Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Near Misses Thread Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

We all know there are idiot car drivers, idiots on bikes, idiot lorry drivers, idiot tractor drivers, even idiot pedestrians, but today I had a close enough call with an idiot on one of those unicycle segway yokes.

Out for a spin in NCD along a narrow lane way and coming across a guy strimming in the verge so I naturally move over slightly to the middle of the lane way. Right as I'm next to him this idiot with his full leathers and full face helmet on his powered unicycle passes me out at what seemed like flat out speed.

Who would've thought you could have a close shave with a unicycle segway on a Saturday afternoon rural bike spin...

Post edited by CramCycle on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭cletus

Two very near passes today. Both of them young birds who haven't learned to fly properly yet. Had to lock up the wheels to avoid a collision on both occasions.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Just to clarify in case the allegation is made that AGS did nothing - if the driver is reported based on the video, the OP is a witness rather than a victim and not necessarily entitled to an update from AGS. That the OP has heard nothing from AGS doesn't mean that the driver wasn't punished in some way.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It would depend on the charge that the Gardai applied.

My point was that the OP shouldn't assume nothing was done (although I'd say it's a safe enough assumption) just because they heard nothing back from their complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭buffalo

I had a similar experience - terrible driving, thought I was a goner - reported to Garda and said I had video. Video was never sought, I never got an update. After a few months I got onto GSOC, they got onto the station or local inspector, and it turned out the Garda had spoken to the driver and issued a FCPN. He was very apologetic about not updating me.

I'd have preferred something more severe, but have to trust the Garda's professional opinion (and I didn't really have a say in the matter anyway).

I think you misunderstand where the 'processing' is taking place. The Gardaí as a body are processing the data, and must respect the principles of GDPR as the data processor (and controller, I think).

An individual Garda can't read out a load of personal data over the phone to a random person and claim GDPR doesn't apply, because reciting it aloud isn't 'processing'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭JMcL

This.

As others have said the fact that it hasn't been dealt with by the court and therefore isn't in the public domain would bring it right under GDPR. My day job is writing software for European funded research projects and, since GDPR came into being, every dataset that we are given has to be first and foremost looked at from the perspective of GDPR implications.

GDPR is a bit unusual in that it's the individual handling the data and not the organisation that is considered the processor. Under it, data can only be stored on a strictly "is it necessary?" basis and should be deleted when no such cause still exists, so in the case where X gets 5 penalty points there's a perfectly valid reason to store that data so that the next time X does something stupid and accrues more points, they may lose their license. In the same vein, the record of the 5 penalty points should hypothetically be deleted altogether after they expire (is it 2 years?) - unless of course there's some other justifiable reason to hold onto it, which there may well be.

So with all that in mind, from the point of the legislation, a 3rd party - @Schorpio in this instance - has no legal right to know how many points X has as they have no legitimate reason to process that data and the individual guard would breach GDPR by giving it. It sucks, but I think as others have pointed out, this is the nub of it.

As regard reg numbers, they are considered as data that can identify an individual under GDPR and there have been test cases around it. I personally think it's a bit of a stretch as you need access to the vehicle reg database to link it to somebody, and that should be pretty well restricted. There's also an explicit exclusion from GDPR regarding breaches of the law - which this undoubtedly is, but it's probably only the guards who are exempt from the point of view of investigation.

GDPR is without doubt widely used as a smokescreen - the new "Helt 'n' Sayftee' as it were - and because it's so complex and the penalties so onerous, it can be hard to argue with.

OP, it'd be no harm following up with whoever you did report it to - the worst they can say is no, but on the other hand you might get somebody willing to give you an update - even unofficially

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

I had what felt like a close pass last month from a Dublin Bus. I've had worse, but I figured I might try out the GDPR FOI system to get the footage. It was not too difficult and I got it within 3 weeks which was pretty good. Now when I reviewed the footage I felt sort of foolish. It seems the bus was not really that close to me at all. I had quoted a distance of about a foot. Now there is probably a degree of fisheye lens to the camera which makes things seem further apart, but then why did I feel like the bus had just come just over a foot close to me as it passed me by and yet the images make it look like the bus gave me a comfortable metre.

I had a look at the footage and I think I've gotten a sense of why, if you'll indulge me, or tell me I'm completely wrong.

Screenshot 2023-09-05 18.19.47.png

Here the bus is behind me about to pass me out. Judging by the wing mirror shadow, I'm about 3 metres ahead. The bus on its current path will crash into me. The bus wing mirror shadow is lined up with my shadow. If you follow it forward, they would connect.

Screenshot 2023-09-05 18.20.32.png

The bus now starts to move out to pass me out. Look at the shadows again. I'm about 2 metres ahead and the shadows are about 6 inches apart now if you track them forward.

Screenshot 2023-09-05 18.21.22.png

The bus is now starting to pass me out. And even though the bus and I look reasonably far apart, the shadows on the ground are maybe 12-18 inches.

Screenshot 2023-09-05 18.23.28.png

The bus is now beside me, and this is where the shadows are. Maybe a foot apart. That's why it felt like the bus speeding up to pass me out was about a foot away from me.

Is my reading of this completely wrong? Are the shadows a reliable indicator of where everyone is, rather than looking at the images that have been fisheyed. The bus then pulled in in front of me to the bus stop outside the workman's club. Do I have a grievance here? Or should I just stop now before I embarass myself anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

I've cycled in the city for years so I'm used to a close pass. I'm not sure what was so bad about this as the images and video are not exactly terrifying. I think maybe it was that he moved out at the last moment so even though there's enough space as he passes, as I heard him approach he was much closer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

If you look at the width of the shadow of your shoulders and compare that to how much gap between the wing mirror shadow and you looks like they are only just that distance away from you. They should be double that distance away I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,214 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Lastly, the one that was my fault, turning towards Kilmore. Very little traffic and a driver starts blocking the road to let out a single car, even though there was no one behind him and no one oncoming, and if he had just taken the turn as he should have, everyone could have gotten through safely and in good time. Instead, the car down the side road looked at him confused, as in, what the f*ck are you at, get through the junction while you have right of way and it's quiet, so I too can progress. While this stand off took place I went the long way round, to hear the driver on the main road shout at the driver to come on (even though he was in the wrong) and the other driver just look at him with perplexion. A few minutes up the road the driver then rolled down his window as he passed me to give out about my dangerous manoeuvre (probably right). I said, 100%, I was totally wrong but you had the right of way and should have progressed so I got out of there before you caused an accident. He F'd me out of it and then drove on. His passanger was not impressed with him, and had the reaction of someone who was well used to the driver getting annoyed and knowing best.

Sounds like a driver who's not confident turning into a side road without taking the HGV line so he probably wanted the other driver to pull out so he'd have a nice wide space to turn into.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Near miss for the car rather then me...people are idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

^^Dripping with sarcasm.

Certain people won't ever heed speed limits until there's a consequence such as penalty points or fines*. Without enforcement any change in limits won't make a blind bit of difference.

*An even smaller subset won't care about points or fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,786 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

100% this. Not confident turning into a side road so pretends like a favour is being dispensed.

Dangerous driving masked as courtesy - the worst kind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,426 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Couple of near misses today, one down to error the other to aggression.

The first, I was heading north on Cardiff Lane towards the river. A left-hand-drive truck turned right coming from Beckett Bridge into my lane by mistake. Luckily the driver copped his error (my wild gesturing might've helped) and moved back into the correct lane in time. No harm no foul, plenty of time for evasive manoeuvres.

The second incident, I was turning right at the Ward Cross roundabout (from St. Margaret's towards Ashbourne). A car coming from my left yields to me as I'm already on the roundabout, but the car behind that car takes it as a personal insult and blasts them, moving to overtake. More horns and high revs as the two of them battle it out behind me on the roundabout as I try and take my exit as quick as I can. The second driver took the racing line and was off up the road ahead of the first.

I know the road rage aggression wasn't directed at me, but I still could've ended up another statistic over some needless impatience. I spotted the aggressively driven car a few minutes later in a petrol station, whatever the rush was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭randomname2005

I'm not disagreeing with your what you say about giving information to witnesses vs victims. But if the op was classified as a witness rather than victim, that is absolute BS. Op was a victim of reckless endangerment.

This is from the Irish statute book.

.—(1) A person shall be guilty of an offence who intentionally or recklessly engages in conduct which creates a substantial risk of death or serious harm to another.

There is a substantial risk of death or serious harm. To me the op is a victim not a witness. Drivers who overtake like that driver did should be charged with reckless endangerment.

I wouldn't think so. To use an extreme example, if somebody shoots you dead, you're still the victim of a crime, but you're not going to be much use as a witness

I think the ddifference lies with the charge applied by AGS. If I see someone speeding, I can't really be a victim but I certainly can be a witness. If the car is driven too close to me as a cyclist, then yes, I may be a victim of their driving but when I report it, I simply am a witness. The gardai won't pursue it because I believe I'm a victim. They pursue it because I made and signed a witness statement.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I"m not actually 100% certain, somewhere near Mount Juilet coming from Stoneyford (taking the road where the dog kennel is)

I was cycling from home to St Mullins to do the barrow way, never cycled the road before.

Complete shite. At exits 5, 3 and 2, if you can't turn your head 180 degrees, you need to come to a complete stop and wait for a gap in traffic. Twice for each exit.

At exit 4 you have to take the slip road up, wait at traffic lights at the top, and then go back back the other side.

At one point (Tandy's Lane), you've to yield to a disused road.

That bridge over the M50 is slippy too, bike has gone from under me on it. That was after a couple of unsuccessful attempts to get to it without having to mount a kerb and cross the verge.

Having said that, I use Lucan village and Strawberry beds to get into town. Much nicer all round.

I have to agree here, the cycle/pedestrian bridge route is definitely preferable to the alternative of going through the main M50 junction which can feel intense even in a car with some of the crazies.

Route you would take is stay on the N4 until junction 2, then come off towards the Hermitage clinic and take the old lucan road past the Deadman's inn and join the pedestrian/cycle route just before King's hospital school. That'll bring you into Palmerstown village where you can continue on behind the Applegreen into Chapelizod village or re-join the N4 at this point where it's less crazy busy.

I generally find going west to east using the cycle lanes to be a decent enough route. Going west to east is a bit more haphazard

I've crossed the M50 via the N4 (inbound) a few times when traffic is quiet but no way would I attempt to cross the M50N slip road during the morning rush.

The cycle path to cross the M50 is fine around there and I tend to use it heading in or out of the city. The only complaint I'd really have is that there isn't a ramp from the bus lane onto the footpath/cycle path meaning that I've to stop in order to get up onto the path.

As for the cycle path along the rest of the N4 - it's shite and is a good way to see a set of road tyres damaged quickly. On top of that, you've pedestrians, dogs and so on using the path. As I'll be travelling in or around 30km/h, I don't think this is suitable when on a glorified footpath. The bus lane is fine despite the odd dickhead driver who feels the need to punish you for existing.

I saw a quote from GoSafe that "The general rule of thumb that we would use is that if you can see the van, you're generally in range." though the y probably would say that.

I'm not 100% sure how the cameras measure speed, and Google isn't providing anything concrete, though I imagine it's radar based. Given that they have to have an image of the offending vehicle as well, I reckon they'd need to have a relatively narrow field of view, which would limit the range somewhat as it'd need to be focused somewhere on the road and if the FOV is too wide, then the plate is likely to be unreadable as it'll be tiny in the image and thus more susceptible to motion blur/noise etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

Not if they are only approaching the roundabout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

Ah, the other right :-)

As a pedestrian crossing correctly at the local mini roundabout, I regularly can be 3/4 of the way across (inbound lane and halfway across the outbound lane say) and some car comes along "nothing on my right (actual)".

When they see me in the middle of "their" lane I either get driven at and berated, driven at and eventually stared at with the astonished "where did you come from" look, or occasionally, they see me and stop correctly and allow me to finish crossing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,102 ✭✭✭✭fits

Can anyone advise me how not to get killed turning right onto steevens lane on my way to heuston station?. I’ve been roared at twice and nearly taken out by a speeding car coming up the way and breaking a red light in recent weeks

I take a Dublin bike from harcourt street and go via the coombe.

I also nearly got taken out by two motorbikes with pillion passengers who overtook me on both sides at heuston station luas bridge. but that was a freak event and hopefully a once off

If you enjoy boards like I do, please consider subscribing at this link.

Just 6 euro a month and no ads, no algorithms, no big tech.

Just make sure to use the email address connected to your profile when subscribing

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Yes that’s the one.

Just make sure to use the email address connected to your profile when subscribing

It's a dodgy junction even when driving through it.

I absolutely hate it. Going to have to look at getting onto the quays I think.

They have a cycle light now at the Heuston junction to avoid the 3 lane death manoeuvre. Timings were **** when they first installed it but you're not waiting too long now