If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Will the good times ever return?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭dublincc2

It wasn’t even a blip in economic terms. Wall Street dusted itself off as soon as it reopened.

No they don’t because they’ll be accused of sexual harassment or being a stalker or just laughed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,872 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

So you miss drugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

Hahahah you don't actually believe that's how young lads think now do you?

Cool the jets, seriously what’s your problem calling people obnoxious pricks because they had a different experience of that time than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,665 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Ehh... No.

That's not happening. At least not on any night out I've been on since forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,502 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I think it's obvious he was specifically referring to the disparaging remarks about the 9/11.

What disparaging remarks? I didn’t make any, simply pointed out that 11/9 (to use the correct date) was the point where the timeline of euphoria and optimism got wrecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Ireland and Europe are in general decline since 2001, Asian countries are the new super rich and in culture, food, streetscape.

Look at Singapore for an example, spotless clean city, great public transport.

Europe is in crisis as is our our country and don't get me started on the state of the capital city, I think the Government, DCC, Dublin Chamber of commerce, An Garda Siochana have all given up on the capital, in Dublin 1, north inner city, its a sh1t box, filthy, homeless, drug addicts every where, have ya got some change for the hostel man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭lmao10

With respect, you're too old to be able to get in touch with how things are for modern young people today. It's a completely different world to anything you would have seen. We have abortion now for example. Another thing you mentioned approaching a girl and all that. Its done online these days and it's a great way to do things. I have a lovely girlfriend at the moment and I didn't have to "approach" or any of that, it was her who messaged me on tinder and things went smoothly. Who wants to be going around "approaching" people. Weird stuff. Different times now. Money is also there to be made if you put the work in. It's easy to travel around Europe and enjoy life. You didn't consider that the way you made your "good times" sound is actually quite off-putting to a younger person today. Younger people are not online complaining about immigrants, feminists and whatever other weird stuff the old lads complain about which makes their lives miserable. Look at the guys with 20000+ negative posts about the current state of the world and Ireland and so on. Do you think these lads are happy people with fulfilling lives? Would you actually want to know them irl? Maybe a similarly minded person would enjoy their company and they could both be miserable together but to the young generation that kind of stuff is kind of seen as a thing old wasters do. I suppose it's all relative.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 30,985 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Singapore is, in effect, a single party autocracy.

That's how it read.

It's not even accurate. We had dot com crash before 9/11 (US Date). Which impacted a lot of businesses even in Ireland, funding, shares etc.

It seems you were in your own bubble, and didn't really look beyond it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭harmless

Bring back 110% mortgages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    SPOIL YOUR VOTE

No.

The tech corporates don't give a fupp for the home user in the context of laptop computers, computers in general, audio.

Way back when, the punter would receive some sort of after market after sales consideration

Now forget about it.

Getting really hard to find a good phone repair place (my phones are all okay thank god)

Caveat emptor and all of that.

Brexit is the other spanner in the works, so we're truely banjaxed here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,413 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Rose tinted glasses. I was born in the mid 80s, old enough to remember before italia 90, the country was in an awful state. I was fortunate enough to be born to two professional parents but most folks had one or no one working, especially in the 80;s

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,296 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

So, you've no proof that all objections are justified then. We're done here.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Singapore is a city. Comparing it to Ireland it not accurate.

Better to compare it to Luxemburg or some other micro nation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

So housing and healthcare issues don't affect you. Pleased for you but many will disagree with that dismissal.

As for 'easy to get to anywhere in Europe..' - one of our hopes for the future is that it will be increasingly difficult/ expensive to 'get to anywhere in Europe'. If society taxed gas guzzling planes at any sort of equivalent rate to motor fuels even as it is, your 'easy to get to anywhere in Europe' would dissipate very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

Same age bracket as the OP.

Its all to do with rose tinted glasses for me. I hated smoking in bars and think it is Micheal Martin's finest legacy for whenever he leaves public life.

Life is as good as you want to make it. I look at the younger crew in my family and they are doing exactly the same faffing about that I did at that age, but like me all are getting an education and working their way up the same career ladders.

I compare what I had to my older siblings of the 80's - life was grim. Luckily, they got jobs in the Civil Service but back then it was either that or head for Holyhead or the airport if you had the cash to get to New York. Half their classes emigrated - by choice, whereas I emigrated to have the craic and see the world for a few years. And while abroad, I noticed that every country has their problems.

Life isn't perfect, and the problems being experienced here are the same the world over (e.g. housing is a problem in every major developed city I would say) or some different derivative of the same problems.

What has changed massively in the last 20 years is social media has made people unhappy. Comparing their lives, seeing people on 4-5 holidays a year and think "why can't I do that", instead of being grateful for the opportunities we have and the fact that we live in a country where if you want an opportunity it is achievable in some guise at least for basically everybody?

People who were/are sane people offline have turned in to argumentative, abusive windbags due to the anonymity social media and this manifests itself in so many ways - people can't accept refereeing decisions in sport without losing their nut online over it and assaulting referees. Respect for authority - be it Gardai, teachers, referees, etc - is definitely something which is on the decline. People can't accept that you can't get everything your way all of the time, sometimes others get the nice things or the victory and you have to work that bit harder next time and your day will come.

Comparison truly is the thief of joy. Life is what you make of it.

Without going all Baz Luhrmann, if I could offer people one piece of advice for their future happiness, quitting social media would be it. Make up your own mind on life, public policy, etc. Don't just go by the herd because that herd is a poisonous cult and go look at any posting by a TD or state official of any hue and tell me it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

And an exception to the rule in Asia (along with South Korea, Japan and Hong Kong/Macau) in terms of having very high quality of living.

Western Europe, US/Canada, Australia/NZ still dominate that area

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_Development_Index#/media/File%3ACountries_by_Human_Development_Index_(2021).svg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Eh referring to the World Trade Centre and World Sh*the Centre was the disparaging remark, not the way the date was written FFS.

3,000 people killed for turning up to work, then others living with injuries and cancers caused from the collapse.

Grow up and show some respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

That's fine and enjoy it while you can.

Don't be surprised though if you or your mates look around in 20 years years time and see that you f-all to show for it. That you've been taken for a ride, still stuck renting at exorbitant rates and looking forward to the next 30-40 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭hymenelectra

A daintily decorated, sugar coated turd of a country is the state of things.

It might look nice depending on your distance from reality, but take a bite and you'll get the flavour.

Thus far you've defended a grand conspiracy of homeowners against a generation. Now it's a strawman of a sweeping generalisation that even Homer Simpson couldn't stand over.

Post edited by Flinty997 on

I think is more accurate than most people realise.

Unfortunately most would not disagree. Vast majority of Irish are homeowners and unaffected by housing crisis, or unaffected enough that they won't vote or take positive action to relieve it.

Irish healthcare is struggling, but it's still world class, and if you get a serious illness you'll get seen to. It's not fast, it's not pretty but it works.

Yes, it's easy to get anywhere in Europe, prove me wrong, and don't give me "some french politician proposed x" nonsense. I can hop onto Skyscanner and get a flight to most European countries for under a hundred euro each way. The most expensive leg of the journey would be driving to the airport and paying for parking.

You're just being contrarian now. Show me any proof to your assertions and I'll debate you on it, but I'm not going to entertain your wishy washy posts any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,252 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Ireland has one of the lowest percentage of people owning their own house in the EU.

Under 40 it is incredibly low barely a third.

The second highest divide in the 15 countries in the study ahead of Greece that isn't a great indicator. House prices affect people who own houses obviously if they want to move up the ladder or sell of course.

Do you have any recent experience with Irish healthcare, it is far from world class. My last experience was 38 hours on a trolley (having private healthcare made not a tap of difference). Trolleys all over the shop. Huge waiting lists for basic scans and referrals (a year and half for scans on sinuses) unless you go private.

Compare and contrast a recent experience with A and E in Brussels in and out in 30 minutes with multiple x-rays, digital copy of same and drugs required.

The Irish healthcare system is falling apart it is being literally held together just about by an extremely frazzled front line of nurses, HCAs and doctors.

Have to agree. Last couple of times I was in A&E with a family member it was 48 hours or more.

Thank you for posting links that don't disprove my point that homeowner's don't care since the majority of Irish are homeowners(70% and higher than the European average according to that extra.ie link)

Regarding the It story of ownership disparity "Despite the housing shortage, surging rents and record levels of homelessness, homes were as affordable here as much of western Europe, the research showed. Irish people were less likely to be paying as much as 30 per cent of their income to cover housing costs compared to the other countries surveyed, with about 15 per cent of people here paying that much. That compared to a fifth of people elsewhere."

So oh well. Maybe you could provide a link to the original claim posted by Furze.

Btw I agree, the Irish healthcare is struggling and wait times are stupidly high, but you got seen, you got treated, you got discharged and you got better. It's not pretty, it's not fast but you won't get turned away or bankrupted.

You're just making up stuff to suit your bias.

The only reason SF didn't get in last time was because not only they didn't run enough people. But their economic policies are largely gibberish.

It got nothing to do with homeowners. Homeowners have family who are caught up in the crisis same as everyone else.