If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

Look fair enough , I've just seen some truly ridiculous comments from him. Most being , Mayo have a better squad than Dublin man for man. Those type of comments make anyone look like a wum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

if they had won , he would have got it regardless , even thought the likes of diarmuid o connor and gavin white were excellent

but he has carried this kerry team for the last few years , to turn up the morning after his mother dying and scoring 2-6 in the munster final was sensational , and before you start slagging the opposition a lot of key men that day played poorly for them , he's a fantastic footballer and great lad , i wont be found saying anything bad about him

larry mccarthy needs to be credited with the biggest positional switch of the game today , where he moved the Taoiseach  to the far let of james mccarthy for the speech , he didnt want a repeat of the cian lynch debacle last week 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Xander10

But shite like the below c&p was hard to keep reading:

"DLaugh0 ya think this performance will be enough for the DCB to dump Dessie? How long is his current contract?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

Just as pleased with that as I was with 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Gael85

Stephen Cluxton scored his first championship points for Dublin in 8 years. 225 games between Championship & League.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

I’d say it’s the closest since then for me.

There is nothing more special then beating Kerry in an all ireland final when the teams are well matched.

Couldn’t wait to rewatch tonight on the Sunday game. Breath it in…

I know Fitz will prob get MOM but I thought mannion was superb.

did ye not expect to win tonight, the function looks like a cross between Eurosong 96 and the red wedding in game of thrones !!!!

It's less dour than limericks last week , my jaysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Question for ye, would you consider cluxton or Mccarthy the better player?

For me, it's Mccarthy all day long. Never understood the whole 'cluxton is Dublin's best ever' spiel, for basically, very high level dead ball kicking; shouldnt the same logic be applied for Dean rock in that case? It's overplayed for me. Mccarthy is a different animal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Trey13

Obviously different players but I think Cluxton is the one that sews everything together. You get the impression that he’s the leader in that changing room and that he’s the one really driving standards. I feel like his true value is in the intangibles that we probably don’t see on matchdays. Then he is obviously an extremely talented goalkeeper who has revolutionised the position.

McCarthy in his own right an amazing player and if it was based solely on “on field” performances then I’d go with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

It's the decision making in his Kickouts which is as impressive as the execution.

Dean Rock has no decision to make under pressure, just hit it over the bar.

It's hard to compare different positions anyway.

They're both all time greats in their respective positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Cluxton Man of the match.

When Kerry put the squeeze on Dublin, he marched up boomed a point over the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

I'm loathe to say this because Mick Fitz is a legend but i can't understand the narrative around him today. He did ok against a very capable player but by no means did he put shackles on Clifford. Clifford got away from him more than once and but for some poor wides, under very little pressure it must be said, we'd be saying Fitzy is passed it. His tenacity is timeless though and he deserves every accolade because they are very, very long overdue.

Actually it reminds me so much of the talk that surrounded Keegan V Connolly. Keegan stands beside Connolly, Connolly doesn't score or scores once, therefore Keegan did a job on him. It's such a lazy, ignorant analysis.

Mannion might deserve MOTM but Brian Fenton was magnificent again for me. An island of tranquility in a chaotic storm. His poise was something to behold.

They're right though... the best player ever to play the game is actually playing at the moment.... but he wears a blue jersey. Can't decide what number jersey he wears though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Is cluxton the oldest man to score in an all Ireland final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

I was surprised that Kerry didn't try the long ball into Clifford today as it worked so well last year for them.

I thought the 2 point margin flattered Kerry.

A lot of sloppy play from the forwards, it should have been a lot more comfortable.

But Jesus I'll take it, I actually feel this one is sweeter than the 5 in a row.

Who would have thought after the league game v Clare that we would be here.

Pat Gilroy, the greatest water carrier of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,384 ✭✭✭Seadin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Have to agree with JRant here. Goodness knows Gorm has boiled my piss over the years bigging up Kerry over Dublin no matter the evidence at hand, but he's no WUM.

I have to say, today was better than 2011.

2011 was cathartic and got the monkey off our back.

But today was a dose of "put them in their place". So satisfying.

Cluxton is the most important and consequential player in the history of the game. It surely isn't in doubt. Completely revolutionised how its played.

McCarthy is the best that's ever pulled on a blue shirt. These things can exist at the same time.

I think with Fitzy, and I said it today during the game, what he did was throw Clifford off. It didn't matter that Clifford put the burners on and got away, he was always out of position, concentrating on getting away from Fitz more than getting the ball away or looking for the man ahead. Little pushes here and there disrupted his rhythm.

Similar to how Philly used to nullify Cooper in days gone by.

He was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Cluxton is the most important and consequential player in the history of the game. It surely isn't in doubt. Completely revolutionised how its played.

This Dublin team was probably the first that realised that retaining your own kickout results in a positive return, as opposed to the old thinking of lumping it out in the general direction of biggest player you had and hoping he'd win it.

Jim gavin is apparently a big fan of NFL, which is all about movement and set plays. This focus on kickouts was bigger than cluxton - the setup, tactics, the movement of the players etc, Cluxton is extremely talented at executing the plan, but he gets disproportionate credit for "revolutionising the game". I'd argue that the unseen work of marshaling his defenders, his leadership qualities are more impactful than his kickouts

Has to be said, that's a nice feeling to wake up to yet another All-Ireland. It certainly never gets old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

Jaysus lads the aul head is busted. Some day to be fair. Never happier to get a prediction wrong. Beating the old enemy never gets old. I'm delighted for all Dubs on here even the negative ones 😄. Work can take a back seat today i'm off for round 2 the Monday club in full swing. Happy days !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Gael85

Can't bear Monday pints. This win means some much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,230 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Tales from the otherside.... Radio Kerry's live commentary from the final.

The two lads really enjoy their jobs anyway. I particularly enjoyed the bit where Tim Moynihan said - 'Damn it' (hitting the table with his hand) when a David Clifford shot went wide, that he though was over. He was very close to saying something else.

Ambrose O'Donovan said the best team won as well, which I found interesting. But at the same time during the match he was saying Kerry were kicking the game away, missing chances.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.