Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So "X" - nothing to see here. Elon's in control - Part XXX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

As Sam Harris says, we are living in a social experiment. Anyone who follows Elons tweets will understand he didn’t comment because there was a mini riot in Dublin by right wing elements, he would have commented because of the cause, kids got stabbed, and that will have impacted him as he’s always tweeting about his love and the importance of kids. It’s not always about politics, sometimes it’s simply about cause and prevention.

social media is an amplifier, though not always bad, a Brazilian lad now has life changing money because his heroic actions were amplified on social media, also Dublin people have come out on social media and stated the rioting and looting actions of the small minority were not on behalf of regular Dublin/ Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,201 ✭✭✭✭Stark

DaFuq? Doubt Elon even cares about his own kids, let alone some rando kids in Ireland. Obvious to all and sundry that he saw a bunch of right wing riots and figured he'd stir the pot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭RobbieV

Elon Musk is bringing global attention to Ireland in general.

He has commented on "Draconian" hate speech laws proposals

The Taoiseach commenting how Ireland "is too white"

How twitter (pre Musk) operating out of Ireland was used to censor some opinions and amplify others

There is a huge list and it's getting tens of millions of views.

Even just yesterday he is talking with certain profiles who have strong views one way or another.

Musk taking over Twitter (X) is a great thing for openness and freedom of opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,007 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I must have missed the tweet where he specifically mentioned how worried he was about the victims of the attack among the countless posts where he reinforced bigotry, racism, replacement theory and giving out about laws that will affect his platform. Can you link the specific tweet where he shows us how much love he has in his heart and how much he cares about the victims?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,837 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

His daughter literally disassociated from him entirely cause he's a prick...

The certain profiles are basically far right idiots, most of whom have never been to Ireland, let alone understanding any aspects of our politics.

Of the Irish accounts he responded to, they were naturally dodgy. Outside of being a massive racist, the account is repeatedly claiming deaths when no such deaths have occurred. So a very dangerous liar.

Overall though, the average normal person is viewing him as an annoying prick ATM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Elon Musk is bringing global attention to Ireland in general.

You'd swear no one had ever heard of Ireland before and that it was some backwater Country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Russian/US bots designed to destabilise the EU

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

🤣 Musk has spent months siding up to extremists, white supremacists and every other minority hate group imaginable.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

He couldn't give a fùck about his own kids. His child is trans and his reaction is to unleash hate against trans people. He is evil personified is unleashing hate movements.

Terry Pratchet

If all you can do to counter is make personal attacks on a person well that says it all.

I assume you have an X account too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,007 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Lol okay, I'll bite, you claim that pre musk Twitter censored people, it didn't, but what do you have to say about musk censoring things and limiting access at the request of the Turkish government during their election?

Do you agree that twitter censored people before musk took over.

For example the department of justice instructed Twitter to censor some harvard trained medical professionals who had different opinions on COVID at the time.

Twitter employees with no medical qualifications.

Would you agree that this happened?

I actually expanded the post although the fact Musk's daughter disowned him because of his views is pretty relevant. The account he's responding to in that post has actively claimed deaths in an effort to rile up another riot... So Musk is drawing attention to an account that's spreading misinformation.

I can happily say that while I used to be pretty active on Twitter, my account has been fully disabled and deleted for nearly two months. You don't need an account to check what's being posted.

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,029 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

Hilarious to see some individuals still buy into his "free speech" cosplay. He's a 50-something year old edgelord who believes in all sorts of utter nonsense, whether it's personally amplifying conspiracy stuff and quackology, antisemitism, anti-vaccine/Covid guff, pro-Russian propaganda, even delving into "Pizzagate" crap

That's cool, but now the platform is infested with it, with advertisers dropping like flies

Perhaps it's part of his "genius" business plan to create some sort of 4chan sinking ship, I don't know, but at least the far-right suddenly loves him now, so he has that going for him

Thing is, most people are unlikely to be desperate enough to use Twitter via a VPN. And given the lack of any real moderation these days, it's rapidly going in the direction of violating laws in multiple countries.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Reverse the contention, I phrased it badly: Musk has himself threatened to shut access off to the EU rather than adhere to their privacy / data / disinformation demands. I don't believe it's a serious threat - little about Musk can be called serious these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,858 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Everyone, legal or not legal eh. Since Elon took over the site is full of illegal content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

You say this like Twitter is the only site on the internet...

Some random creep somewhere - Musk is actively endangering our state to try and cause a Jo Cox type situation. He's evil scum.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,067 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭nachouser

It's a two day old account so...

Musks politics are actively inciting violence against this state. His politics of extreme hate is causing violence and destruction.

Terry Pratchet

Extreme hate against who ?

How is he "inciting violence against the state"?

Big accusations, really should be pushed to back it up.