Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Youtubers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

was out with a few mates last weekend, bit of a country wide spread on us

one of the lads is up near farmer Phil

he was at the Longford show with the Longford macra and they all went to get a photo with Phil

phil wanted 50€ for the photo Longford macra took with him. Was charging everyone else 10€

what ever about charging others 10€ but macra is a voluntary organisation and it was to help promote a rural organisation. Asking for 50€ is a bit shite imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,569 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Everyone wondering now if they paid over the €50.

Youth of today..

And Marty Morrissey nowhere to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,261 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Turning into a mini tom Pemberton by the sounds of it, you'd of liked to think he was better than that but how and ever, playing the poor mouth when pulling the above won't wash for long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Seen Farmer Phil in Punchestown yesterday and anyone that asked for a photo got one no hassle and he'd a few minutes to chat to anyone while doing so. We bumped into him on various stands and he was happily getting snaps. Didn't hear of money being sought for anytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,551 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I've a feeling he'll be along soon to set the record straight on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,485 ✭✭✭tanko

€50 be nothing to Macra, they could well afford it considering all the “sponsorship” money they get from ABP every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭farmerphil135

Where does one start.

firstly yes Sammy from lucky days was over on the farm done a bit of filming while I was mowing had a bit of craic and made a dance tik tok. Never was money offered or mentioned for doing the collaboration, to me it was a bit of craic and exposure to her audience.

secondly and I’m absolutely livid about this is this shite I’m charging money for pictures. I’ve never ever in the 100s if not 1000s of pictures I’ve taken with people, company’s or organisations ever looked or asked for money not from the random person that stopped me in the car park in the shopping centre in templemore to the countless people I’ve met at shows.

im **** livid whatever about saying my farm is shite or machinery are **** or my cattle or **** or everything about me is shite this **** **** really gets under my skin

ive always viewed it as the least I can do for the support I receive on my socials and it also increases my exposure if shared online to people who may not of heard of me.

Longford macra never came over to me the day of the show but here’s the picture I took with south Longford macra the day of Longford ploughing match foc!!!

IMG_0086.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭White Clover

Fair play Phil. I never doubted you. A decent skin you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Odelay

Most of it is jealousy and or ignorance. Keyboard warrior stuff.

Silly rumours can start with someone saying “he should charge a tenner for the photos” and the next lad changes it to “he charges a tenner for the photos”.

Dont listen to them Phil, you plenty of genuinely interested viewers here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

Jesus Phil I never knew we had a shopping centre in templemore😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

To hell with the begrudgers and the pub talk.good luck to you on your new development with the shop/shed.nice to see ye weren’t always Massey either with the landini’s in the last couple of videos

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

You’re in a different YouTube league to me but sounds like we have some of the same viewers if those insulting comments are anything to go by 😂

I removed 2 comments from the same guy on my last video. First time I ever felt the need to do that but this guy has been adding snide comments for months now, criticising the “mess of a yard”, too many nettles, neglected land, all that type of stuff.

Having said that, I don’t mind the odd smart comment and my favourite insult so far has been, “This is unwatchable muck. Unsubscribed.”

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,742 ✭✭✭endainoz

Fair play Phil, unfortunately boards is full of begrudging pricks. They have nothing else better to be at. Keep up the good work, how did you find the cyclone? I have one myself for a few years, find it a serious job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭straight

Looks like your "mates" are making a fool of you. Oops 🤫😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭orm0nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭I says

Looks like it

Haha yeah lad a bunch of bum buddies get together to bitch about a lad on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,742 ✭✭✭endainoz

I only said what I was told, wasn’t the root of it

but yes I am sorry for spreading misinformation

I don’t see any problem with the likes of the lucky day draws or evenflow, hell of a better chance winning something with them then the national lottery which is a disgrace. When we’ll see the hatchet job rte will do about farmers on Monday night we could do with our farming YouTubers having more exposure to the wider population. Put them on the telly for half an hour instead that crap ear to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Wonder how much more lies and were told. Some buddy telling you sh1t like that especially as he was from near Farmer Phil. Must have serious issues with his own life.

Was disappointed when I saw your post as I knew it was untrue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Tileman

Well maybe you should say back to your group of friends that you now have heard it first hand that it was bullshit and they will know the next time they bring the subject up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Do you remember years ago, maybe the 90’s, ettg was a bit more like some of the YouTubers now, as in it showed a bit on the ins and outs of everyday working farms. It went down the road of countyfile in the uk since.

but you made a good point, the more exposures these farming YouTubers get to the general public the better. Wouldn’t it be great if ettg had a selection of 3-4 farmers and did a ten min segment on one of them every week, rotating them every week. Might be a bit late in the day for rte to do that though!

im more of a live let live kinda guy, but it’s great to see rte getting the grilling at the moment. See they published the figures for the top 100 and the salary one hundred on the list was over 100k. Even that wouldn’t annoy me too much if they made good content instead of re runs of the usuals and other crap. It was some gravy train while it lasted and it hand some amount of passengers!

finally, I’m glad to came on to defend yourself @farmerphil135 . I don’t think many believed it but it’s good to nip it in the bud. I keep saying to friends how I admire how much your place has progressed since I started watching you first, after which you said you had a terrible couple of years.

keep up the good work and onwards and upwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭IFarmWeFarm7615

Like most i wouldn’t of believed that for a second.

Your viewers are everything and taking a minute to say hello or stop for a photo is the least that can be done. A privilege to get asked…

I can fully understand Phil’s frustration as it’s the main downfall of been on social media, being thick skinned helps but the reality is these things generally stay with you when the camera is off. It greatly affect your life from day to day. It’s why lots of people in this game take long breaks from it to get their mines sorted.

Fortunately while theirs maybe that 1% just waiting for you to put a foot wrong , theirs that 99% that are dead on and follow you just to see what your at and if they can perhaps copy an idea, give you advice or in turn not make the same mistakes!

Hope that makes some sorta sense

”I sat at the back of class in English”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Absolute begrudgers, find it hard to believe someone would believe it enough to carry it here, hopefully they'll also correct the ones they passed it on to in the local pubs as well

As the old saying goes hear a lie tell a lie. Hopefully tho you’ll tell your mate he’s a bollocks and he tells whoever told him their a bollocks and eventually the real bollocks is told their a bollocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭Suckler

You wont be allowed say that on Ear to the Ground. Poor Darragh will get flustered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭fulldnod

Ear to the ground muck is only environmental propaganda mechanism for rte/ government