Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BBC Scandal - Huw Edwards formally suspended over payment of explicit images of teenager Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,162 ✭✭✭✭L1011

There is only one source for the £35k, which is that article.

The age has been shown to be inaccurate as both the person involved and the Met have confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,720 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I see a certain ex employee of the sun and now mouthpiece on GB news is unusually quiet on Twitter, I thought this story would be right up his alley....I have heard a lot of stories, some first first hand over the years about his behaviour, let's just say he makes Huw Edwards look like an angel.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

And it's possible that if the man did make 35k that it came from several others, not just Huw Edwards.

Those who sell pics and videos tend not be doing so exclusively to one buyer.

Would be my guess, if the 35k exists - 35k over 3 years is a tad under grand a month, which would be a relatively high income on Onlyfans or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,363 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The world has gone mad. Imagine paying for porn in 2023.

They should bring back National Service, see who pays for it then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

This is so blatantly an attempt by Newscorp to discredit the BBC, presumably hand-in-hand with the Conservatives to try and distract from Johnson's latest criminality.

The depressing thing is that so many are falling for it.

Suggestions by some UK journos that the "the Sun didn't pay the parents" thing is only true because a different part of Newscorp - TalkTV - did. For an interview that will never air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,685 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Was the first claim, the mother saying her son was on drugs from the money he received from him?

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

That their "child" (who is 20, and not a child) was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,142 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Is that true? I heard the sun insisted the mother didn't asknfor payment (from the Sun). I didn't hear about a payment from TalkTv until now. Any sources?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,494 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Yes. That was the allegation and the supposed reason the mother went to the BBC and then the Sun to get it to stop.

A figure of £35000 was mentioned however it is unclear if that all came from Edwards or if there were other 'patrons'.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,928 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Yep, would not have bothered wasting so much time online if I had to pay to watch porn. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,784 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

A lot of speculation about this gentleman on social media this evening - how he has deleted a lot of tweets and hasn't tweeted anything in a week, despite being a usually very prolific poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

We will agree to disagree then I suppose. I’m not sure how I can help you if you don’t think our understanding of the human mind has made scarce advances in 50 odd years.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,453 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

I think that's a fairly typical Mya Old-fashioned Locust answer unfortunately - sarkily dismissive with no attempt to bring any actual evidence to the discussion.

But if that's where you want to leave it, then fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,823 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

The experiment you’re referring to though was people pretending to have illnesses in order to test the validity of psychiatric diagnosis, it wasn’t designed to test access to treatment. The main reason why people aren’t able to access hospital care is simply because adequate resources aren’t there in the public system - they’re not sick enough to be admitted, basically:

https://amp.theguardian.com/society/2021/aug/29/strain-on-mental-health-care-leaves-8m-people-without-help-say-nhs-leaders

Doesn’t really apply in this particular case though as I’d doubt they’re reliant on public healthcare. Their current ill health doesn’t excuse their behaviour previous to their current condition whereby it’s easily understandable they would have had a breakdown following the possibility of being publicly identified and exposed. The public humiliation alone would be enough to send anyone into a tailspin, let alone someone who was already mentally unwell.

Being mentally unwell doesn’t explain or excuse their behaviour though. Their willingness to exploit other people for their own personal gain however, does.

He's experiencing mental distress because he got caught. Lots of us have had depression/anxiety but it doesn't justify sleazy behaviour or work as an excuse. Nor should it. I don't want the man burned at the stake but it bugs me to see him being viewed as a victim too.

His family are who I feel for the most.

Rupert Murdoch’s News UK has offered tens of thousands of pounds to the parents who made allegations about Huw Edwards, in return for a television interview, according to sources at the media company.

The Guardian understands that an interview with the couple has been recorded and is being edited for broadcast on TalkTV, the sister station of the Sun. Sources said the parents have been offered a significant sum for this.

The parents claimed their 20-year-old child was taken advantage of by Edwards, 61, who they alleged paid the young person £35,000 in return for explicit pictures. The police have concluded Edwards has no criminal case to answer but an internal BBC inquiry is investigating the allegations and separate claims against the News at Ten host.

From Yahoo News

Edited by lawyers... every word in that will be legal minefield.

Why is the BBC being held somewhat accountable though? I don't get when employers are blamed for their employees' private lives, unless they were actually covering it up, i.e. Savile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Because Murdoch hates the BBC, everyone is collateral damage.

I dunno how far reaching the BBC code of conduct goes. It seems to cover conduct outside the office too. So I dunno about them being blamed as such.

But they certainly have a vested reputational interest.

And now there are accusations of misconduct towards other BBC staff.

I think he was / is a highly up employee whom reports were put in about and not acted or investigated until The Sun expose was leaking

BBC is now resuming it's investigation

While nothing illegal or criminal for the police to prosecute happened, as the face of the main news and a highly paid presenter his behaviour was wrong imho, he is in the public eye he should know himself any out of marriage secret shenanigans would eventually come out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Durtynell

Just why are people right now ready to pillory such as he and him of the cube?

Just leave Phillip and his ilk alone as our world bring them to spotlight for reason, just like old Oscar had his day.

If those people try to have sex in private...

Just leave them to **** alone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Durtynell

Or then of course as what person do in private is private and people should jus feck off, mind own sex life...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Their current ill health doesn’t excuse their behaviour previous to their current condition whereby it’s easily understandable they would have had a breakdown following the possibility of being publicly identified and exposed. The public humiliation alone would be enough to send anyone into a tailspin, let alone someone who was already mentally unwell.

Maybe the two things are intertwined at a deeper level. Maybe the stress of suppressing his 'true' sexuality all these years was at the root of his mental health problems?

Yeah like I know Huw was the face of BBC news - the association isn't something to be waved away, it's of course of concern to them - but there are plenty who are using this as grounds for demonising the organisation, which doesn't even make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭seenitall

I find the psychological aspect of this the most fascinating of all. Edwards definitely acted against his own best interests, and repeatedly, insistently, intensely so. Why? Why put oneself at such a risk of falling from grace in this hideous, public manner, either from blackmail gone wrong or some other type of revelatory gotcha? The stakes are so high for a person in his very public, almost revered, position. He doesn’t strike me as stupid, he knew what the risks were and still he was determined to conduct this secret, seedy double life.

My thoughts on it would be, deep down he wanted this situation to transpire. A crisis is a purge of sorts, an opportunity for redemption or a reinvention. Nothing can now ever be the same again in his life. I get that. I mean, when you look at his appearance and the way he carries himself, he absolutely exudes that very old-fashioned British, stodgy, correct, somewhat pompous, stiff upper lip demeanour (just think of the Queen’s death announcement - that’s why he was so perfect for the occasion!) with just some occasional glimpses of another very British trait, gently self-deprecating humour. (I’ll say it again, it was somewhat of a shock to learn it was him!) Imagine being viewed in that context by millions of people while really being something else entirely, wanting something else, something that would make those millions of people despise you if they knew. That situation must exacerbate depression and a feeling of hopelessness about oneself. If at 50 or 60 years of age you don’t know what you’re at, then you’re in a dark place. I think this was his way out.

Sincerely,

your armchair psychologist