Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

the GAA are willing to pay 15 million towards a project they don’t want completed.

the British government are willing to pay 200 million or whatever to a project they don’t want completed…

Interesting take.

No we couldn’t without spending a huge sum of money. The pairc is a GAA grade stadium, it’s nowhere near a UEFA grade stadium. The terraces aren’t even covered. You can’t have terraces or temporary seating and all stands have to be covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,200 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The GAA get a free or mostly free stadium, so from their POV what's not to like? and while it'd rarely be filled for matches, can be a concert venue etc.

Disgraceful how they let CP go to ruin and just sit there for that long though. Afraid they'd lose out on free money if they proceeded themselves?

Allowing any site in an urban area to become derelict is a disgrace.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

I thought it was interesting that nobody challenged the narrative and asked would the other side of the divide feel safe walking to Windsor Park?

Why bother? They won’t be going to the other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

That’s a bunch of non-sequiturs to my post, but the suggestion that I’m some sort of Ken super-fan is wide of the mark. I criticised him a while ago on this thread for his screeching 180 degree turn on supporting Kenny as manager.

In fairness, Eoin used to be a lot more sceptical when the results kept being terrible but Ken didn’t stop drinking the Kool Aid until after the Greece match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

Ken's rant about Pep's current assistant as a commentator picking Pedro as the most important player in the 2011 CL final after the first 20 mins was a bit odd considering Pedro went on to open the scoring that night? Some might say his commentary was prescient..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

Richard Dunne nailed it in that soundbite.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Ken calling Boris Johnson a useless pisshead was hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Dante

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,200 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

When Ken was going on and on about what players exactly Dunne could have been talking about, I was thinking "stop stop he's already dead" 😀

Now maybe the TV guys would do a bit better, facts and figures wise, if they could google away during the show when somebody else is talking 😁

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

Obviously Dunne was talking rubbish but ultimately Ken was “long and very wrong” on both Kenny and the theory that Ireland’s players suited a passing style of football so he could also learn a little from the experience aswell.

the culture wars around the Irish team appear to have been won by those on the Dunne/Gene side of the argument for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,150 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

They were giving McGregor's motives too much thought today.

He's just an idiot expressing idiotic opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,802 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Yeah, boxing doesn't exactly have high morale grounds, dunno why they care so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,576 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Because he has a massive platform, and legions of easily-led young lads who hang on his every word. So there's a fear we could see him stand as a figurehead of this hate-driven anti-immigrant right-wing ideology and help it grow, which would be such a massive shame as it's a horrible destructive exclusionary world-view we've largely managed to avoid as a country up until now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,805 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

He is talking shite on Twitter, they were talking about mcgregor like he has a platform like Joe Rogan and his podcast. It seemed excessive, I don’t like him but I don’t see him being a threat to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭bamayang

I thought they laid it on a bit thick with McGregor and suggesting Hearn would drop him as a sponsor. theyre usually on the money on where to call these things, but felt they were a bit dramatic on the whole thing.

McGregor would have a bigger platform in Ireland than Rogan I would think, which is what's relevant here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,805 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

I think a lot of Irish people are listening to Joe Rogan. It’s usually the most popular or second most popular podcast in Ireland. Even his idiot friends, Bert Kreischer are selling out the 3 arena because they are associated with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Tried to listen to episode. Misery, had to skip. Tried to listen to George Gibney, had to bail quickly there too. I get there are important stories to tell, but the misery of them is hard to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭cmac2009

The intro music is enough to tip you over the edge in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭atilladehun

McGregor is an influence in this for me. He doesn't have to be the new physical leader of a group of people who are looking for something to get behind so they can cause trouble. He's an amplifier. He can take in what people are saying and turn it up to 10.

Even if his goal isn't to be what SC said he's not putting out tweets so he can be ignored and get less followers. He's putting out things to emotionally affect his followers and to gain more who may feel the same.

He has a significant influence and he's using to signpost people in the direction of doing what they did on Thursday.

It's not all his fault and he doesn't have full control over it but he's one of the people pouring petrol on the kindling. He won't be the one who lights it in the end, and he won't be able to put it out but the fumes will stink of his fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭Shank Williams

Bert Kreisher playing to a venue as big as 3 arena almost as bad a night for the country as Thursday tbh- I’m a hopeless alcoholic and take my top off his his entire act- can stand his flushed alco face- Jesus I hate rogan and the muppets he boosts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I thought it was interesting. He doesn't have the reach of Rogan, but he has the ear of every canada goose wearing skanger in Dublin. Same way a local scumbag is seen as a legend (see pretty much every scumbag funeral) mcgregor is similar. Dislike by pretty much everyone in Ireland except for the people looting JD sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

As a boxing fan I’m cringing at this Aviva/Croker discussion. Needs to be Croke Park. It’s the big one, the historic one and this is the biggest fight in women’s boxing history.

And the issue is the fee for policing and security, not the stadium fee so they’re just so off base suggesting the Aviva I don’t know where to even start. Murph as a GAA man should at least know this stuff, Croker rental is always a recurring topic in the Association.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

And the fact that the government help pay for the costs of policing and security at GAA matches but won't at anything else because "it's of cultural value" (or in other words GAA have powerful lobbies within government). What could be more culturally significant than one of our own greatest ever sportspeople putting on a historic show for the world to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,576 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Well, it's both surely. The cost of renting Croke Park is 400,000, and then you have to pay for security as well. The cost of the Aviva is up to around 300,000, again plus security. So I can understand the point in raising it as an option - if you reckon the ~55,000 you'd fit in the Aviva with added pitch seating would fulfill the ticket demand, you'd be getting the same attendance but with 25+% lower stadium rental cost.

Croke Park should be first choice, but if the costs look prohibitive - as they were deemed previously - the Aviva is at least worth a mention as a similarly grand-scale location at a lower cost.