Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

"I started a joke, that started the whole world ......" | Ireland v New Zealand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Ireland were favs with bookies in NZ as well. I checked.

Usually NZ are under savage pressure from their own media and fans. Reading a few New Zealand newspapers and media outlets online they all were very worried. I think it helped NZ to be the underdogs for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Just fck, literally just fck nothing else, we win a 6 nations , a summer tour.But just fck just fck we will never have a better chance at wc.just fcking fck.I known we aren't chockers but to rest of world we are..just fck fck fck fck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The world ranking are rubbish as Matt Williams said before the game.

We are not a good enough team in knockout rugby as we have not taken the lead in a knockout rugby game in almost 3 decades.

We didn't perform because we met a better stronger, faster and fitter team. I think that's the hardest thing to take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,286 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Guys knocking one out because we lost a close game is very gratifying.

I’m sad but I will get over it, they are just sad. God I’m glad I don’t live in a world like theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

like Mayo

Mayo usually make the final, this is worse than other other sporting example I can think of.

The number 1 ranking is total rubbish

Some people bought way too much into the off the ball disgraceful coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

I've watched every quarter final we've played, and seen us lose every time.

Weird as it may sound, I enjoyed that. It's one of the best Rugby battles I've ever seen. Sure, we made mistakes, but we played well. We came back from 13 points behind, and could have (should have) won. It didn't feel like any other time we lost a quarter final.

I feel sad for the players who won't play for us again, Jonny particularly, but we have the best coaching team in the world, and a great group of players. I'm looking forward to 2027, it can't come soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Staleturnips

Proof if ever was needed that we should stick to the hurling and forget about the foreign games, only ends in tears just as the Tans planned it, the bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Irlandczyk

That's the thing though: they're not better, stronger, or faster a team. I'll grant, we looked less fit though, and that's a concern. The hardest thing to take is that once again we went to a quarter final and fell far short of playing our best. The only consolation is that we only lost by 4 points despite that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭It wasnt me

Deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,910 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,335 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

At the end of the day in all sport at the most elite level you have to do it when it matters and we didn't.

With all top teams the nerves are supposed to be balanced with elation after the win. We failed to get there.

There is no excuses. We choked. Not much more to be said.

Now we need to rebuild and go again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭supermans ghost

Too tired to argue with you, but coming into the World Cup they had a record defeat to South Africa, lost a pool match for the first time ever to France and suspended one of their best players Mark Telea, and played a large portion of the game with 14 men.

Tell you what,if they go on to win the World Cup , I”ll concede that they are not a bad team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Yes, and come two weeks" time England will not be world champions just like Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Can you imagine the uproar over here if NZ were to pluck a 3 or 4 lads from the provinces and brought them down there.

Its comical stuff at this stage. A shambles.

Can we hire a fly half to replace sexton? Seriously i think the RFU will be looking at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,919 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Never bought into the number 1 ranking thing - anyone that has played competive sport , will know the diference between knockout and group/league games , a lot more pressure, and unfortunatly for Irish rugby it has now become a thing.

And the number 1 greatest team in the world ireland couldnt beat them.

Tonight NZ proved they are better than is. Pure class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Scoreline flattered Ireland IMO.

The Bundee try was actually outrageous beating 5 defenders by himself, at 0-13 it was what dragged us into a contest at a point where we were already on the ropes. Without, it would have been game over by half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭tritriagain

I have just read the whole thread after calming down after the match.

1) any one who claims the Irish team bottled it tonight must never played sport at any sort of decent level. The team gave their all

2) how come when Ireland win we stopped the other team playing to the best of their ability but when we are beaten we didn't play well

3) the amount of posters on here complaining about referee decisions the whole time DURING the match . How can they realistically see half the match if face stuck in phone. Also can't understand the fascination with wanting to get opposition sent off. It's a physical game., again , how many on here have actually played a game of rugby nevermind at this level.

4) that was a great game of ruby, a real classic, with New Zealand coming out on top despite playing 1/4 of the match with 14. Fair play to them....and what a defensive effort.

5) can't understand the fascination with blaming players for silly decisions. The intensity level was immense and errors were always going to occur. Tonight was just one of those nights where we made a couple more than opposition.

6) what next for the Irish rugby team . JS retired and failure to develop a likely replacement may lead for some interesting times.

7) the only criticisms I'd have are the lineout and resting players. The lineout has been an issue for a long time and we were never going to win a world cup unless that was sorted. Resting players is just an opinion but line out problem was obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Iamabeliever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I'm still baffled by the choice to kick it when we were on their line with 2 mins left on a yellow. Trying it again against 15 made even less sense let alone trying it a third time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,941 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Thought we missed Ryan's destructive work at the breakdown. There's not an Irish more effective at clearing out. It's an area where New Zealand targeted ruthlessly and won so much ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Jaffa3000

Nobody in England is calling them the best in the world and saying they'll walk it. Comparing Ireland to England is a low bar indeed. Do you really think Ireland are that bad? Just pathetic that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭almostover

Barnes had zero influence on the outcome, reffed the game well for the most part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Irlandczyk

To be fair, they left a lot out there. Was this really the best showing from them? A for effort, I'll never question them on that, but I can't see how you can look at that and say they left nothing out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

Yeah but we all need to remember that this is sport. We're privileged to be able to support this team over the past couple of years and definitely privileged if this is the kind of thing that ruins our day, considering the f***** up state of much of the world right now. Just to put things in a bit of perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭KaneToad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,286 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

We were an hour late to the breakdown for a lot of the game. Can anyone explain that, NZ didn’t cause that.