Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Yeah. I'd assume the order for 8 is Doris, conan and then Coombes. So one injury and Coombes is in France. And conan is currently not fully fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Iamabeliever

I personally didn't think predergast at 8 was a possibility but as it stands he is now in position of the jersey with an excellent chance to show what he can do. Let's reacess after the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,851 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

For Prendergast to be in consideration for 8 at the RWC, it’d required a number of injuries to the point that Coombes would almost certainly be called in.

I don’t think this tells us anything definitive about the depth chart at 8 if both Doris and Conan were injured.

It tells us who Farrell might move there during a RWC game against, say Romania if one of Doris or Conan got injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Iamabeliever

Has Prendergast gone off?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Lads, Gleeson is a generational talent, imo. I think he's going to be starting for Munster in a couple of years. His power is just crazy. Jaysus, himself and Quinn, and Culhane! Scary. McNabney is a good option for down the road. We are loaded! It's great! It won't take long either for Quinn and Gleeson. Culhane will have to wait. A massive amount of talent in front of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,941 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

I'll admit when I'm wrong. First time ever now. Put that handsome feckin acrobatic young fella may be on the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭clsmooth

I’m sure we all thought that about Max Deegan a few years ago. Hopefully they all come through but it’s a big step up to professional rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,124 ✭✭✭✭phog

Summersaulting into the history books

From InphoSports

FB_IMG_1692472566727.jpg FB_IMG_1692472570222.jpg FB_IMG_1692472577896.jpg FB_IMG_1692472582606.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,124 ✭✭✭✭phog

Really hope this scan is precautionary and that he's ok for the RWC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

Crowley is so far ahead of Ross Byrne in every facet of the game it’s not funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Exactly.

I've watched the u20s for years. There have been many players that seem head & shoulders above their peers that don't make it (big) in the pro game. Many factors needed; skill, athleticism, natural talent and luck. Unfortunately luck can often play a big part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,049 ✭✭✭✭bilston

It seemed innocuous, but that means nothing. This has to be a worry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Sounds like it. MK followed that tweet up by saying Farrell was a bit downbeat about Sheehan. Also said Kelleher will be fine for the World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭TRC10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Exactly. Some see the missed conversions and think they were the defining moment of the game. But they are blind to all the other stuff Byrne did. He had quite a good game. Not much between him & Crowley but I think he's still ahead - I think Farrell thinks so too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,941 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Very unusual for Byrne. Generally a great place kicker.

Would take it as a once off.

Good game over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,981 ✭✭✭connachta

Why so much talk about second choice OH when second choice SH should be on debate, and more so after today. Casey is ahead

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 30,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

For right or wrong, intra-provincial discussions are always a bit quieter.

I think Casey has a good shot. I suppose the argument for Murray on the bench is that he brings a slower more tempered game whereas Casey might leapfrog into starting 9 if something happened to JGP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,782 ✭✭✭typhoony

If anything the England game has muddied the waters in terms of final selection, everyone's assuming Farrell will bring 5 locks, Ryan, Beirne, Henderson, McCarthy and Baird with 2 of the above providing cover for backrow so no prendergast or Coombes. Baird might be vulnerable after today's game if Farrell decides to go for a dedicated backrow player with just 4 locks. Then you have 2 places left up for grabs which presumably will go to the backs 2 from Earls, Fawley,McCloskey, Stockdale. After todays game it will be Earls and either Frawley or McCloskey. Doubt Stockdale will go

Do any teams just bring 2 Scrumhalves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,926 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Romania are going to be no bother , hammered tody by Italy.

I do worry about the pysiclity that Samoa bring, would be playing a seconds team, so we get no major injuries for the big games ahead.

Doris, ringrose and keenan not to start against Samoa would be my wish, todays front row need to go again if sheehan is OK. The rest of the team needs to be second string.

Is it just me or did Earls pull a full Robbie Keane in the scoring of that try?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

He assisted two tries, to say he "set them up" is generous.

But it does highlight a strength he has in quietly going about his business until an opportunity for a wide skip pass or a cross-field kick emerges. He most certainly has a nose for those moments.

But if those moments don't open up, that's where I feel he's just too passive. When it comes to getting defenses to guess and putting players into space, I would say that not only is Crowley better than him, but on today's showing, Ringrose, Lowe and Hansen performed these roles better than him as well, when they were first receiver.

I don't necessarily think this issue disqualifies him from being the first choice 10 though. His touch-kicking remains superior to Crowley, and that really is such an important part of our set-piece threat.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Mr Disco

Give it up. The final pass isn’t ‘setting up’ a try. Even Hansen had to step in with a crossfield kick for ringrose’s try with Byrne ram out of ideas.

I always thought Disco was famous for being upbeat and positive. All out of disco biscuits, it it?

Happy enough with that. Delighted for Earls - great atmosphere when he came on and the try was a perfect ending to a 6/10 game for the team overall.

Lineout was a worry - it looked to me like the jumpers weren't getting off the ground quickly enough rather than the throw being early. I have no way of telling either way. Really hope both Sheehan and Kelleher are both fit.

I thought Ross had a good game outside of the placekicking but need to rewatch on tv before I put the mortgage on it. Anyway, I already bet the mortgage on a WC victory.

Everything else (JGP and Murray with some dodgy passing, dropped balls on the pass out the back etc) I'm putting down to rustiness.

Not sure where England go from here - was Vunipola looking for a month off rather than going to the World Cup after seeing how poor their team is? They play a game of rugby that harks back to the 2007 ELVs and they are so narrow in defence with 15 on the pitch, let alone 14.

No new major injury scares bar Sheehan, a convincing (on the scoreboard at least) win and flights to France next week. It's getting very real now.

P.s. If someone has that gif of Joe McCarthy going full SOB - please share.

P.p.s Genuinely think most England backs would have screwed up POM's 2 on 1 today, such is their lack of confidence. It was textbook execution for me

Edit; their not there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,851 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Most (including Ireland) used to when i was a 31 man squad. I think this is the first RWC where is 33, so the likelihood is one of the extra spaces goes to a SH.