Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,539 ✭✭✭TheChizler

That link specifies those principles relate to processing data. A Garda telling you about an action they took is not processing data, maybe it would be if they had to go look it up if they weren't involved in the case. Apart from that, there are wide exemptions to GDPR for law enforcement activities.

Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,478 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

A Garda telling you information about a case that they dealt with as a Garda is absolutely a breach of confidentiality, unless they had a lawful reason to do so. There is no policy or precendent to show that telling a witness about the non-Court outcome of a report would be considered a lawful reason.

Gardai are covered by the Law Enforcement Directive, a parallel instrument to GDPR with many of the same requirements.

All that might be true but it's not GDPR which you originally said. Anyway I'm not interested in getting into an endless back and forth so I'm going to leave it there.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,432 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

is doling out information not 'processing' that information?

the two main words in 'GDPR' are 'data protection'. giving someone information they should not have is the cardinal sin of data protection!

anyway, it goes back to whether penalty points etc. are intended to be public knowledge. they're not doled out in a public fashion, and you can't exactly ring the gardai to ask if your neighbour has penalty points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

A near miss of a different kind today! Stunning sunny day, lots out cycling when a male cyclist caning along at about 40kph towards Howth on the packed coastal cycle path in Raheny opposite st. Annes park overtook stationary cyclists waiting for the traffic lights to cross the road almost had a head on collision with cyclists coming the other way, proper speed wobble, he just managed to stay on board.

He was under the impression it was everyone else's fault. He didn't look very confident on the bike, beginner or maybe a new bike. Another cyclist called him Fred & told him to cop on!!

(I googled Fred & cycling - funny)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Schorpio

I have zero insider knowledge about GDPR, but what occurs to me is, just because you have the reg no., that doesn't mean you know who the driver was. So, if you were told that the driver of a car got points, knowing the reg no. doesn't tell you who that driver is.

Either way, I still believe it would be good policing to let someone know that something they went out of their way to report was taken seriously and actioned in some manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,569 ✭✭✭blackwhite

The issue is that the Gardaí have no way of knowing for certain that you don't know who the driver was - or won't find out who the driver was - and have to err on the side of caution when it comes to disclosing anything that could end up being deemed a data breach.

GDPR is without doubt widely used as a smokescreen - the new "Helt 'n' Sayftee' as it were - and because it's so complex and the penalties so onerous, it can be hard to argue with

The last part is the reason that so many organisations take any extremely cautious line on disclosing any data as well. Because the majority of employees will not be GDPR experts, the ultra-prudent approach is taken in all policies, whether justified or not

Somebody better tell them and traffic wardens not to leave tickets on the windscreens of cars so, on the entirely reasonable chance that someone might know the owner of the car and find out they were fined 😮, seeing as the existence of penalties given to strangers is personal data now.

There’s an exemption for the act of law enforcement

Telling other people whether or not someone else has received penalty points is not law enforcement

I used to be on that quite regularly and it's a bit of a mess in places. Lack of signposting of entrances to the cycle lane and people thinking they can go as fast as possible on it. I went onto it quite slowly before and a guy screamed at me (probably more my fault but he was barrelling along) but nothing to signpost that people may be entering the lane there.

Don't get me started on the bushes they have concealing the view of the entrance to the car park outside the bus terminal too.

It's grand if you're an observant & experienced cyclists but it can be dodgy when you have cyclists that don't slow down for small congregation spots like the bus stops & pedestrian traffic points or can't see obvious obstructions or judge the speed of oncoming cyclists before overtaking.

This was on a Sunday afternoon on one of the sunniest, warmest, windless days of the year. The cycle lane was busy with bikes, cargo bikes, kids on bikes, scooters and there were lots getting buses.

I can only guess this guy has a low IQ.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,432 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

five or six years ago, i was passed by a cycling club moving at speed in 2 abreast formation on the cycle path. gave them a good roar. mentioned it to someone else, and he'd had a similar experience with the same club.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Hard to tell by pictures, the video would be better. The bus is to close but to be honest, raising a grievance won't get you anywhere as, like you said, the slight fisheye makes it appear, to a layman, that you had enough space. This said, using your wheel as a reference rather than the shadows, I would say the driver is just under a metre, maybe 75cm at his closest, certainly way more than a foot judging by the pictures but at low speeds it wouldn't be a terrible pass. It certainly would be a better pass than most I get in the city centre.

Red & Black livery? They, locally had a dreadful name for a while. Wealthy middle aged management types used to bullying people around. I believe they got a few good dressing downs from organisations and individuals and have had to clean up their act.

nope, not clontarf; it was blue IIRC.

3 near misses yesterday, although one was 100% my fault (although the only one that wasn't really a near miss).

First one, coming along the Quays in Wexford, driver swung his door open as I was passing. Thankfully I'd given a decent bit of space but he got a fright as I skidded to a stop as he jumped out of the car while opening it (sort of looked like he was going to trip and fall onto the road). In the wrong town some drivers would have been giving out to me for being out in the lane (never happens in Wexford, at least not yet) but this is why it is done.

Second guy pulled out of the Maxol self service across from Aldi, never even looked my direction. My Spidey sense was tingling as I approached so had thankfully moved out to the centre line. He got a shock as he only looked towards traffic as he let up the clutch and I half skidded (shouldn't have braked as I would have been completely clear if I hadn't).

Lastly, the one that was my fault, turning towards Kilmore. Very little traffic and a driver starts blocking the road to let out a single car, even though there was no one behind him and no one oncoming, and if he had just taken the turn as he should have, everyone could have gotten through safely and in good time. Instead, the car down the side road looked at him confused, as in, what the f*ck are you at, get through the junction while you have right of way and it's quiet, so I too can progress. While this stand off took place I went the long way round, to hear the driver on the main road shout at the driver to come on (even though he was in the wrong) and the other driver just look at him with perplexion. A few minutes up the road the driver then rolled down his window as he passed me to give out about my dangerous manoeuvre (probably right). I said, 100%, I was totally wrong but you had the right of way and should have progressed so I got out of there before you caused an accident. He F'd me out of it and then drove on. His passanger was not impressed with him, and had the reaction of someone who was well used to the driver getting annoyed and knowing best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 LazyCycle1

Can someone please recommend a good bike camera? Two very near misses today (Limerick), both involving mobile phones. Firstly, outside Lidl on the Rosbrien Road, a car came across from the new houses to the supermarket entrance, driver looking at his phone on his lap, child in back (neither wearing seatbelts), how he missed me I do not know. Then, on the Shelbourne Road, a woman made eye contact, looked down at her phone and stepped out in front of me. I let out the biggest roar of my life and she jumped a foot in the air saying 'sorry sorry sorry '.

I'm 50, have cycled in London, Edinburgh and a few other towns and cities, but nowhere is worse to cycle in than Limerick. Everyone is on their phone, drivers and pedestrians, and it's like their brain stops working when they look at it. Also, everyone breaks the lights and cars are getting much bigger.

So, if someone can recommend a good bike camera I would be very grateful. Also, do drivers treat you differently if you wear one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭Paddigol

More fool you for expecting to see correct use of indicator on an Irish roundabout!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭standardg60

Don't worry the new reduced speed limits will eliminate that sort of driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭p15574

Surely there must be an easier way to go around or something, to get to the previous junction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Trekker09

Surely, by logic, you're only a victim of a crime once someone has been convicted of that offence. Until then you're just a witness to a potential crime.

exactly. it's like saying the shooting of JFK was not a criminal act because no one was convicted of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭tnegun

Mirror, indicate anyone! https://streamable.com/2r219l

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,716 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Arsehole

Borderline close pass into oncoming traffic, completely pointless as the lights are red and you can see the "Bus Stopping" light is illuminated so he knew he was stopping at the next stop plain inconsiderate driving! https://streamable.com/jhiaxx

Maybe Dublin Cycling has made me harsher or the camera lens is affecting it but it certainly doesn't look terrible to me. Could be better but I wouldn't have even noticed myself.

No, you're right I've had plenty worse it was more that he overtook coming to a red light and knew he was stopping at the next stop just past those lights that annoyed me if I hadn't had the camera out to check if I'd missed the left hook guy indicating or not I'd not have given it a second thought!