Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭ARX

A few years ago I was cycling through Glasnevin. In this bus lane a Garda car was meekly waiting behind several drivers illegally using the bus lane during its hours of operation:

Glasnevin 1.png

The vehicle in front of the Garda car was a tipper truck. The lights went green and we all moved off

This is the next junction:

Glasnevin 2.png

The driver of the tipper truck wanted to turn left, but the bus in the right lane was partially encroaching on the left lane. No problem, he just drives up onto the footpath and around the bus, literally right in front of the Garda car. No reaction from the Gardai whatsoever.

I've had encounters with the police in several European countries (alas, I am not the bad boy that this makes me out to be) and when it comes to road traffic law enforcement at least, the Gardai are an impotent shower of gobshites. The Knocknagoshel Tidy Towns committee would be more effective.

Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

On the NCR at Stoneybatter one afternoon I had the green light when driving but a car coming from my right went through through their red. At the other side of the junction from me was Garda car, so the red light breaker, who I had to stop for, done so directly infront of the Garda car who also had a green.

But amazingly they weren't bothered. As I was pretty much stopped in the middle of the junction I rolled down my window and gave the international WTF gesture.

Only then, and begrudgingly so, did they turn around. The car had slipped down a small lane as if they were trying to hide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Dunno who let the mouth breathers out of their cages today, but two punishment passes in succession followed by laying on the horn to tell me there’s a cycle lane on the Alfie Byrne road (which is blocked off at multiple points due to construction), despite there being plenty of room to overtake me without having to cross the line.

Caught up to both at the lights who quickly put their windows up and just kept saying “use the cycle lane”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Nothing to do with me but this happened yesterday morning I believe on Stocking Avenue in case anyone spotted anything.

IMG_4226.png

A good result, though taking 2 years is insane

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Well I disgraced myself today, coming through Dun Laoghaire and maybe 200m ahead there were some kids crossing. Car just after overtaking sped up and laid on the horn intentionally. I thought to myself, what a dick. They'd looked, there was time to cross and he just didn't like it.

A few seconds later, as I passed the kids, something snapped, so I went up the road, sat on his bumper, and when traffic stopped I went to his window, let a smack of it, told him if I seen his car aim for kids again I'd rip him out of his car and beat him to death. Worst thing was I could not only hear him curse me but also the kids. I was in the wrong but he genuinely believed he wasn't in the wrong.

And before it's said, I fully understand I was in the wrong and deserve a day in court for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,166 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Nah - fúck that guy in the car.

More people should have the balls to say what you said to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Not one for being the baying mob.

But that driver should be suspended at least.

Wait till he reports it, Garda will probably charge him for going on the pavement to talk to the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,454 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Nothing will happen to the driver unless the Gardai do something. The internal process is toothless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,166 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

That is disgusting from the Bus Driver. Absolute wuss then when confronted.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,432 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

This has gone a bit viral as Jeremy Vine, the BBC lad, has tweeted it. It's northbound through drumcondra at the Griffith avenue junction. Not a stellar performance by either party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭standardg60

Being a van driver myself he's really in an impossible position there. The cycle lane is too far away to firstly see any cyclists in the wing mirror and you can't see them at all once you're turning as you can't see through the van.

Cyclist should have read the situation and stopped, dumb in my view.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,432 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

not just you. it must have been deleted in the last five minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,478 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Probably got a huge pile on from Vine's 'fans'

Screenshot_2023-10-26-22-55-07-387_com.whatsapp.png

Not a near miss as such but a funny encounter with a taxi driver who had decided to park where the green circle is above this morning (obviously facing the wrong way). Had his sliding door open and the passenger he was picking up was getting in.

I was going up the incline so didn't really want to stop, I seen whoever it was getting into the car, the driver put his hand up as if saying sorry so I went around the door when it was open as the passenger was in there. I sort of was shaking my head at the driver for parking there in the first place but it was one of those things I just went on.

Turns out the hand being raised was actually a request for me to stop as when I was passing I glanced at the driver and he was frothing at the mouth and aggressively pointing his middle finger at me 😂

One of those situations where I think about it half an hour later and wonder what would have happened if I'd stopped and asked what the problem was. The level of aggression was insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Schorpio

Continuous line is a mandatory cycle lane - goes without saying but the taxi driver was 100% in the wrong.

Honestly, if a driver gets that worked up, I think the best case outcome is as little interaction as possible.

I had something very similar happen to me, expect the taxi crossed the road and pulled in facing me as I was cycling along. Think I yelled 'oi' and wagged my finger, but the legend of the passenger got out and said 'don't worry, I give out to him too'. The idea of the taxi driver being given out to inside the car made my day.

a new concept. too old to be held responsible for safe driving, but not too old to be allowed drive...

Sadly not a new concept at all, court cases up and down the country have had similar reinforced by judges since i was a child. It is up there with too old, too employed, having family, and in a very American tone, we can't restrict someones ability to move around in a car.

A crazy collection of near misses.

To be honest, if I was in his shoes, I'd be moving much further away from the roads edge, towards the middle of the lane. I had similar qty's of dangerous passes which dwindled to 1, maybe 2, per quarter instead of 1-3 a day, once I adjusted positioning to force those overtaking into the other lane. I do this on all road types, regardless because, as can be seen in the video, dangerous passes are not limited by road type

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

A month!! Some of them are criminal. Several were buses which is ridiculous.

A lot of them beeping at him. That a Cork thing?

The beeping, no, thats common. You either get beeped at just for being on the road or just for delaying by not riding the gutter. I get beeped on a regular basis for the second one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭barryribs

That white one at the end is frightening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,391 ✭✭✭Be right back

If I were him, I would cycle from Carrigaline to Passage, via back roads and then onto the cycle path all into the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,483 ✭✭✭VonLuck

It was kind of comical with the car breaking the read light and the guy running through the junction after him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Driver aggression is worse outside Dublin, attitudes towards cyclists and pedestrians much worse. You can see it on boards.ie, some users want cyclists and pedestrians banned from some roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭standardg60

Agree with this, there was someone on here a while ago calling for cyclists to be banned from rural roads, 'cos at times there wasn't enough room to get by them straight away'.

Cork city has been the worst for me, most other places are grand for the most part, Wicklow used to be bad but has improved in recent years. Wexford is wonderful. Dublin is only bad due to sheer volume, you are more likely to come across an ars*hole, most of the time, the issues are human error rather than malice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,478 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko