"I started a joke, that started the whole world ......" | Ireland v New Zealand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,712 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Was wondering wjat you were talking about for a second as I had blocked it already but ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,739 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Better team won on the day, gutted. I'm sure we'll pick apart the bones of it but for now it's gutting. I thought Bundee was immense.

Fair play to NZ, beat us with two yellow cards. Savea absolutely mangled us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

There were no bottlers on that Irish team tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Akabusi

Just a correction, it was 60 minutes against 15 men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,129 ✭✭✭✭walshb

So you’re saying the lads didn’t give it 100 percent against a great NZ side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭Jizique

I hope Sam Cane had a few choice words with with POM at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭touts

Of course. Did we hit a record low point in international soccer all those weekends??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

30% according to Kearney, and he’s right. Destroyed in scrum and lineout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Congrats to the Kiwi posters here, some game of Rugby. Barrets leg /tummy /hand ,foreskin or whatever ended up being the small marigin in an epic match.

Go win the tourney now , I'll take some crumb of comfort from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Ah here. You can’t hold these lads responsible for teams dating back to 1987.

The lost by a fine margin. It’s top level sport. The term “bottlers” is really really harsh. Dunno why people resort to it every time a result goes against someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭eggy81

Knew that was coming but **** me the effort was there. Too many errors and too slow to the break down in first half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,412 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Are no words

We gave it our all but just not enough, All Blacks experience in these knockout games showed

That might of been our best chance esp with the players father playing time has cast upon us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,007 ✭✭✭TheRona

Well that was epic. A match worthy of a final.

I think ultimately, NZ won the breakdown and the scrum. They defended well, and took their chances.

If it's any consolation, I know only too well how all Irish supporters are feeling. So many times we've gone into a knockout as favourites, and it's ended in tears.

Ireland deserved so much more than this. You can be proud of your boys, they gave their all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,425 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Definitely : we turned up as world No.1 and on a 17 match unbeaten run and lost a quarter final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Ah well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭trevezel

well, one of the most famous rugby laws is : 'you can't beat the AllBlacks if they take the lead'

The NZ 3rd try wasn't a half chance. They absolutely butchered our defence, absolutely class try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

You'll get good odds on that in the bookies if you really believe that.

They're as likely to win it as anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Panrich

The reality is that the best Irish team in 100 years lost to the worst All Black team in 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,907 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Well Jesus that’s deflating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Ireland really fùcked that away tonight....make no mistake..Ireland are better than NZ but we still ended up losing......

..Ireland bottled it again when it really mattered.....

The series win down in NZ has been fully avenged....

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,727 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Way more than 3%, Rob Kearney put us at 75% on the post match show and I agree with that assessment. Full of heart and the last 20 minutes were to be admired. Lot of silly mistakes, and one held up try attempt. Any of those go differently we go home tonight as winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,596 ✭✭✭joseywhales

In fairness it was a great game, the first 20 minutes was a problem, playing catch-up is next to impossible. Fair play best Irish team I've ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

Least we will beat New Zealand next year in a friendly.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭fitz

That's the best NZ performance in the last 4 years, for sure. Proud of the effort, but man do I feel like we still should have won that, but for a few of our own mistakes.

It doesnt matter is what im saying. We were bet by a team who were down to 14 men for 20 mins. 15 of those mins in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Great contest.

The referee was excellent, NZ were amazing, Ireland were fearless.

Tremendous heart and skill on display. A great day for rugby: the best sport of all.

Immensely proud of this team and proud to be Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,686 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

New Zealand played 20 minutes with 14 men and Ireland could make no headway. Ireland looked wrecked with 20 minutes to go. Questions to be asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

Hard to take positives in showing effort and heart. Bare minimum at the elite end. Too many unforced errors.

And talk of getting up after each punch to the stomach by this NZ side? Both teams play at 100% and we win. But we didn't and they did.

Playing the big names in every game has cost us too, I think it showed tonight. We are the only big side to do it.

Too many unforced errors.

Absolutely elite rugby by the All blacks.

Great effort in the end, but below par all round.

Phenomenal defence and break down by NZ. It's about getting it done whatever way you can.