Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A global recession is on the horizon - please read OP for mod warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,327 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Prices are rising again because OPEC oil producing states are cutting production in concert to keep them high - at least that is what your 1st article states.

I don't think G7 countries really wanted to keep same levels of Russian oil flowing, they wanted to choke Russia's fossil fuel earnings either by the Russian output falling or the price being depressed (idea of a cap).

I suppose that is proving hard when they don't control output and many of the producers are all working as a cartel (whole idea of OPEC) to raise their prices.

On the environmental problem, well that is entirely on Russia and their "clever" buyers and all those enabling such risky practices if oil swapping at sea ends in a serious f-ckup.

Could even have one bright side in that the dirty old rusting hulks carting the Russian crude oil about the place will get banned from many more ports and more waterways after the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭grumpyperson

I doubt many commuted four hours per day in the 1980s as they do now. If you had a job you were sorted and if you didn't you were fairly fecked but at least could emigrate.

Today even if you have a job you can be fecked too. It's the new Ireland where people in their forties with jobs and girlfriends live at home with their mammies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,967 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

ah some were living on the roads in the 80s, vehicles and roads were far worse to....

..yea the current situation is fairly fcuked alright, but you can see anger and frustration is rising rapidly now, so.....

Not to belittle it but I think I'd rather be living on the road (assume you mean side of) than living with my mammy at 40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Timing belt

You forgot to mention the unemployment and total lack of jobs at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭green daries

Broken because people are staying in the country combined with a large inward imagration. Housing is needed but there was no big shortage in the 80s cos the population was shrinking at times

Spot on….schools had heating on for one hour a day…can you imagine the outcry if that happens today…. Having food on table back then was a struggle and civil servant jobs were the equivalent of the top paying tech jobs of today. If you got one you really hit the jackpot.

public sector pay was dreadful in the 80's, many of my family were public sector workers, their pay didnt actually become good until the mid/late 90's, but it was virtually impossible to lose a public sector job, i.e. extremely high job security, some private sector jobs paid extremely well, but they were few and far between

You don't seem to have a clue about Ireland in the 80s in fairness (too young, or a recent immigrant who thinks this country was always a typical rich and fat "Western" nation). Edit: why should you want or need to know, I suppose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,353 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

I'm Irish and grew up in the seventies /eighties. I remember big families and plenty of craic despite less material stuff. My father had a state job so we didn't go hungry and my mam would make sandwiches if we were going places and we rarely ate out (special occasions e.g. confirmation). When I went to college I slept on a mattress on a floor with no central heating. I remember renting with my wife and ice on the inside of the house window etc.

Since kids, our eldests best friend went into emergency accommodation, we discovered at our middles birthday that his friend was living in emergency accommodation. Our middle and youngest best friend was evicted, etc

Interest rates were high in the 80s and there were less opportunities but there were options if you had a job and if you didn't there were options to emigrate.

It's harder now for people to leave their elderly parents when they have a job but what kind of life is it if they can't afford to buy a house or have kids? Seriously, 40 and living home with mammy? I genuinely think I'd prefer to live by the side of the road.

I think for many, things are worse now than in the eighties.

Sorry for the long reply, I found your statement incredibly rude and offensive so you set me off. I think I'd just tell you to f off if you spoke like that to me in real life...

Post edited by grumpyperson on

it was a permanent job in a time when they were difficult to come by…that meant being able to get a mortgage because the bank was guaranteed that money would be coming in and you wouldn’t loose your job.

Maybe I am odd, but I think I'd rather live with mammy or the mammy in law than be without a home thank you.

Ireland definitely has problems today that are harming people badly, such as you relate. I don't deny that. A lot of them are problems of rapid growth and shortages, of bad planning (in all senses)/short termism, bad systems, poor quality govt. and public aministration pretty much.

Thankfully, young people can now get educated to quite a high level at reasonable cost (the fees part anyway) and are also less likely to need to leave here to get a job now. They have also I think have much less toleration for the failure and are expecting better than back in the 70s-80s. They expect Ireland to be right up there with the best places to live in the world, rather than a pretty poor and corrupt low/falling population, insular + isolated Western country that was close to the economic/development level of the old Warsaw pact second world (I think the stats on 80s Ireland would probably bear that out if I was to bother looking). So I try and be a bit more hopeful for our future despite all the bad news, unlike default on this thread (the subject is usually indications of a Western or European economic armageddon/nightmare, rather than a mere "global recession"!).

It's okay, you already told me, pretty much unprovoked (well maybe a bit provoked....) as I recall to go and "f-ck off" a few pages back in case you have forgotten (try that to someones face!). No problem - I mostly did but was still reading! Don't think I was was ever as rude to you beyond sarcastically questioning your lived experience of the 80s in Ireland and ability to compare given your posts, no need to be so precious.

Post edited by fly_agaric on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭green daries

Ah come on seriously you mean people have become soft entitled lazy and think that someone else should solve their problems 🤔 cos that's what Is happening. There was latterly never more opportunity in this country . Nor was there ever better supports for people to do nothing if they so choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭herbalplants

I agree, the younger generations are highly entitled and don't work as hard as previous ones.

Also, I don't see any issues of living with mommy later in life, at least you have a roof. Plenty do in other countries around the globe.

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭brickster69

More boomerangs incoming as the US prepares more sanctions it's chipmakers from selling to it's largest market. The business community must be pulling their hair out.

Looks like Taiwan will be next on the boomerang hit list also.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

hahahaha, the young are entitled, us older generations would wanna take a good look at ourselves, expecting ever rising asset prices, and ta fcuk with the consequences! we reap what we sow folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

In the 1980s people without jobs emigrated. In the 2020s people with jobs are giving them up and emigrating.

That's the main difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Or just what is very obvious.

Housing has been a catastrophic failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭herbalplants

Gas... Barristers are on strike.

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.

....shur why not, their pay hasnt increased in a few years...

Diamonds next.

In the meantime the USA doubles uranium imports from Russia

https://www.intellinews.com/us-uranium-imports-from-russia-more-than-double-in-6m23-290685/

Nobody anywhere points to hypocrisy because USA.

I vote to sanction Russian uranium 🇺🇲🇺🇸

Antwerp wont be happy about that especially having been the center of the global diamond business for centuries.Millions of people go there just for trip to see the shops and things. All that trade will be heading off to Dubai or Hong Kong just like the maritime insurance is starting to do now.

It's like Christmas come early for those lads, i bet they are all laughing their caps off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Imagine the number of houses and apartments the government could have built very very cheaply between 2008 and 2018 if they had any vision. It might have kept tradespeople in Ireland and kept the apprenticeship programs with numbers. There are so many problems with housing and construction resources now that the crisis is almost unfixable in the next 10 years. The irony of construction workers emigrating because they cannot afford rent or purchases. FFG stopped building because they wanted to restore the asset prices and win back votes because Irish people became obsessed by house prices in the fake cheap credit boom.

Yeah the IMF and Germany would definitely have lifted there foot of our throat and allowed us to build houses at a time when there were ghost estates and people emigrating. If only we asked nicely!!!

Yeah, I was public service. Pay dreadful but it was a secure job and came with a pension. I left school 1978, tried college (broke my parents’ hearts) & was bored & keen to earn money, so they killed out a form for a public service job & rightfully said “take it!”’. Taoiseach Jack Lynch had encouraged the creation of a surfeit of public service jobs as one means to solve the unemployment issue, and it kind of worked for those who took the jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,263 ✭✭✭enricoh

The magic money tree of corporation tax was only a sapling back then. What is people's consensus of corporation tax in future? Seems to be a lot of unfavorable articles in the last month or so. Seems poor enough when you factor in inflation.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/2023/10/03/corporation-tax-take-slips-to-18bn-in-september/

I am aware of that and those ghost estates tended to be in remote places. The IMF didn't do half enough to halt the waste and corruption in our public spending. The economy rebounded quick enough and infrastructure projects are always beneficial long-term. It's much better than stopping all construction and not building some forms of social housing. We built houses throughout the 50s to 80s when we were the basket case economy of Europe.