Electric Picnic 2023 **No Ticket Sales / Requests ** - It'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

Electric picnic 2024 or Coldplay,

or surprise visit from Chris Martin in stradbally. Hmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,640 ✭✭✭Fanirish

I know, I mean like a special guest for a song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

My comment was supposed to be taken with a bit of humour. It could've been any number of acts, i just went for Fred.

Salty Dog looking decent enough if a tad repetitive. I've seen a lot of those before. Still, onwards & upwards....😀

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭jonnreeks

If you could choose a headline act for Electric Picnic, who would you choose?

I think on a personal note for the type of music I like it would have to be Bruno Mars, especially if it included Silk Sonic.

🤗

Hmm.

Personally from who's about these days, (not on hiatus/retired/dead)

Tame Impala, Arcade fire, The National, Depeche Mode, Vampire Weekend (on back of another good album), Queens of the stone Age have a lot of good hype at the moment, a reformed White stripes (no hope), I'd say the XX will headline next year,

Bruno Mars is a good shout

If I could choose, it'd be Radiohead always

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Sees R-word, digs out and dust off old image.

Xjj8AGj[1].jpg

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,792 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Really hope so, their tour in in US is finished end July

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,070 ✭✭✭endainoz

Screenshot_2023-07-19-17-53-50-78_1c337646f29875672b5a61192b9010f9.jpg

Look at the EP social media crowd pandering to all ye auld sh1tes!

😂😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Hank the DJ

That Salty Dog announcement is a little gem. There's 11 acts in there I'd go to see with a few must see's in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭LowOdour

The Salty Dog looks great on paper. One thing is that I don't know how suitable its going to be for Sprints and Thumper. They could both potentially draw really big crowds, and add the footfall between main arena and Terminus/camping it could be really busy around SD. Im sure they will turn up in one of the tents over the weekend aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Saw sprints at EP last year about 40 turned up, they did clash with Fontaines, and have gathered more support since but think should be ok. Thumper may be different though as are popular festival act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Saw them on Williams Green at Glasters. Was fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,187 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Nice to see the Sprints get some more exposure, I remember they opened the Body & Soul main stage last year on the Friday and they made an impressive sound.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,020 ✭✭✭Stillill42

I really like Sprints, have seen them a couple of times and have tickets for the Button Factory in October. She has the potential to be an amazing front woman. They've been a bit uneven live the times I've seen them but they're getting there.

Won't see you at EP but hopefully see you in October

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

IMG_4329.jpeg

Hi Harry, “ECO camp” is shown in the second image and it looks to be the regular woodlands site. Hopefully you got a spot!

edit:My bad Harry, that must be last map for comparison

Post edited by Fatfrog on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭CoffeeImpala

I read it that the second image was last year's map. That's certainly what I took from Harry putting this at the end of their comment "It is shown on similar parts of previous planning documents."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭CoffeeImpala

Thumper closed out the Salty Dog last year and the crowd size was ok. About the only incident of note was the lead singer falling out of the inflatable boat he was crowd surfing in. I'd assume their likely increased popularity this will result in them being scheduled to clash with someone.

I'd gone off Sprints a bit last year. I saw them recently at Stendhal and I think they might be growing on me again. There's a surprising amount of space at the Salty Dog, I don't think they have a big enough following to fill it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

The salty dog line up brought me way more joy than I’d ever expect from an SD lineup🥹

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I'm in the same boat. Printed out the Clashfinder yesterday and did a bit of Spotify research. Saturday will be busy for me but, Friday and Sunday, not so much. Forecast not great either. There's some crazy scheduling in there too. James and Peter Hook clashing.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭the flananator

Looking like the 1975 will replace Capaldi so? I'd be happy with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭dav09

I'm hoping not, last time (only two festivals ago) they played I was cautiously optimistic they might have been a half decent pop act, but no I thought they were fairly bad live, definitely would not go to again. If they replace Capaldi with them it'll be another lazy booking making 1/2 of the headliners repeats from the last two festivals besides a few on the undercard too. And the other two The Killers and Niall Horan aren't exactly exciting or inspiring either.

I know many of us have said 'This is our last year' each year it seems, but I do this time genuinely see most of their old core fanbase leaving if there's not one decent headliner announced and a few decent undercard acts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

I'm not sure Thumper will pull that big a crowd. They're great, i love them, but they've never headlined anywhere bigger than Whelans and will probably play multiple sets over the weekend as usual. They were my first (M&B) and last act (SD) of last years EP. Great band, but i wish they'd drop the theatrics/gimmicks.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

On their Facebook page said only playing one gig at EP this year and not multiple like last year. Also said will debut new music which not great for a festival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,020 ✭✭✭Stillill42

That Thumper Body and Soul gig last year was great craic.