Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

As has been pointed out several times we negotiated an opt out clause in treaties we passed, just never choose to exercise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Id rather a snake oil salesmen who actually at least pretends to give a **** about his constituents over someone like O Gorman, Joe OBrien etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

In fairness I heard Mattie say this stuff last year when this all kicked off.

He said it on Claire Byrne then I never heard him on the radio again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,963 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I am not saying any of the government TDs are doing a good job but McGrath only cares about one thing - himself. He'd also have us back in the 1950s if he got half a chance. Complete gombeen, voted in by dimwits. Our political system is bad enough without having the likes of him in the Dail.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,939 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

That is something we don't actually need a constitutional amendment for (as by definition it is part of the treaty that we have already passed by a previous vote).

I guess the issue is that we don't use referenda for such non-constitutional matters. Instead we elect a government every 5 years (usually less) who get to do basically whatever they want within the frame work of the constitution as long as a majority of the Dail agree. It sounds kinda dystopian when phrased that way, but it's effectively how all democracies work. Ultimately it's up to people to vote in a different government if they want different policies.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Ireland duty to take refugees and asylum seekers comes from the International Protection Act, 2005.

The EU don't force us to take them.

Honestly I don't disagree with you either, but it's good at least one of them is discussing it regardless of motives.

If politics paid better, you'd think the door was open for an articulate centre right party, but tbh I wouldn't wish being a politician on anyone. I think we are paying for this with many politicians not having real world experience beyond an NGO, University etc.

I dispair at the state of our options at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

Yes , how dare the plain people of Ireland be consulted or even represented like deputy McGrath has done here

media , NGO sector and progressives in general, working tirelessly to kill democracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,759 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Well his ploy worked . People still talking about Mattie!

He is a complete sheister. 😂Only makes loud noises and shouts whenever he hasn't had a bit of news cover for a while..

People in Tipp vote for him because he goes to every funeral and sympathises.

In fairness he represents people in the locality well for everyday stuff even if we find him annoying on larger issues.

Thats how he gets reelected, everytime.

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,963 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

That's just a waffle post with a pinch of anger.

Simple Q, what aspect of the constitution does Mattie want changed?

Surely we have enough opinion pollsters to tell the government what the "plain people" think.

A love-in for Mattie McGrath, we really are a rudderless bunch 😂

Healy Rae for Taoiseach next I suppose...

You are right. We have very few options because a dim electorate voted in the power swap parties year in year out. Their civil war politics was a complete charade and it took us decades to realise it. Their main objectives were corruption and cronyism. Our political system is a joke as a result. Thankfully people can see through it now but I wish FF and FG would simply merge - they are 2 sides of the same coin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,913 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I do dislike employers with bad rep. In my case the local GPs and cafe have a good rep though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭thoker

It's all about cheap labour, Irish employers don't want to pay reasonable wages you need to pay the rents being demanded. No government check for illegally hired workers or people fraudently using their friends papers. Students working over the 20 hours per week etc.,. Thats why their coming, no deportation free hotel and risk free, nothing to loose. Just keep appealling stalling to gain time for the next amnesty from Ms McEntee. I won't vote for the Irish Freedom party as the too extreme but FF FG offering nothing to stem this invasion of chancers from such deserving countries as Georgia, Albania, USA, Brazil and South Africa. The Munster rugby team went to South Africa and we get 500+ asylum seekers from there making various claims. We have become a soft touch for every sob story and wonder why we get so many asylum requests. How many is too much?

Wow, and here was me believing the posters that said all refugees and asylum seekers wanted to do was live on welfare and drain the country dry.......

Seems to be confusion into which way the foreigners are fcuking us over.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

you’re earlier post dripped with contempt and arrogance , as if people’s concerns should be rightfully swatted away

Whatever about FG and FF, bar the Greens, I see very little difference between any of them tbh

If people have concerns, then they need public representatives that actually understand how the country works. A TD basically telling the public they can have referendums when they cannot, is either a gombeen or trying to fool the People.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭sonar44

Maybe it's the asylum system that's doing that.

That's what the reasonable people on this thread are talking about despite the hyperbole.

It's just a discussion. Something more important is bound to come along.

Out of curiosity, what is the other side of this story?

Ukrainians are here with our permission after all and we should expect some to integrate well depending on qualifications and language and others not so much. It's always going to be a mixed bag if the sole criteria is nationality. Either way - the purpose of their stay is identical - to flee Ukraine and have temporary shelter provided, so what, in your opinion, is essentially the difference between the two and why should it be emphasised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭creeper1

I agree with the about post except the idea that the Ukrainians are going to be "temporary". It's already been acknowledged that many will be staying permanently after the war is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,208 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

They should listen to the people which everyday is growing against the numbers in, policy, procedures etc.,

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

Agreed, however, that’s not a requirement of temporary protection nor was it mentioned at the outset when we opened the door.

I am all for people power and organised peaceful protests outside the Dail (not organised/led by loonies though) but if 'the people' want Mattie McGrath as their mouthpiece, they are in big big trouble. That is playing right into the hands of the FFGG overlords.

I can understand why people are protesting and angry, the government aren't listening, the violent protests are not needed though, any mouthpiece imo the more the better is a good thing even if it is Mattie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,457 ✭✭✭enricoh

Don't know much about him, not near my constituency. Don't hear much loud noise n shouting from him in this interview strangely enough!

https://youtu.be/F9EM_ef0wtU

Sorry if I offended, the war torn Kyiv and it's people has my sympathy and I've no issue with Ireland accepting Ukrainians

Whilst I accept the thrust of your points, I think this may miss the point in some ways.

After all, does it really matter if we have an increase of 50,000 unemployed or 50,000 nurses?

It's still 50,000 people looking for using and competing for housing, infrastructure and services that were already vanishing from view, prior to their arrival.

I'm just not convinced that bigging up a select few is going to go down well with all and sundry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

The heavy gardai presence is probably to keep the far right in check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭_Puma_

There was another protest today at the main junction . It wasn't far right and the Gardai I saw were questioning 2 chaps at the nearby bus stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet