Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The trial of Molly Martens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,845 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I pointed that our earlier in the thread.

Considering the lack of physical evidence, lets just discuss what has been established. There are a lot of things claimed by the defence that do not add up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,411 ✭✭✭✭listermint

She went back to sleep because she knew her wife's husband was an abuser an accepted fact. So why bother stay up to save the damsel from such a horrific set of abusive circumstances...

Or something.

One of the murder weapons was a paving slab. Im a pretty strong guy but I would need two hands to lift a paving slab. If you are being strangled by your husband, how exactly do you pick up a paving slab?

What was the paving slab doing in the bedroom to begin with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,539 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

So why were the statements recanted?

To paint a particular narrative.

But the veracity of the children's interviews as statements of fact and the doubt about recanting again this isn't my opinion, it is the opinion of the Supreme Court and the opinion of the Judge in this hearing.

Both are independent as are the specialists who conducted the interviews.

In his Skype interview, Jack stated that while in the car on the way to Dragonfly House, Molly “started making up little stories about my dad, saying that he was abusive. And then she started crying, and she said if you don’t tell the truth, we’ll never, ever see you again. If you don’t tell this, we’ll never see you again.” When the ADA asked Jack to clarify what he meant by “this,” Jack responded “[l]ike what she was telling us to say. She was telling us to say that our dad was abusive and saying that he was very mean to Molly.” When asked if he could share “any more of the stories [Molly] told you to tell,” Jack replied, “[n]o.” There is some reason to doubt that this exchange occurred as Jack recalled it, given that the testimony of the staff at Dragonfly House establishes that Molly did not accompany Jack and Sarah to that interview. Regardless, even if this exchange did occur, it occurred after Jack and Sarah were interviewed by the DSS social worker on 3 August.

For context this 2 sentence recanting took place on his aunts coach in Limerick talking to an Assistant DA over Skype.

The interviews with the trained specialists were multiple, extensive and independent.

Lol.

I'm beginning to thing that father did it with mollys blessing. I think the bat was the first object and a struggle ensued which they both overpowered him.

The paving slab was the final weapon and there to obliterate the work of the bat.

Some people are easily fooled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭Be right back

To keep it out of the rain, or something. Another implausible excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

Afaik it was said to for an art project or something like that? wonder could the children corroborate that now?

That is an interesting and indeed plausible take..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,520 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

its obvious what “side” I have been championing here on this thread over the last week, but yeah, that’s probably the one piece of “evidence” that has struck a chord with me.

but since this whole thread is mainly conjecture anyway, I guess you can look at it a few ways:

1. an over reaction by the parents (was it the mother in law that set this up) to something molly said , the kids were coached in what to do and the father (Jason) obviously never told - “our little secret”

1. A carefully planned method of setting Jason up to look bad dreamed up by Molly and executed by grandma - hoping someday the kids would make that call and bam, evidence that Jason was abusive - they never made such a call

1. a totally genuine system to try and rescue kids from a dangerous situation based on the regular events taking place in that house

The kids themselves have rejected the claims relating to this “system” and now claim they were manipulated - notice even the wording they use in the interviews below at the time of the murder- it doesn’t sound natural to me.

However, the system does appear to have been in place - the police found the phone/code words etc

so I would like to hear more from the now adults on this matter - it does raise questions and in fairness it’s probably the one piece of evidence that doesn’t really have a clear response from the prosecution other than the kids now rejecting it - that to me does need more detail and probing.

It (the system) may well have been set up, but by whom, when, why ?

“Jack told the interviewer that in the event of a really bad emergency, which he defined as ‘hitting or cussing that would be going on and on and on without stopping for an hour or two, maybe more,’ the kids knew to call their maternal grandparents and say a ‘key word’ which would summon the grandparents to their home and then hang up the phone.

Jack’s ‘key word’ was ‘galaxy’.

Sarah’s was ‘peacock’, the supreme court noted.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭boetstark

No I'm not but then again I'm not posting several times a day suggesting that 100% the Martens are evil scumbags , whilst ignoring evidence that there is a chance of mitigating circumstances.

I wonder if the Martens were Irish and in a US Court accused of killing an American citizen , I bet there would be a different tune among many posters on this forum.

Anyway , have a good evening 🙏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,627 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Wonder away.

I couldn't give a fook about nationalities. We are all human beings....and for two human beings to do what they did to that man is vile, absolutely vile. You bringing in nationalities to try make out how people here would react is your issue.

And you can wonder all you want about mitigation. I think, like plenty others that it is nothing but a crock a sh1t.

Beat the man to a pulp, even after he was was clearly not any type of threat, and folks are talking about the "chance" of mitigation.

Really? If the Martens were Irish I'd think they were the same utter scumbags. Who the hell cares if they are Irish or American??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Phones/code words could have been placed after the murder

Im not disputing that the system existed. I'm trying to figure out the reasoning behind it. Molly's mother lived a 5 hour drive away. So it wasn't exactly like projecting the bat signal on the sky for immediate help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Str8outtaWuhan

In a foreign country surrounded by people who only viewed your father was a saint and pressuring you to say so to make sure your "mother" goes to jail.

Foreign country ? They were born here and lived here most of their life.

As I said That’s where all sorts of theories could be put forward- it’s the motivation behind this system being set up that needs to be placed under the spotlight - I reckon the Martens know full well the real reason but don’t now wish to admit it as it wouldn’t do their case any good 🤪

huh?

you reckon there are only two possibilities for Jason as a person? 1. A saint. 2. Wife beating abuser.

no chance a 3rd option. Your average Joe?

I guess people who wish to put a “race” slant on this whole case just to muddy the waters even further - you couldn’t make it up - ignore

That is what Im interested in. Im not disputing that the system was in place, Im interested in the thinking behind it. I dont have kids but if I did, I would be telling them that the best method if they are ever in trouble is to dial 911 and tell the operator what is happening.

For what is an issue involving child protection, its very contrived is it not?

But he shouted in an argument with his wife? Also, I want to hear from people who have never raised their voice in a family argument.

This is telling though, after all that effort from the Martens the sum total of their evidence of domestic abuse is that Jason yelled at Molly. Once. Must have driven them mad that they couldn't get anything more. I've read her ex boyfriends account and if she was the same to Jason I hereby nominate Jason as a saint.

Well I guess he didn’t smash anyone’s brains out so he’s one step ahead of Molly and Tom on the road to sainthood 😀

Tom Martens taking full responsibility for the death of Jason according to defence today- “Molly didn’t kill Jason”

So you can see the ploy- Molly shouldn’t do more time coz she didn’t kill Jason

And Tom shouldn’t get more time because it was “extraordinary” circumstances and besides Tom is former FBI and stuff

So there ye have it- neither should do any more time but Tom is obviously putting himself out there as a fall guy if one is needed.

Molly definitely wont serve another second behind bars

Jaysus, the prosecution are after throwing in a mental curve ball in their closing argument.

Which does explain their strange statement on day 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,039 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

They might be referring to this? Although that poster would think anything is "strange" if it doesn't paint eh deceased as some sort of monster.

The theory is Molly staged the strangulation so her parents would witness domestic abuse and she would get the kids.

It got out of hand and Tom beat him to death.

He said Molly Martens Corbett, realising that the clock was running out on her time to get custody of the children, Jack and Sarah, manufactured a situation in which she would have witnesses in the house to an episode of domestic violence, which would lead to a court awarding her custody of the children.

Those witnesses were to be Tom Martens and his wife Sharon. But he said the situation developed far beyond that and led to the killing of Mr Corbett.

I didn't see that one coming.

Some of us did🤪🤪🤪🤪🤪🤪🤪🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭chooseusername

So she arranged to have her parents in the house to witness the "abuse" and when when she couldn't provoke Jason to retaliate she flipped. He was most likely aware of her plan and wouldn't play along.

It’s always the ones you don’t suspect isn’t it 🤪