Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your go-to comfort tv?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,305 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Brooklyn Nine-Nine. Found the kids watching it, it's hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Astrid Greasy Scratch

Fraiser, American Dad, South Park, Family Guy, Impractical Jokers, 3RD Rock from the Sun, Spin City to name a few

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭moby2101

Pawn Stars

Frasier

Curb your enthusiasm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Another one I watch is highway to heaven. It’s on great tv on sky.

also if you haven’t seen it look up a detective program called crazy like a fox. It’s a brilliant show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I was trying to get crazy like a fox on box set dvd but couldn’t find it anywhere. I recorded it on sky. It’s brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭trixiebust

Always has to be funnies for me, early Simpsons, Seinfeld, Alan Partridge, US office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭RurtBeynolds

Star Trek TNG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

Mostly Friends. I've always loved it, but also because it's always on Comedy Central, so no need to go looking up Players or trying to find box sets etc.

Also to a lesser extent, Frasier, Cheers, and Dad's Army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭nachouser

The Grinder - Rob Lowe and Fred Savage. It just sits there in my downloaded stuff, waiting to be watched.

Also, ep 1 of Justified if I have an hour to kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Quick Fix where I'm not overly paying attention - it's US Office, Park & Rec or IASIP.

Something of more substance - The Expanse. I've revisited it twice in full since it finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

US office. Loved the UK version when it was out but only came across US version during covid. Absolutely love it. If I'm home alone I'll rewatch it. I've gone through the entire 9 series a few times now. Sometimes I just listen to it if I'm having a snooze on the couch and I know exactly what is happening, which is worrying!

Others I've done this with in the past are Alan Partridge, the IT crowd. All great comedies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,736 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Michael McIntyres The Wheel is perfect Saturday evening family entertainment.

Always worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

watching a bit of this lately on ITV

paradise lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,202 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Scrubs, Brooklyn Nine-Nine and Frasier for comic relief.

I would also sooner rewatch a specific episode of a show I have seen a few times before than go through the rigmarole of starting a new series. Examples being 'Garveys at their Best' from the Leftovers, any of the Gyp Rossetti eps in Boardwalk Empire, and the peak era of GoT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,051 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Always Sunny in Philadelphia has very much been this for me over the years.

Trailer Park Boys also

And recently, binged all Hardy Bucks episodes while dealing with Covid. Have lived outside of Ireland the last few years and was surprised at how nostalgic I found it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Goodigal

Grand Designs - love the ambition people have. And when it all comes good in the end (90% of the time!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭homingbird

Someone said pointless was there favourite show but contestants are only playing for a coupleof hundred quid when the hosts are on 250k a year so they are smiling all the way to the bank the same as tubs & look how that turned out. Its a rubbish show anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Alonzo Mosley

Can't pay we'll take it away ..... Always nice to see a bit of justice for poor sods !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Radio5

Early seasons of Endeavour, beautiful music, melancholy Morse, some great supporting actors and a good whodunit.

It ran out of steam in later series but 1-5 or so are really good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,069 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭NATLOR

What a strange post.since when was there any correlation between prize money and a hosts salary

Anyway another fan of house of games also 24hrs in police custody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭waywill1966

Still Game is absolutely hilarious!

‘What part of Ireland are you from? Springburn‘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,147 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I used to love the American soap operas, the absurb ludracris storylines, I wish more over here aired American soaps, Sunset Beach needs repeating, I try to catch Days of our Lives if I can now on Peacock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Jellybaby_1

Detectorists

Cheers

Frasier

Morse

Lewis

Himself likes Shed & Buried and Bangers and Cash and Heartbeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭HazeDoll

I always recommend "The Detectorists" to anybody who is stuck at home sick and miserable. It's just lovely telly.

I can watch Classic* "QI" endlessly. Sometimes I know what's coming so I start laughing before something funny happens. This is what I turn to when I just need to ignore real life for a while.

"Would I Lie to You" is silly and trivial and juvenile, as is "Taskmaster." Both are very entertaining and stand up to repeated viewing when you don't want to engage your brain.

*Classic QI: Episodes from the Fry era. Loved Sandi as a contestant but the flavour of the show changed when she moved in permanently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Frasier, The Simpsons, Only Fools and Horses, Seinfeld and Friends (even though I don't think Friends is that brilliant outside of the first 2 or 3 seasons it's pleasant background noise and the women in it are gorgeous).

I always record Michael Portillo's Rail Journeys and those Simon Reeve documentaries, Michael Palins ones aswell, they provide wonderful escapism and really enjoyable easy to watch documentaries/travelogues.

Love watching Grand Designs aswell.Very enjoyable easy to watch TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,476 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Youtube.

Mostly fishing based channels, or lads fixing machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

Lads fixing machines on YouTube makes up quite a high percentage of my telly watching. Add in the English guy fixing that old chateau in France and that’s a relaxing evening in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Indestructable

Bit left field but Forged in Fire is always a good watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭FastFullBack

US Office is simply amazing. I think I rewatch it at least once every 18 months. It helped me pass a long 10 flight recently so I'm back on the wagon right now.