Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter McVerry Trust has 'financial issues'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,744 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

According to the Indo, the Trust on the verge of collapse. How could they have wasted so much money?

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/peter-mcverry-ceo-resigns-warning-of-imminent-financial-collapse-of-charity/a1796277818.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,598 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Coke and hoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

I hope we just have full transparency as without that, trust is lost.

Significant money was flying into that organisation. What was it spent on, and how did that fit into any value for money strategy?

What was their business plan, they appear to have taken on many new staff in a very short number of recent years, 700+ now in total, we are told.

So long after poor regulation in the CT years was well documented, we have a housing sector that has only adopted proper regulation, that is statutory, in the last year.

As a country, we really are late to the party when it comes to proper governance. This seems yet another example of this.

Our public finances are awash with money. It does look like money is administered and then there's very limited scrutiny.

I bet individuals and companies who donated to this organisation must be thinking, WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Field east

Very noticeable that there is no appearance from Fr McVerry following on from thr budget . If he has ‘nothing to hide ‘ then he should no go behind the door until ‘it all blows over’. He is normally first out of the traps on any announcement government makes on housing / housing related matters giving out about gov incompetence, lack of finance , eye off the ball, not really caring for the homeless , etc, etc, etc.

He/his org had only one area to manage re planning, finances, management, staffing. Gov has a rest of areas to manage , plan for , etc, etc, etc. Yet it look like that that The Thrust has seriously messed up.

‘People in glasshouses should not throw stones ‘ comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,845 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

There's no outrage at questions being asked.

There is outrage at generalised slurs about 'CEOs milking the state' and the 'poverty industry' and people hiding behind charity/governance issues when they really want to take a dig at the principle of providing essential services to vulnerable people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,076 ✭✭✭griffin100

It was mentioned on the news this morning that the Company has serious liquidity problems. For a Company with a guaranteed minimum state income that’s a shocking inditement of both the executive and the Board. Was the Board receiving regular management accounts? Were they accurate? Was any sort of budget prepared and outturns calculated?

There was also mention of some questionable spending around a hostel build.

Looking forward to hearing how McVerry himself will spin this into the fault of the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,153 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

These lads who couldn't organise a piss up in a brewery and probably worse will be looking for tax payer cash to bail them out. Mark my words.

They must not get a cent of our money and an example should be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

That Revenue “warehoused debt “ is coming back to haunt companies now

a construction company went into liquidation yesterday owing 13 million to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭mikep

Ah go way, we can't use those facts to take personalised swipes at people doing a hard job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Marcos

And not before time IMO, if the indications of financial impropriety whether from incompetence or more sinister reasons are true. And should a charity be engaging in property speculation buying and selling properties rather than concentrating on it's original remit? The fact that the CEO has taken a look at the books, tried to fix it and felt forced to resign is the reddest of flags.

It also raises the questions what about other "charities" and NGOs? Are they either run as shoddily, or is there something else at play? Are taxpayers getting the most efficient results from our annual €6.2 billion* largesse? Do we need all this replication in the same sectors, with replicated CEO and staff costs? There is a history of some of these charities using donations as a means of topping up their own pay and pensions.

That's before you look at the likes of Console, Bóthar, or lavish spending with little or no oversight such as at Rehab and Childfund to name just two.

I don't understand given the above examples how anyone can blithely say, nothing to see here folks, and get outraged at anyone daring to ask any questions. This is beyond me, but then again I work in the private sector and don't have anything to do with any NGOs, tax aided or otherwise. This isn't aimed at any particular charities but at the waste and lack of oversight of money, that if spent properly, could make our society better.

*€6.2 billion is from Benefacts final report before it was closed down in 2021. Benefacts was the public body that had oversight of all NGOs/Charites/Non Profits etc until it's funding "ran out" in 2022. Since then, there are no published reports of government spending in this area.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Chopper Dave

It is a little surprising that this story isn't been given more prominence given the RTE situation and how their Executives are being questioned. I can't quite understand why a charity aimed at providing services to the homeless would see warehousing tax payment as a good idea. I can understand that fundraising may have been impacted by the lockdown but it does seem that the Government made up a lot of the shortfall through increased donation. After that you just have to cut your cloth and reduce your services if that's what is required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,371 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

It says they sold properties in Santry to try to cover their debts. Surely a supposedly homeless charity shouldn't be selling off houses?

Are you trying a bit of back seat modding now? If you’ve a problem with any of my posts, report them, or suck it up.

No one got shouted down. Relevant facts were shown to counter the generalised slurs against an entire industry.

Unfortunately for you, you seem to have missed the key point here.

There entire model of outsourcing of essential services for vulnerable people through funded contracts with charitable organisations is owned by Government, particularly the FG led governments of the last twelve years in power. If you’ve a problem with how government funds charitable organisations or how government regulates charitable organisations, your first complaint should be to the Government and parties that dramatically extended this model.

PMV doesn’t decide who gets what funding. That’s down to the Government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Jeju

What was their business plan, they appear to have taken on many new staff in a very short number of recent years, 700+ now in total, we are told.

I'm having trouble understanding PMVT employing 700+ people, are these full time employees working for the charity or terminology use to describe people who access their services. Please tell me the latter.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Pay a visit to their website and you'll find all you need to know! Start with their Strategic Plan 2021 - 2025 and get back to us.

https://pmvtrust.ie/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/Peter-McVerry-Trust-Strategic-Plan-2021-2025.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

Lacks detail. I'd read their latest annual report but it has been deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭batman75

Very strange that the trust has financial issues. Surely fiscal malpractice or outright stealing by someone? Up to the 70s the state had a good record of house building. They may need to dissolve all these housing charities and trusts and start providing housing for those who can't buy privately.

Thanks for your life-coaching advice. I'll give it all the attention it deserves.

Why don't you remind us specifically of what 'waste and corruption' you've exposed here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,852 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Where did I say I had exposed anything?

Once again, you misquote and twist other posters' words. You had better work harder on that advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,548 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I saw far more waste and corruption in six weeks working for the HSE than I did in a year working for one of the large housing charities (not PMV).

Also if ALL social housing is directly provided by the government/Council, then no one can EVER be evicted for anti-social behaviour because there's literally nowhere else for them to go.

Be careful what you wish for.

So what 'waste and corruption' were you referring to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

Peter McVerry Housing Trust really upped their game in the last 4/5 years, with the increasing issues around housing and homelessness, that's not surprising. What is surprising is the level of growth and so quickly, and how it was administered and managed.

My fear also is that is has been sucked into the, how can I say, not very nice property and construction industry and the sharks that inhabit within. The last two government housing strategies, Rebuilding Ireland and Housing for All, and the vast amounts of money on offer, have attracted many middlemen, each wanting a slice of the State's largesse.

They remind me of what my take of the country's local authorities are, a bunch of incompetents, ripe for plunder by an army of chancers.

Two separate investigations. That's another argument why they should be the single overarching regulatory organisation for the NFP sector.

Waste is one thing but corruption? that's another thing.

It is corrupt to take money meant for Revenue and spend it on something else. It is also criminal fraud.

Silly me thinking this thread was about the PMVT and wouldn't be taken over by whataboutery.

For clarification, I was referring to PMVT in my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Surely you’ve been in touch with Gardai about the criminal fraud committed?

There are a number of investigations ongoing. They are dealing with it.