What does the future hold for Donald Trump? - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,042 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Question for choice of VP always comes down to 'what votes does it help me get that otherwise I may not get?' and 'what states does it help me win that otherwise I may not win?'.

To a large extent that means picking someone that doesn't necessarily correlate with you exactly - so rookie black young gun Obama picks middle-aged experienced white politician-for-life Biden, and later by now elderly politician-for-life Biden picks young black female Harris. Maybe that's more of a democrat party thing (Mondale/Ferraro, Hilary/Kaine) though McCain/Palin was a GOP example.

Realistically, Trump should win Florida regardless so having RDS on the ticket isn't a big help. They are surely too 'samey' to be able to get votes from a wider cross-section of American society. A somewhat liberal-leaning slightly mixed-race female from the West coast would be his ideal pick, though I don't know who that means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,874 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

"So why not go after him ??"

people forget that the GOP was hacked, along with the Dems. It does sound like a conspiracy theory, but perhaps he has the info on all of them? It certainly would explain the behaviour of folk like Graham.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

He isn't interested in the usual logic for VP picks - He went with Pence in 2016 on the advice of the GOP Grandees and in his mind Pence f*cked him so he won't do that again.

Not a chance in hell he picks someone with their own profile or ability to theoretically upstage him.

Trump wants a Telegenic doormat as his VP that will parrot his bullshít and smile when he says something "funny".

Kari Lake was a possibility , but think she might be a bit too mouthy for Trumps liking . Same for MTG - Too much personal profile and too mouthy.

Kristie Noem is a definite possibility - She's "Conservative GOP Attractive" in that Stepford wife kind of way they all have and she appears to be genuinely vacuous , but she's done enough nasty things as Governor to have some street cred with the crazies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

It was the same with Trump and Pence. He needed pence to get the religious types on board.

Names and addresses of Georgia grand jurors posted online. The intimidation well underway.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2023/aug/17/georgia-grand-jurors-information-posted-rightwing-websites?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Other

Exactly, and without a Pence to appeal to the "normal" Christian voters, and not the MAGA types, he will need similar.

But he won't.

He will go with someone as crazy as himself and will therefore guarantee that he will lose.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Trump doesn't think he needs anybodies help so any arguments about him needing someone to balance out the ticket etc. etc. will be utterly ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,665 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I read this as "antibodies' help". Presumably, he believes in antibodies.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

He pled the 5th when asked where he was on January 6th at the Congressional hearings..

Only the best people.

Could now be charged with physical crimes in an effort to make him flip...

For sure.

The trespass charges are a slam dunk , they've charged dozens of people with those and most have just pled guilty - Would they lead to a forfeiture of his law licence I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Trying to send a clear threat to any potential jurors that they should try and get themselves recused…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,665 ✭✭✭✭briany

Attractive - little opinion of her own - will not try to hog the spotlight.... Would Trump ever pull the ripcord on naming Ivanka as his running mate? Trump naming his own daughter as a potential VP would be classic and not even the craziest thing he's done or said this week. It would also tie back into an old video that Trump once posted on his Twitter that went "Trump 2020. Trump 2024. Trump 2028. Trump 2032..." etc

Ivanka has her own deluded ideas about her future and is trying to distance herself from him , plus it would become all about her if he did that and Donald "The Rapist" Trump doesn't want to share the limelight with anyone.

She gets back involved and a lot more people get a lot more interested in the $3B that Jared has received for his "Investment fund" since he left office.

All but $30M is from foreign companies and sovereign wealth funds - The vast majority from the Middle East - Where Jared was Trumps "Special Advisor".

99% of a fund being funded from overseas is unheard of , as is the fact that 60% of it is from a single investor - MBS & Saudi Arabia.

Someone is eventually going to have to explain how Jared Kushner , the piss-poor property developer with ZERO experience in Investment fund management was able to get all these Foreign entities to give him such vast sums of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,244 ✭✭✭Rawr

I fully expect that the Twitter post with mulitple Trump presidential runs was intended for himself, as well as the notion that he wanted a "bonus" 4 years because his first 4 were "ruined" (or something equally childish). You just know if he ever actually repealled the Act that officially restricted a US President to 2 terms he'd try to run for the rest of his life. Some might claim that he was "just joking" on Twitter, but based on Jan6...I'm not so sure of that.

But certianly, the rapist dimwit would likely make one of his kids a VP. Likely Ivanka, since he made the blockheaded move to give her a White House position and brought her along to events to awkwardly try to mingle with actual World Leaders (with hillarious results). There was also this brief wierd time during the Trump "administration" where some suspected that Ivanka and the bell-end she married where the real power behind the Oval Office. Would love someone to finally make a decent documentary about the absolutle shambles that White House clearly was to create that impression. Bet you it was somehow worse than we can already imagine.

But yes, Donnie "Only the Best People" Trump would certainly pick one of his dimwitted kids as VP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,711 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I think as Quin_Dub said, there's no way Ivanka would join him on the ticket. She completely distanced herself from him shortly after Jan 6th and her testimony was used against him in the Jan 6th Committee hearings.

I wouldn't be surprised to see her trying to carve out her own political future within the next 10 years, but it won't be with Trump himself, it'll be after he's out of the picture.

Ivanka Kushner, 2030 running for Florida Senate -

"Yes , my father made many mistakes and during my time in the WH I tried to moderate those unfortunate behaviours but was unsuccessful. I speak to my father from time to time when bringing his grand-children to visit him during his confinement follow his convictions but I do not take my political direction from him and I promise to be a very different kind of politician.

So please vote for me as your new Democrat Party Senator for the Great State of Florida"

Certifying it frivolous is probably the last step before doing such.

Being introduced on stage by Dianne Feinstein who still refuses to retire.

Brain jars can’t come soon enough. ‘Ahrooooh!’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,665 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

He'll probably be dead at that point. She'll have full liberty to twist things however she likes while cashing in on her name.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

When he’s dead they exhume Ivanas grave right

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Brand Ivanka is dead in the water: it was obvious early doors in 2016+ there was a concerted attempt to astroturf her political aspirations, parachute her into positions she had no business being in. Yet it was all so roundly & quickly rejected, her empty Stepford appearance and demeanour so unappealing to the serious men & women of geopolitics, that the idea became too stupid to continue.

I don't know who Trump might pick - but fear it'll be a MAGA Ultra 'cos the moderates who think they can control Trump have left the building - but I can be fairly confident it won't be Ivanka. By and large the women closest to Trump appear to have disappeared - Christ what's Melania even up to these days? She always looked so miserable, and if rumours are to be believed, wept profusely the night Trump won the election.

Post edited by pixelburp on

There's also a good chance that Don Jr. will see himself to be the one to fill Trump's shoes and position himself as heir apparant, though that's more likely to end in hilarity with everyone pointing and laughing at him.

Junior utterly lacks the "charisma" and feral intelligence required to survive without Daddy - except for possibly Ivanka , they all do.

He is a lobotomized Sonny to Donalds lobotomized Vito Corleone.

Eric is of course Fredo with a brain injury.

There is no Michael.

He lacks charisma, definitely. It's the ego and entitlement that could make him try to run.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

While Americans love their dynasties I don't ever get the sense Jr has any broad support for favour; indeed I'm not even sure he's Trumps favourite child, despite being named after Donald. Jr is certainly still doing the media rounds ranting about Libs, Woke and all the rest but I've not seen that translate into the kind of Next Generation thinking you say attempted with Ivanka.