Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭brevity

I guess it will be a test of their conscience too? I mean if it's going to a good cause?

One of my procrastination scrolls through YouTube Shorts I saw a brief clip of Steve Irwin taking about money. He didn't care where the money came from just that he could use it to safe endangered animals and building suitable habitats.

I mean he might have had issue with "Oil money" considering he was an environmentalist...but who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Strange window so far, started off positively and now looks like all our experienced midfielders will be gone, who knows if they'll even be replaced. It does unfortunately highlight again how poor our transfer strategy was since winning the league. Thaigo was the only significant midfield signing and at best that was a limited success. We should have been adding a young midfielder ( early twenties- not teenagers) every season since winning the league, instead we ended up with the mess that was last season and now having a full clear out, when the price of midfielders has never been higher, plus a few other clubs have emerged ( Newcastle & Arsenal) with serious amounts of cash to throw around, who weren't a threat in the transfer market before. That's before City, United ( who will spend even more soon) and Chelsea are even factored in. We were in an incredibly strong position, but, blew it and are now trying to play catch up with far less resources.

Midfield next season is relying on Mac Allister, Sobo and whoever else we sign ( if we sign anyone that is) to settle quickly ( possible, but, they will likely need time to settle, possibly even a season) and Thiago to stay fit 🤣. The fee for Henderson is a joke when you consider the cost of a replacement. I suppose we could sign Arthur on loan again, we might even get 20 minutes out of him 🤣. Hopefully there's a proper plan in place as at the moment it looks a bit chaotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,047 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

What if he lines up sporting blue lipstick and rainbow coloured nails for his first game?

Give the lad a chance and see what he does before tarring him.

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

One thing i will say on the Hendo transfer, Klopp might have viewed it as Hendo owes him/us nothing, he's ran himself into the ground for us for 12 years, lets not make it difficult for Hendo to get a final big payday, we'll ask for a reduced transfer fee as a parting present.

Hendo will go down as one of the greatest Liverpool midfielders and captain in the clubs history, regardless of if he moves to saudi or Mars.

Thanks for a great 12 years Hendo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,983 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

He'll probably be locked up or given 20 lashes for breaking their morality code.

He won't even get away with Rainbow laces, if he tries anything like that, he'd be kicked out at best and at worst possibly face a prison sentence, he's not going to risk that, also I don't see why some seem to think he'll use his money for those good causes he supports, most wouldn't take his money now as they'd see it as blood money. It's a strange move for him whatever way you look at it, he's effectively ending his high level career and damaging his off field reputation, he's already independently wealthy and should be financially set for life. Is the money really that important to him, if he was even going to the US I'd kind of understand, but, money is the only attraction in Saudi Arabia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,192 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Ugh, it's just such a grim story looking at the big picture of it.

It's like a weird test case hypothetical question someone might throw out; "Say you're a super well respected famous person, who has a young family and crazy wealth - 40 million plus at least - how much would someone have to pay you to move for three years to a place where your wife and 2 young daughters are officially second class citizens, and this place also has national laws that entirely undermine all the causes that made you well respected in the first place, and it's their governmental Ministry For Sport that will be paying you?"

And I guess the answer is; "this much".

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,806 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Gerrard's part in it will not be forgotten, he's the person who fingered Henderson, no one else.

Paying Henderson a Million Dollars a week is easy when your bank account goes up 500 millions dollars a week every week. They simply can't spend it quick enough to matter, and never will be able to spend it, so why not target the Liverpool captain, and take him. It's Club v State , we can't compete with that, no one can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

• Administrators Posts: 55,811 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Who was the last Liverpool captain that rode the bench as often as Henderson did?

He has never been the norm in that department.

Honestly I'm not bothered by this transfer, once we sign a replacement. Same for Fabinho. 12million isn't amazing but it's better than nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

It doesnt matter if this is his plan, in doing it he legitimises the backwards Saudi way of life and opinions.

He is now complicit in sports washing. So disappointed in him. Shows how shallow much of this "support" is.

Think this might solve a problem for Klopp, and stop him having to continually bench his captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,983 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Screenshot_20230720-080632.png

Henderson has left the training camp. Very disappointed in this transfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,796 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

This is a wake up call to those still sleeping on where football is headed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I was hoping this was another 2010 china. But this has way more money behind it.

I still won’t watch a single minute of it though. To hell with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Disappointed in the news on Henderson - I thought it was going to me more 'last dance' with him this season instead of last big payday.

Unlike many in here, I'm holding off pressing the panic button until I see who the club has lined up as replacements.

If we now have Thiago, Jones, Szob, McAllister, Elliott and Bajcetic then one one more quality midfielder might do it - especially if we have the option to play TAA as part of a double-pivot.

So that's one quality midfielder and a quality defender that ideally can do a job as a CB and a RB.

£120m should do this easily.

Some of the posters in here need to man the fcuk up and get a hold of themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

If we pick up Ibrahim Sangare to fill the Fabinho gap the lads at TIFO would probably throw a party considering they've been singing his praises for so long now it's qualified into meme territory

Speaking of TIFO - Here's a good analysis of the Fabinho options

Yeah @facehugger99 I agree: some of the posters on here need to realise that being blindly positive and optimistic doesn’t change the cold hard reality on the pitch and in the financial world of the sport.

And it’s not like we don’t know what a championship calibre Liverpool side looks like. We had one as recently as 14 months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Yeah - ye see - football is a fun activity for me - I enjoy watching it and talking about it.

It's a nice break from the mundane.

I accepted years ago that winning CL and PL trophies are very rare events and that Liverpool will finish the vast majority of seasons without one or the other. That doesn't bother me so much - winning is brilliant and I've really enjoyed our recent successes but I've enjoyed the journey more than the destinations.

If people want to wallow in misery - that's fine. That's not what I'm here for though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,796 ✭✭✭McFly85

The Henderson transfer seems more disappointing as he has served as a leader of Liverpool and England with distinction, and he seemingly has had no morel dilemma to wrestle with, jumping at the chance to go there.

But it’s a good reminder that at the end of the day, footballers are brands, and like multinationals sticking a pride flag on their regional twitter accounts, all of his support to LGBTQ groups is ultimately empty as he’s just saying what he’s expected to say.

Regarding SA, you can see the plan clear as day, it’s a similar template to what they’ve done with golf but they won’t be able to strangle football in the same way. I expect they’ll continue to stockpile players while asking UEFA to come to the table so all these players can compete together “in the interest of football”. Maybe it will start by them being awarded a CL final but within 10 years I think they’ll have teams in it, with Saudi officials awarded positions in the executive. Sport in general is only going one depressing way.

That's a reasoned response.

Most people want to see a new team formed. Yes, it might be a few years of rebuilding,but so be it. Utd are rebuilding for a decade, Arsenal two decades.

Some people will always be miserable and negative, and not following suit is labeled as dillusional.

The vast majority of Liverpool fans know exactly where this team is at, and understand it's far from the finished article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭The Moist Buddha

a strange way to phrase it. especially with the Saudis view on that lifestyle

Football in 5/10 years time is going to look extremely different, the oil states like the Saudis and Qataris look like they are just going to buy everything up, we'll have Saudi teams in the CL with all the world's best players playing for them, they will also own or control clubs in the top European leagues, PSG, City, United and Newcastle are just the beginning, it'll be a case of join them or watch from the sidelines as the gap gets bigger and bigger. This is the biggest threat to football as we know it and there really isn't much anyone can do about it. A bit like the golf they just offered a wall of cash and the golf authorities caved in, FIFA & UEFA will no doubt follow suit. Football has been on this slippery slope for a while now, and we are reaching the point of no return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FernandoTorres

I definitely think the Saudi's are a threat due to the amount of money they have behind them but I fail to see how they'll be an attractive long-term proposition to the majority of players other than ones looking for a payday for a couple of years. They can't do anything about the fact that they live in the middle of a desert and have a culture that a lot of people would not be happy to raise their family in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭robwen

Newcastle to give them the leeway to continue to sign players this summer within FFP have to sell Saint Maximin, so there selling him to Al-Ahli one of the 4 clubs the PIF have taken control of, convenient

So the vast majority of fans are happy with last season’s outcome? Pull the other one

I know that is not true from reading this thread last year.

It was understandable in the context of a comedown to go again this year. It is not acceptable for seasons on end.

If it’s all “whatever” then so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭robwen

Reading up on the game yesterday Trent played Fabinho's no.6 position & Conor Bradley played the Trent inverted right back position in first half & second half Kostas became the inverted full back from left back, so it seems the 3 box 3 system is the plan going forward. Virgil was the captain I believe

The first Karlsruhe goal was a thing of beauty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

If we are doing a full rebuild we should be getting rid of Salah, VVD and Thiago this summer. It's a complete waste keeping them.