Gorey Gaelscoil debacle - astonishing legal smackdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

It depends on the school. "Gaelscoil" is more of a description of the language ethos than anything else. The one on Gorey is multidenominational, and is under the patronage of An Foras Pátrúnachta, who say they have about 80 schools (primary and secondary) nationwide. The one my kids goes to is under the patronage of the local Diocese and is (nominally) Catholic, and a lot of others around the country are patronised by their respective bishops too. There's a couple that are under other specialist organisations like Ability West's special needs gaelscoil in Carraroe, Co. Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Hogeveen

That would be 100% my reaction too on reading this case, but I was a parent of a child in the school at the time and spoke to the principal the day after the event took place. He was utterly repentant and ashamed of himself for his behaviour, and I never heard of any similar event with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭lulublue22

What pressure do you think a principal on immediate suspension could bring on the parents ? More likely given the subsequent failure of the board to follow procedure that there were issues / concerns on how the BOM conduct their business. While not downplaying the incident with the child it does appear that there was a personal vendetta against the principal. Perhaps the parents did not want to be associated with that- whatever our concerns / interpretations it does appear as if any concerns / issues the parents had were addressed and they were happy that the issue had been resolved. I’ve been a member of a few boards I genuinely would not want to be associated with that level ineptitude / vindictiveness. Structures and process are in place for a reason.

ETA - the judge was scathing of the BOM and the chairperson in particular in his summary judgement which is very telling. He stated that the chairperson had single handedly undone the great work of the school in a matter of weeks. It suggests to me that the classic power corrupts is apt here.

Post edited by lulublue22 on

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Who appoints BOM of schools anyway? And what qualifications do any of them have?

Friend of mine was being interviewed for the principals position in her school, when I asked who does interviews, turns out it was someone off the BOM. I enquired as to their qualifications to hold interviews, she told me that just the way it's done. Very strange system with schools in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

From https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/education/primary-and-post-primary-education/going-to-primary-school/boards-of-management/ :

"The composition of the board of management for schools with more than one teacher is

• Two direct nominees of the patron
    • Two parents of children enrolled in the school (one mother and one father) elected by the parents
    • The principal
    • One other serving teacher elected by the teaching staff
    • Two extra members agreed by the representatives of the patron, teachers and parents"

The only qualification they need is that they have been appointed, or to put it another way: their qualification is their appointment. You don't need any specific qualifications to hold job interviews in Ireland.

Surely the board of education or the civil service should be involved somewhere in interviewing potential teachers?

It seems rife for corruption, a few local lads and parents interviewing!

Interviews are conducted by a panel of 3 - chairperson of the board , principal and an independent member. Generally the independent member is a principal / retired principal. Parents do not interview. The rules and regulations including the appeals process is clearly outlined in circular 0044/2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

The Teaching Council should now investigate Melanie Ni Dhuinn. Her conduct has been disgraceful and unprofessional. Concealing evidence is shocking.

The same as any company holds interviews I presume- there’s a prevailing narrative that you need to play GAA / be the nephew/ niece of the principal etc to be appointed. In my experience that’s not true does it happen I can’t say it doesn’t but it’s not something I’ve come across or heard of.

Teaching council has no remit vis a vis Ms Ni Dhuinn. However this incident should shine a spotlight on the training available / oversights in place or not in relation to BOM’s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

Ms Ni Dhuinn is a registered teacher, and several teachers have been sanctioned for disgraceful conduct unrelated to their job as a teacher.

The fact this person who has engaged in such underhanded and vindictive behaviour has actually lead the committee that has decided such sanctions for others in the past is disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Str8outtaWuhan

In fairness his reputation was destroyed when he manhandled a pupil and lost his cool imho.

Didn’t realise she is a registered teacher - in that case the teaching council should definitely investigate her conduct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,671 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Hmmmm. Seems like you just signed up to defend this person. Always a red flag.

Either way the chances that what the first time he abused a child is virtually nil, he became violent because a 7 year old stamped his feet.

Reading between the lines it would appear the old BOM let all manor of things slide.

Whatever about the questionable methods of the new Chairperson, she did the kids a favour by keeping this cretin away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Bit of reach ,

Even the bom wasn't reading between the lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭csirl

And that's only a guideline - schools dont need to follow it. In the local school one of my kids attends, the parents reps are not elected by the parents - they are chosen by the Principal and any interested parent is told they have to be interviewed by thr Principal. Most of the other Board members are elderly church acttivists. Needless to say they are a very ineffective BOM who condtantly seem to be dealing with issues of their own making.

And that's only a guideline - schools dont need to follow it. In the local school one of my kids attends, the parents reps are not elected by the parents - they are chosen by the Principal and any interested parent is told they have to be interviewed by the Principal. Most of the other Board members are elderly church acttivists. Needless to say they are a very ineffective BOM who constantly seem to be dealing with issues of their own making.

Problem is that the Teaching Council doesnt employ any investigators. So no real hope of them doing anything.

The very small number of teachers they censure are almost always those who have been convicted of crimes by the Courts where the criminal justice system hss already done the investigation.

This story reminds me of something that happened in my hometown when I was a kid.

The Vice- Principal in my school was passed over for promotion to Principal. And rightly so he was a power tripper. Principal who got the job was brilliant.

Hoeever, he got himself appointed as Chair of the BOM of another school in the area. There was a big scandal in that school over falsification of something or other. To cut a long story short, this guy was essentiallly running the other school as a proxy Principal - the real Principal was bullied into doing everything he said!

Nah.

Out of the blue this guy is violent towards a young child is the reach and his outing just so happened to coincide with a new BOM?

Doesn't pass the smell test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

New BOM's to be appointed this coming November, get canvassing now folks

It gets worse not alone is the chair a registered teacher but it seems she is an education professor who trains teachers who has sat on investigation boards for the Teaching Council. You couldn’t make this **** up it’s mind boggling.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Am I the only one who has a problem with the principal admitting to grabbing a 6/7 year old child because they stamped their feet?

No. I think it's absolutely abhorrent, with far more to this story then we know. I also think the High Court Judge minimising it to the point it was nothing is quite startling.

It's pretty obvious the BOM procrastinated to the point of farce on purpose because they didn't want this individual back in the school.

Fair play to them.

Fair play?

perhaps if they had of just done things correctly this wouldn't be the outcome. The fact that they fupped it up means the man is reinstated with back pay. If he did deserve to lose his job they should have acted correctly.

now the man has his good name completely vindicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Cormex25

I was a former pupil back in 2002 when the Gaelscoil in Gorey first started. I'm glad some people see how inappropriate the incident with 'Pupil A' was and question whether it's a one off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,305 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It's pretty obvious the BOM procrastinated to the point of farce on purpose because they didn't want this individual back in the school.

That’s not obvious at all. What’s obvious is that the BOM didn’t follow fair procedures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Cormex25

Unfortunately you're correct. If they wanted him gone, they should have done their due diligence.

Nevertheless, I hope you can appreciate how grossly inappropriate the incident with 'Pupil A' was and question what would happen in situation where parents dont become involved and if these issues existed before. In many cases, people only become apologetic when they're caught out.

Nope, unfortunately he would have got the barest slap on the wrist and would have been reinstated immediately.

The High Court Judge Stated as much in his judgement.

This happened before the guidelines were updated.

We have just seen with the deplorable cretin Burke how powerless a BOM can be.