Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,528 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

He was a Crossmaglen player, if you are going to issue him a death threat then you should make sure that your Internet account really is anonymous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Interesting after the game Vinnie Corey said they didn't practice penalties he simply chose the five fellas he trusted the most to take them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Swaine

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Anyone with a couple of spare juvenile tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭TsuDhoNimh

No.

There's a draw for sure tomorrow after the Mayo/Dublin game. The only scenario that avoided the draw was Tyrone & Derry both winning, forcing the winners of Armagh/Monaghan and Dublin/Mayo to face each other (as both Tyrone and Derry had already played against whichever of Armagh and Monaghan made it through). That didn't pan out with Kerry's win so we'll have a draw for sure once the last two teams are known from Cork/Derry and Mayo/Dublin.

If Cork & Mayo win: Repeat pairings can't be avoided for Cork/Kerry/Mayo so it's a fully open draw.

If Cork & Dublin win: Kerry/Cork go one side of the draw (to avoid the repeat) drawn against one of Dublin/Monaghan on the other side.

If Derry & Mayo win: Kerry/Mayo go on one side of the draw (to avoid repeat) drawn against one of Derry/Monaghan (to avoid repeat) on the other side.

If Derry & Dublin win: Dublin/Kerry go on one side of the draw drawn against one of Derry/Monaghan (to avoid repeat) on the other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,385 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Did you ever hear the expression you make your own luck. McGeeney is not unlucky neither was Peter Keane

Place kicking was average. Goalies were tired. Demand on a Gas Goalie now is totally different to a soccer goalie. He up and down the pitch and needs flexibility training as well. Place kicking was solid but not spectacular.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Maybe free taking or 45s. Or just throw the ball in one last time and next score wins. Idk penalties is very soccer imo, doesn't sit right. The whinging about fouls and playing for frees and the standard of refereeing is already soccer enough imo. Don't need penalties on top of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,367 ✭✭✭doc_17

No amateur player should be put in a position where he missed two out of his team’s nine penalties. It’s just moronic that they make the same 5 go again.

McGeeney isn’t that nice. Armagh players do a lot of diving these days. Also, late hits, dropping on players on the ground with their knees….McGeeney himself was a fine player but every time he got beat a man he’d foul him. He had a brilliant set of forwards there and what does he do? Play so defensively that he only scores 14 points in almost 100 mins of football. He’s holding them back. Keep him there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭elefant

Very predicable easy win for Kerry. A lot of pundits totally lost the run of themselves during the week building this up as a close game.

Tyrone should have been eliminated two weeks ago by a team that couldn't get out of division 3 in the league. It was talked about like Tyrone were imbued with some sort of inherent Kerry kryptonite, when they're just an average team in bad form now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I think it should go to free kicks if penalties are level.

3 players selected from each side.

Start on the 20 where the lines meet with the player picking left or right, then the top of the D then the 45. Players allowed to pick their own spot on the 45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I hope not.

Kerry would win that comfortably.

I want Kerry vs the winners of Mayo/Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,235 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Just shows in that case a lot of the pundits might as well be bar stool bluffers. With that type of chat you have to wonder if they watch league and championship attentively at all?

Do they just throw out names based on team performance from decades ago?

I didn’t expect such a walloping for Tyrone. Thought 6/7. But that Tyrone chat above seemed based on nothing. They did not do basic hard work closing down/structure etc. But Kerry well did that and won well because of it.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Yep he has not improved any team he was with, including Kildare. Never pushing on a level just stagnates. Getting them fit is the height of it.

The only reason McGeeney is there IMO.Because of the myth that built up around his playing career. A bang average manager at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭Seadin

Kerry will have a comfortable win if that was the case. I think Dublin might be the only team left to match Kerry and that might not matter after today if Mayo do a Mayo on it and beat a heavy hitter in the QF/SF stage of the championship.

Today’s games I think Derry will be too streetwise for Cork all hinges on that Derry midfield. Derry’s structure will certainly keep it tight. But Cork have a habit of loading their bench. It should be an interesting last half hour.

I would have Mayo as favourites against Dublin. The number of Dublin danger men is diminishing. And these days Dublin play a lot of one dimensional stuff not much movement. Not much on the bench either.

Dublin’s main hope is that Mayo lose it between the ears. Because on paper Mayo have a much better vibrant overall team. Plus I don’t think Dublin have it in them to smoother a game- a tactic which Mayo hate.

The two B’s in the Dublin forward line Bugler/Basquel have been doing well. From a Dublin perspective. I hope they keep the levels up today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

Ya should stick a bet on. Cos the bookies have the complete opposite. To say Mayo have a better team on paper is pretty funny actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,854 ✭✭✭Musicrules

Dublin to win easily today. They strolled through to this stage and have had their training scheduled to peak for July. All their top players back, full house at home, preferable referee, I can see them winning by 8-10 points.

I wad one of those who thought it would be close. Very wrong.

I guess I have over valued the 2021 win which now starts to look more like a bit of a fluke than what it looked like at the time which was the start of a a period of a very good top Tyrone side. A Kerry friend of mine at the time was lamenting that just as Dublin had fallen off a bit, Tyrone had exploded on to the scene.

As an aside, just like the Tyrone team itself, has a footballer of the year ever lost form to the extent of McGeary. Not a starter all year (or most) and taken off on 45 yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭MacDanger

The two B’s in the Dublin forward line Bugler/Basquel have been doing well

Big day for those two - they've flattered to deceive for a couple of years now but they've been much better in the last few games; today will tell whether they're ready to graduate into the shoes of the 2010s team or maybe they are just not at that level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Mayo will lose.

Its just entirely clear that it will be today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Re the tie breaker and penalties...

For a start, lads need to get over the 'too much like soccer' - if an idea suits our gsmes and improves it then we should steal it from wherever.

That said, penalties are not a core skill of gealic. A better way IMHO would to have a similar 5 v 5 format, but instead of a penalty from the ground the player starts his run inside the D and has to shoot outside the 20 meter line from the hands, on the run as he would in a 1 v 1 on the goalie in the game. It would mirror game play better than the penalty shoot out.

Hard to disagree with this. If Mayo are to have any chance, they’ll need a very fast start.

Derry and Dublin for me too. Possibly 2 fairly comfortable wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Shows the import one man can have to a side - Conor McKenna has to have been the singular most important player of his generation, based on his return in 2020 and 2021. Lifted standards within that Tyrone panel and a hugely underrated player in the media who made numerous big plays during their AI run. When he went back to Aus, they have returned to the pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Nice deflection from what I said because you know it's true. The only odd thing is dubs like you pretending Dublin are underdogs in most matches these days or that it could be close in matches you're likely to win by 10/20 points. Very odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭Seadin

Jesus Tomas leave it go with the along Covid thing and Tyrone. They were better than ye in 2021 and beat ye. Kerry beat Tyrone in convincing fashion yesterday enjoy the win Tomas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

I don't know any Dubs like him. Altho I don't think Dublin are gonna win by between 10 and 20 points. Saying the mayo team is better on paper is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

No hawkeye …..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

I really don't understand this narrative that I've seen so often this week, that Armagh are such a better team than Monaghan that they should have been seeing them off - and the analysis after is about what Armagh should have done to win. What have Armagh actually achieved in order to gain this faith from people?

Monaghan just always seem to be looked down on by people for some strange reason. I doubt they'll be winning the AI but they are a very well drilled outfit, with plenty of top level experience, and have plenty of individual quality throughout their team. They deserve alot more respect than what they get, and not just the patronising "punching above their weight" shite that is always condescendingly thrown at them.