Netflix Recommendations Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭jj880

Good old fashioned true crime scandal. The interesting part here is the daft way it all kicks off, then snowballs out of control uncovering all kinds of dirt. Enjoyable 3 episodes.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 24,023 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Season 2 of Wednesday is going to be filmed in Ireland, apparently. Due to start next April.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Every time I see the poster for The Killer on somewhere like justwatch, I think it's Inspector Gadget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

So much good stuff on Netflix at the moment.

We don’t see enough of Fassbender, top of his game and in The Killer there are no words to describe how good he is.

The Fall of the House of Usher is a work of art, beautifully done.. and I’m slap bang in the middle of the excellent Blue Eyed Samurai.

Worried I’m getting through all the quality stuff and by Xmas, will be just left with the mediocre films & series to choose from.

”I hate who steals my solitude without, in exchange, offering true company.” - F. Nietzsche

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Terrier2023

The Crown, i watched it today 4 episodes its been done to death and the portrayal of Diana is more like a parody, all the mannerisms are over done, the only good portrayal is Dominic West as Charles. Verdict - its dull boring repetitive and very badly lit when in Balmoral. The Queen and Queen mother lack all the effervesence they had in real life and its shite utter shite glad its the last season as this is dying a death. The sooner it ends for good the better.

Yeah watching at the moment myself. Pure dross. Im expecting plenty of makey uppy near the end to make the royals look less like the bunch of dysfunctional brats they are.

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,587 ✭✭✭✭km79

House of Usher was excellent

Was expecting it to lag or tail off like a lot of those series do but it was excellent to the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I'm reading a lot of positive reviews for the Scott Pilgrim anime, many of which emphasising it's not just a retread of the comic and makes a couple of significant changes. Kinda curious now to check it out, cos yeah: a simple redo (with the movie cast voicing it) was leaving me cold.

One Piece. 8 Episodes.

My son (13) said we should watch this as he's a fan of it in anime.

I was very skeptical but its 1 of the best series Ive seen in a long time.

We're watching together. Hooked on it.

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I'll be watching at least a couple of episodes of it, and honestly will be somewhat surprised if I don't watch the whole lot. I'm a bit perplexed by bringing back the movie's voice cast not because they're in any way bad but because over a decade later, it'll be a bit weird to listen to them and think "yes, these people are all definitely teens /early twenty-somethings".

On the other hand, Anamanaguchi and Joseph Trapanese are doing the music, which I think is a good indication - the Anamanaguchi soundtrack to the game was excellent, and while a lot of the music used for the film was really good (Metric as The Clash At Demonhead a particular high point), the Beck songs for Sex Bob-omb mostly didn't feel like what a scrappy, not-very-good garage band would be coming up with (IMO the best of them was the absolute Pixies rip-off "No Fun", so of course that's the one we only hear about 15 seconds of in the film when Scott arrives at the Chaos Theatre...).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,141 ✭✭✭acequion

Re your first sentence, is there really? I just can't seem to find anything I like, but will give those recommendations a try.

Is there anything at all along the lines of Breaking Bad, Bloodline and Ozark? I'm nearly getting nostalgic about those series as they turned me into a night owl binge watcher, but a very happy one, back in their heyday of a few years ago. Have found nothing since to grab my attention so much. Apart from Downton Abbey and The Crown, but the latter has really gone downhill and I've seen all of the former, including the movies.

Recently I've enjoyed the Beckham and Jill Dando documentaries, but would love some addictive fiction, crime, mystery, drama, anything with a strong compelling storyline, to get stuck into these long, dark nights.

Thanks in advance for any recommendations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,591 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

^ The Kominsky Method is great. El Marginal, the first couple of series are superb. Dahmer was the best thing on Netflix last year (?).

The Detectorists is a gentle series that is comedy gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

Ozark wasn’t for me, got bored.. same with Bloodline. That said, I highly rate Ben Mendelsohn - he was amazing in The Outsider and if you haven’t seen that, you’re in for a treat. But maybe it’s not for you.

I gave up on The Crown after the second series - the royal family are incredibly dull and watching a drama about them was tedious. The fictional Downtown Abbey, I adore.. disappear into it. They’re making another one, I’ve heard?

Rurouni Kenshin movies (based on the Japanese Manga series, my avatar) are incredible and very unique. The French Black Spot is a great mystery drama. The Young Wallander is not bad. Mike Flanagan’s horror series are works of art, really creative & amazing. His stuff just gets better & better.

The Alienist I’d recommend - read all the books and the costume drama/thriller is a treat. Great cast, I must say - some great stuff hidden in the dusty corners of Netflix, you just have to dig about.

I take it you’ve seen The Queen’s Gambit? That was rather wonderful. I disappeared into that right from the start. Again, great cast.

Post edited by Mr.Wemmick on

”I hate who steals my solitude without, in exchange, offering true company.” - F. Nietzsche

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,131 ✭✭✭Lavinia

I just finished Till Murder Do Us Part and Murdaugh Murders

both were very good and recommended for someone who loves mini docuseries

Watched the first episode and yeah, the biggest hurdle was the clearly middled aged voices of the film cast; maybe that was simply me knowing Michael Cera et al were much older - but it did distract. Plus some put in more natural voice work than others. But the episode zipped along and was surprised how much it engaged me.

And the episode ended with a knowing acknowledgement that it had indeed taken a big swing. I'll say no more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭holly_johnson

Just finished watching The Railwaymen about the Union Carbide gas leak in Bhopal. Was very upsetting but a great story of heroism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

12 Mighty Orphans

Just watched this film last night, based on true events, about a high-school American football team in the 1930’s/40’s called the Mighty Mites. I’d never heard of the story. 2 hours passed relatively quickly. It works on a few levels illustrating personal hardships, loyalty, fear, shame, societal order, as well as a bit about innovation and adaptability. Enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,141 ✭✭✭acequion

Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write all that, some great recommendations there. Like you say we just have to have a good root through "the dusty corners of Netflix." Love how you put that.😀 Thanks again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Batman the Animated Series & Justice League Animated Series were added this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I mean, it couldn't possibly be any worse than III - though apparently this is the director's first feature film?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,311 ✭✭✭bullpost

Another vote here for Black Spot and The Alienist. Both very enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭dublin49

although a big sports fan never got into Formula one and all the razzamataz.But start watching Drive to survive and really enjoying the series and the way they present the sport.Once you get to know thr individual drivers and their respective teams and the shenigans its well worth a watch.I like the fact its not all about the top teams ,so far its all about mid table teams and their rivalry and I suppose the clue was in the title of the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,825 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

First feature, but Mark Molloy’s a huuuugely experienced commercial director. That doesn’t always translate, but in this case I think it will, since his best work is much more about performance than just quick bursts of style (though he does also tend to make things that look great) . His ‘Apple - Underdogs’ spots are well worth a look. (Also have a soft for the long-forms of his National Lottery - Fisherman, and Samsung - Every Day Is Day One spots… the latter makes me want to go surfing every time I see it)

Post edited by ~Rebel~ on

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,808 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

The new Squid Games is really good. Such a great concept for a game show. 2 episodes in but I haven’t seen the Irish influencer guy in it, he must have been eliminated in 1st game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,808 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I watched all 5 episodes of Squid Games. It is fantastic, it works so well as a real game show even without the killings!! If they are able to keep changing the games up a bit but keeping the wacky theme to them, and keep the whole vibe the same, this could be the greatest game show ever created.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,353 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Excuse a slight deviation off-topic, but the NYT has a juicy story up about a very expensive sci-fi show they bought the rights to that we'll likely never see. Some wild details in the story! https://www.nytimes.com/2023/11/22/business/carl-rinsch-netflix-conquest.html

"Soon after he signed the contract, Mr. Rinsch’s behavior grew erratic, according to members of the show’s cast and crew, texts and emails reviewed by The New York Times, and court filings in a divorce case brought by his wife. He claimed to have discovered Covid-19’s secret transmission mechanism and to be able to predict lightning strikes. He gambled a large chunk of the money from Netflix on the stock market and cryptocurrencies. He spent millions of dollars on a fleet of Rolls-Royces, furniture and designer clothing."

I'm not sure who are the bigger idiots here, Netflix or Universal cos I'd forgotten about 47 Ronin yet ye gods: who gives a director 175 million for their first feature-film? That's madness, whatever about Netflix's own spending (cos you'd think after that bomb they'd be cautious - but such was the gold rush for "content"?)

That article was also the first time I've seen anyone mention Quibi. Man, remember Quibi lol? Otherwise, that's mad stuff being outlined.

Didn't think you'd be a secret commercial enthusiast lol; fair enough re. the guy's experience, I suppose it was more meant the suspicion that a newbie might be hired to just point and shoot so Murphy can píss about and maybe even take control of the shoot? IIRC the third film resulted in a notorious explosion of egos between John Landis and Murphy.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

3 episodes into Scott Pilgrim Takes Off and I'm genuinely impressed and happy at the approach they've taken - it feels very much like O'Malley has, with the time that's passed since the comics and film adaptation were created, understood that

Scott is the least interesting character in the original story by a country mile, so largely removing him from the story beyond being a sort of plot device for Ramona actually leans into the strengths of the existing material.

I'll see how we go with the remaining episodes, but so far I am very happy with what I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,825 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Ha, yeah it's not the most exciting storytelling medium, but I've worked in commercials for a decade (have worked with Mark himself a few times), so it's a by-product of the job! He's definitely someone who'll have gone in to put his stamp on things in production anyway. Though Netflix are notorious for strong-arming projects in post-production to meet their various formulas though, so we'll see!

Post edited by ~Rebel~ on

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/