Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Merging of PGA Tour, DP World Tour and LIV!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭finglashoop

I think LIV have got exactly what they wanted.

They wanted to get into golf and couldn't. Set up there own- not very successful but still hassle enough to make the PGA sit down and negotiate.

Money is endless to them. They could always outlast the PGA.

Pga players cant be happy with the lads in charge. All morality and human rights at the start.

Now we see money talks louder than any morals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

My definition of prime is playing the best golf of your career. If Rory hadn't won a glut of majors in quick succession then I'd agree that now is his prime. But he did , so he's quite simply not in his prime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

Have to say, I'm very disappointed with Padraig's contribution here. Putting his own country on a par with Saudi Arabia?? Objections to Saudi are about more than historical views on women's place in society, and cultural norms (which is a fair point, and we have things to be ashamed of). But... luring a journalist, one of their own citizens, into an embassy to murder him and dismember his body, ongoing use of the death penalty and imprisonment to dissuade dissent, and the human wreckage visited on Yemen? The current Saudi regime is reprehensible, and the sportswashing is about distracting from that.

And I'm quire sure that we (Ireland) DO NOT export military technology to Saudi Arabia. That's actually quite a dangerous statement to put out there on twitter and needs to be corrected.

Have always thought highly of Padraig, but on this one he needs to think more deeply about what he is saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Jesus, the comments on Rory are hilarious.

He should retire? Give your head a wobble. He's still got a long way to go in his career, why should he give up on a lifetime's work and special talent? Because the PGA Tour sold him out? If he took that stance, I'd admire him but in a million years I wouldn't expect him to do it. And there isn't a person posting on this board who would give it serious consideration if they were in his position.

As long as he doesn't row back on the stance he took over the last couple of years, I think he comes out of this with a lot of credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Have you ever considered the level of the average professional golfer to where it was at 10 years ago. The standard is much higher today

Jon Rahm, Scottie Scheffler, Justin Thomas, Jordan Spieth and Collin Morikawa are all top class elite level golfers. I don't think there's ever been that many elite golfers at one time before. It's much more difficult to win a major these days. If Rory continues with the form he's shown in majors he's going to win more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭daithi7

That's what I think too. He's been used & shafted, so fine, that's the way the PGA want to do their business.

He's better now giving up his role and handing over the player's representative responsibilities to someone else, and just concentrating on his golf.

He does not want to represent those who threw him under a bus , and so he shouldn't.

If he continues to play well he'll be rewarded with better sponsors, higher prize money and credibility.

That last one still counts for something!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,589 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

McIlroy will play and so will all the others. They’ll kick up a stink and get thrown a couple of mil and everyone will get back to work. And vast majority of golf fans will do what they’ve always done. Sportswashing works because there is no actual opposition to this stuff when the bag of money hits the middle of the table.

We’ll get a counter narrative around how PGA are actually the winning party and in control, etc and everyone will get on with it.

McIlroy arguably misjudged the situation last year and allowed himself to be hung out to dry a little bit, but he hasn’t done anything wrong refusing to play for LIV; and he won’t be doing anything wrong now by playing on a combined tour when there is nowhere else for him to practice his profession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭newport2

Interesting interview with Geoff Ogilvy here after players meeting. He said this deal definitely had a feel of not being ready for release and thinks it was about to be leaked, hence the sudden announcement. He said if they were ready, they would have had a lot of softening perks for players who remained loyal to the PGA Tour, but Jay came in and had no answers to a lot of things. Not prepared at all. The discussions only started 7 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

What can McIlroy do up against the saudis

Made his point and they came back and gobbled up golf

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Exactly.

His only other option is to walk away from the game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭newport2

I wonder is it more than a couple of million though? LIV spent billions so far on a non-profit tour and I think their end game was to get ownership of a substantial chunk of golf, which this deal does. Maybe the likes of McIlroy, Rahm will get close to their proposed LIV sums thrown their way. An extra 2 billion to PIF is peanuts, especially when the alternative is to just run the LIV tour indefinitely. If they do that, the players that remained loyal to the tour will be kept happy and the Saudis achieve their end goal. Pure speculation, but I think something substantial will need to happen to keep the top PGA tour players happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭Tandey

Mcllroy has spoken.

I like how he clearly said that looking at it from a professional point of view he can see how it will be good for the game of golf.

He said it's got nothing to do with liv, he assumes liv keeps going but it's not part of this deal. He said he has always and still does hate liv and everything about it. it's the PIF and not liv that's in this deal.He explained how the choice to have the PIF and all their money as an enemy or supporter was where this decision came from. He said the PGA tour control where the money goes.

He said that players coming back has to be thrashed out. He said that they can't come back in without penalties, I felt from what he was saying that he doesn't want them getting back in.

He was asked if he felt that players who stayed loyal to the PGA tour should be compensated, he said he'd love it but then asked how it could be done.

He said he trusts Jay Monahan to do what's best for the tour.

He was asked about the fans and he said he understands their anger.

He was asked about the Department of Justice and he said that was well above his pay grade and that it would be stupid of him who has no clue about what goes on there to say anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭blingrhino

Sounds like a man who has been offered serious cash

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,832 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

exactly, Armaco generated profits of $161bn last year and that company is owned by the Goverment and unlike other companies pays huge cash dividends to it's owners, the amount of cash at their disposal is unfathomable

I think he did well in the press conference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭Tandey

Found it quite funny he used that phrase "that's well above his pay grade" considering he earns miles more than all of the department of justice staff together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

He was told about it a couple of hours before the announcement. That was when the negotiations with him probably started.

He could have absolutely buried the whole thing and buried Monahan but said it was "good for golf".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Started his own tour. 54 holes, shotgun starts 😄

Seriously though, Rory and Tiger are already starting this stadium golf thing (if it's still happening). Obviously they have business people working on it to get it up and running. If him and Tiger put their names to it then it carries weight. Then bring the disaffected guys with them. PGA/PIF/LIV then just becomes LIV with a few others (who were probably going to LIV anyway).

But, no. It's "Good for Golf".

Ask Rory when his prime was. I'm sure he'd say when he was winning majors. Rory imo won't win more , he doesnt have it between the ears anymore unfortunately its off topic anyway I thought his interview was pathetic tbh. Hands tied and probably paid off but still. Now in fairness I've only read the text , I'll have to watch later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Break80

Just saw his interview.

Very polished performance. Ultimate professional. I'd have thrown Jay under a bus for sure.

I don't really get why he has to get behind it after the 2 years of rejecting their money tbh , lap dog really. He is absolutely loaded , and can still play without saying oh it'll be good for golf. Id have definitely thrown Jay under the bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭mikefromcork

Are you still going on about this? Jesus man let it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭zocklie

I think he's glad the pga tour is staying, you can tell behind the scene's him ( and others) are furious, but fair play to him for not coming out and just blasting everyone.

Seems to be taking the "if you can't beat them, join them" kinda vibe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Mcilroy should have taken the stance of I'm sticking with tradition and been done with it.

He brought morals into it talking $hite about where the money comes from etc.

All the while playing on DP tour, Middle Eastern sponsors etc.

Of course now he's taking said money. Total hypocrite but we already knew that.

He throws outopinions like confetti and flips on a six pence.

But he's a multimillionaire so I doubt he gives 2 fooks what us plebs think of him!

Well you are coming across as a Rory hater. Any player who has been too 5 in three of the last five majors and his other two awful performances were top 10 would be fancied by most to be very close to winning one.

The fact that you ignore the Fed Ex cup wins as not important shows how ridiculous your argument is.

You can waffle on if you want but I won't be responding anymore. It's too stupid to continue discussing it.

How on earth can you say he's in his prime , when he won multiple majors previously a long time ago? You are ridiculous, agreed not to engage further. Fed ex cup , would ya cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Is there any doubt that McIlroy has received compensation to keep him onside?