No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

He was probably sick of the job, wanted to promote his book and created a stunt on which to resign over, on principal of course.

Next week he calls out the boy scouts for glorifying war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Thanks Patsy some atmosphere in croker today disappointing to see the size of the kilkenny crowd today thought it was at least 2 thirds Limerick. Some team a credit to the county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,658 ✭✭✭tanko

Was there any tickets to be got before the match, was half thinking of heading up this morning to see could i get one.

I think I've annoyed some ahem "far left" people on twitter tonight.

The DUP comparison popped into my head too, reading that thread about a farmer's political party here from a few months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,990 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

My brother set up a couple of cheap cameras at my parents house. They go straight to my mam's phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

A bit sickening all the same to see the support from those who should know better praising him for his actions and doubling down on calling farmer orgs far right. The gulf in separation they want from farmers is troublesome.

I'll gaze into my crystal ball again.

He was publicly calling for financial support for Irish Wildlife Trust a short while back. My guess is he found investors but investors for himself and his own anti farmer organisation with himself as dictator head leading this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

These lads care about the environment - that's how they start out.

But then the likes of RTE and the Irish Times give them a platform, and it becomes a paying gig. When you trade on controversy and drama thou, you need to keep ramping up the blood and gore and there's only so far you can go before you 'jump the shark'.

That guy ran out of ideas on how to get the media to listen, so he started talking about right-wing conspiracies. Gibbons will be talking about aliens, Communists, or the Real-IRA soon.

Another interesting titbit is the farmer's journal picture of Padraig is him with a number 2 haircut all over and thick rimmed glasses.

His supporters have his own media picture of him with no glasses and a barber's haircut.

Re the RTE and IT. RTE were told as part of their funding model that more environmental items had to be included. Catherine Martin, Green Party is the government minister for the RTE department.

If you were to ask Newstalk who Padraig Fogarty is. They'd reply. Who.? Hasn't been on their radar one bit.

One benefit to it is knowing who's who now.

What's sickening to me is how well, yep I'm going there again, James Rebanks and Caroline Grindrod work together. It should be an inspirational model, instead of the socialist control sit down peasant we know best model prevalent here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Dozer1

there were a few floating around outside Croke Park anyway, if you only wanted 1 it would have bee handy enough gotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,798 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

It must be due to karma that those that are flying to Greece at the moment are suffering the effects of Climate Change

Why would you still go ahead with your holiday, was someone complaining the other day about their hotel was burnt to the ground when they arrived

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Pippa wants all farms to follow derogation rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Like the brits in Spain i think it was at the start of the pandemic. Amazed when they landes over to be told to stay indoors it was as if they thought they were exempt from all the guidelines and they only applied to the locals.

Better living everyone

A neighbour is just back from Rhodes. Torture. 45 degrees. Couldn't really go out until after 9 pm and then you had to eat outside. Very badly sunburnt. Tiny airport queueing for ages to check in etc in the heat.

Twitter is greatest gift and bane to Ireland.

Sadbh O Neil a former advisor to the Green Party and with 30 years experience of climate policy and go to commentator on environment for radio stations stated in a tweet that human sewage flows into rivers don't add nitrates to the waterways. When she was questioned on this she blocked farmers and deleted the tweet. Farmers know these things. When you're stuck behind a desk in a city and believe in your own self importance then you become gullible to local government authorities.

Anyway..🙄😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭Packrat

Those 3 mentioned need a good dose of climate change themselves. Sadbh o Neill, John Gibbons and Padraig Fogarty.

Anyone know if John Gibbons is related to the other farmer hater Michael Gibbons (archeological explorer) who is constantly re-educating the public that all farmers destroy every national monument on their land?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,151 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Clucking bell - just seen a stat on Twitter saying in the period 2008-19 the consumption of beef in the UK fell 30% and lamb 50%!! Not surprising that UK sheep farmers are in even bigger dire straights then here with the Tory government signing deals with NZ for more lamb imports, likely hit prices here too with the border trade in NI:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The only crowd signing worse deals for farmers than the Tory Party are the EU Commission.

Beef but especially Sheep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,761 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Anyone else trying for Coldplay tickets online.

not sure if internet connection makes any difference but sitting along a back road in the arse of Cavan with one bar reception isn’t filling me with confidence.

I’ve never bought on Ticketmaster before, I’m in the “Lobby”, that’s before the waiting room, before the que to get into the shop.

I think the last concert tickets I bought I had to go to multisound in Cavan, that was for Meatloaf in the Oasis !!

internet connection wasn’t so much a problem back then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭roosterman71

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

You'd wonder do these crowd ever get away from the keyboard and travel down the country, even they couldn't miss but see how green and lush the overgrown countryside is.

Showing herself to be anti dairy more than pro wildlife.

I'm dairy and in dero and I've more wildlife than most. People like that should be called out for holding grudges against dairy farming. The farm where she grew up on used to be milking cows and then got out as claimed they couldn't make a living from it. Since then she seems to hold a grudge against those that stayed in milk and modernised or invested in the farm.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

From Twitter

IMG_2240.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭cal naughton

Holly Cairns will be doing very well to be re elected the next time. Being party leader of the soc dems she has to be seen to stick it to the farmer by her urban party voters but unfortunately for her she is in a constituency where a lot of jobs depends on agri.

It's a tight three seater. Michael Collins will romp home again. Chris O'Sullivan is making a big play with farmers down there and sinn Fein won't do as badly as last time and Clare O'Callaghan for them is also making a big agri play.

Daughter got 4 tickets. She was on 4 devices. Only an hour ago she got them. Long morning as she had my phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭dzer2

Got 8 this morning for Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,761 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Ahh I couldn’t be on that long so I left it. I’ll try again.