few years ago , It was an eye opening experience . Every member of staff , Cleaners , Nurses and Consultants , wear Name Badges with their Christian Names displayed . Fabulous place and a great idea .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

I call mine by "Doctor (surname)" as when I joined the practice as a patient, there was a couple of them with the same first name so the receptionists wouldn't know who you were talking about if you rang to book with "Doctor John". Just became habit then. No inferiority complex, never felt looked down on by them or that they're more than me for being called doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭rightmove

Is the reverence for the title "doctor" eminating from the patients or the medical establishment.

Seems titles are redundant everywhere else nowadays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

My doctor's first name is Martin.

I stumble over what to call him at times, mostly doc.

Know him years, he's about same age as I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,857 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

I call my GP "esteemed physician"

As I said earlier I’m finding nearly all younger or “more modern” consultants are first name, it kind of starts with secretary saying something like “did Tom give you instruction about giving up the aspirin before the surgery?”’ This is a real life example from earlier this year. This ENT surgeon, a professor on his field made self references to himself “Tom” in some humorous informal anecdotes, it was very clear he wasn’t standing on formalities; just like a lot of the modern cohort of younger consultants. I personally feel much more relaxed with this approach, as for some reason it increases my trust that they are treating me as a human rather than just a “patient”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

I never really know when to use first or last, I kind of think its ok for them to introduce on first terms but I feel awkward replying to them on first name terms. Receptionists address and refer to all the doctors in our practice on first name terms. Kind of nearly preferred the old fashioned way when there was no ambivalence and it was Dr. Flynn or whatever.

Had some recent interaction with the youngest doctors in the practice recently, female, probably about 32 years old and she referred to herself as Dr. Houlihan ** ; the normal GP I go to in the same practice is male and about 50; he refers to himself as Cormac **. You'd kind of expect it to be the other way around...

On one of my pregnancies I attended the Obstetrician privately and he always referred to himself as Paul **, had a few phone calls where he'd always introduce himself on first name terms. On the other pregnancies I was under the same consultant but not private and he referred to himself as Dr. Kelly *** Was almost like cause I was paying him the €5k (or whatever) I earned the right to use his first name.

** Have changed the names

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭BrianD3

The reverence shown to doctors (physicians) and the worry about how to refer to them is bizarre. The older I get and the more interaction I have with physicians, the less impressed I am by their problem solving and diagnostic skills. They are very far from being "all knowing" and to be fair to them the good ones realise how little they know and how even their educated guesses are often going to be wrong. But there are still plenty of arrogant hotshots out there who don't seem to get this.

I'm a scientist and I've worked closely with other scientists, physicians and engineers during my career. IME nobody agonises about how to refer to a PhD scientist in a professional or personal setting. They get called by their first name whereas the physicians often get called get called Dr (Surname). Even the PhDs were prone to referring to the physicians as Dr. while feeling uncomfortable about anyone referring to them as Dr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,921 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

My doctor has a long name that is difficult to pronounce. The receptionists call him Dr Abdul and I know that's not his name so I feel a bit embarrassed calling him Doctor Abdul so I just stick with Doctor.

Wake me up when it's all over.