Phillip Schofield steps down from ITV after affair with "much younger male"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,488 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

By the sounds of it they are working on it.

Sure who cares if it's two woman who host it? Two men have hosted it before e.g. Rylan and his then husband.

Post edited by gmisk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,321 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I only tuned in this morning to watch the statement - I’ve never actually watched the show before but my god, is it always this brain dead? How anyone could get over 1/2 a million a year presenting this mindless rubbish is beyond me- god love the people who have nothing better in their lives that they depend on this show for “enjoyment” - it’s the sort of torture that the court of Human Rights should outlaw 🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,631 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Haven't watched This Morning since I was home sick from school 30+ years ago and Richard and Judy presented with that other massive nonce Fred Talbot jumping around on his floating weather map, like a bargain basement Rolf Harris.

In fact, This Morning seem to have something of a track record with groomers and nonces.

But anyway, I watched it today from 10am and my first impression was, wow this is a load of flannel and who is this Josie person and have they hired a rubbish presenter to make Holly look better?

The speech itself was an exercise in deflection and guff, but unfortunately for Holls Bolls, I don't think the scrutiny is over for her, both official and unofficial.

But what’s to “scrutinise” about Holly? No one can actually answer me that question clearly- what exactly has Holly done wrong here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Deep breath....Firstly are you OK, I hope so.

Jaysus they really went all out with the whole nearly virginal innocent princess gimmick and look for Holly!

Hitting all the main PR points and key words in her straight from the heart talk to the nation.

The only people Holly and ITV care about are the ad sponsors of the show who spend tens of millions if not hundreds of millions each year on that show and they can see that money leaving and they are panicking big time about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

He didnt even have the guts to come out himself. He got his younger, female co star to do it for him. She must have felt quite a burden that day to read out a statement confirming his sexuality, im sure that didnt help their relationship.

Her statement earlier was really poor and polished to a tee by her pr team. It was all about healing and moving forward, but i cant see how she can stay on the show now given so many people have come out to share their experiences on how they were bullied and harassed by both producers and Schofield. Where was she when all this was going on?

Why is she responsible for the behaviour of others tell me?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 22,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

She looks like she's trying not to laugh, is that how she is normally?

"Poor me, bad Phil but, but his mental health, thanks for liking me" and staged hug and "all we can do now is be the family we are" from whoever the co-presenter is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

A lot of people are just bizarre aren't they? They WANT Phil to be a nonce - longing for it, they want Holly to have known about it so that they can deem her complicit, there's such an appetite for blame and witch-hunting. But never mind actual facts. It's ugly and depressing, and of course amplified to the nth degree by social media.

All we know is that Philip had an intimate relationship with an 18-year-old - we absolutely do not know whether he groomed him as a minor, and we don't know what Holly knows or doesn't know, or what sh1t-stirring Eamonn (who was all lovey dovey to Philip when he came out) is up to.

It was unprofessional, and I don't like how Phil was married to a woman and ridin' men on the side, but he's a human who fkd up, shocker, there comes a time to let it slide ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭nachouser

She needs to be scrutinised to find out exactly what she knew about what was going on during the period when Phil was busy not committing any crimes. Or something...

She knew and went along with the lies, cover up etc., she should be off the show as she is tarnished as always associated with Phil, a double act

Her fakeness is really coming out more and her statement was pure bs

The ITV "investigation" must have just been ask Phil and Matthew are ye together with them answering no so over despite Phil getting him on the show and pictured out with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,488 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I am pretty sure he said a number of times he was 20/21 before they were together.

And Phil’s relationship with this chap has what exactly to do with Holly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Her weakness of character is evident by turning a blind eye to bullying and harassment. She is only intetested in her own reputation and image. To hell with the victims of that toxic environment. If shes not part of the solution, shes part of the problem.

And also the chap was 20 not 18 which makes your point even clearer

One twitter comment I saw was

She’s so full of **** you could harvest her for silage

😆

So you’ve swallowed the”toxic environment” story- so be it but again what exactly, and I mean exactly, did Holly do WRONG? So assuming there was a toxic environment but of no fault of Holly, what did Holly do wrong??😀😀😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,003 ✭✭✭BrianD3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,399 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

He comes across as an odious and vainglorious individual. I suspect he has about as much contrition as a domestic cat caught with a dead bird. That BBC interview came across as a pr exercise where by he is still trying to control the narrative by portraying events as something of a witch hunt and smacking of homophobia against him. It's nothing of the sort in my view. If it was an older man or woman in a powerful position involved with a young teenager it would be just as inappropriate. Also he only disowned his brother when he was convicted, another pr exercise. I would not believe anything he says .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,977 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Jaysus, the coverage and fake outrage is at nauseating levels now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,823 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There's no information in the public domain indicating that.

Just that they first met when MMG was underage, and that meeting was connected to a theater group.

This article pulls together information from social media and so on into a timeline.

https://limegoss.com/phillip-schofield-runner/

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,977 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Plenty desperately hoping he was. But sadly, no!!!

It should be noted that Hollys statement today was not necessarily written by her or what she might have wanted to say- it went through lawyers editors producers etc - (Sky News discussion)

The editor of the show is getting some flack right now and rightfully so IMO

But, there’s an enquiry going on right now into “toxicity” in ITV- it’s amazing people here have already decided this programme had a “toxic environment” considering the enquiry has only just about started its work 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,823 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Well, either there was a toxic culture or a lot of 'toxic' people they had to get shot of, because otherwise how can all the claims of toxic culture from ex-employees Holmes, Dr Ranj Singh be reconciled...

In light of the below, I would not be giving ITV the benefit of the doubt at this point:

https://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/article/i-quit-my-job-at-itvs-this-morning-over-sexism

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,186 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

It was a deflection statement, it was '' me me me'' distancing herself, as if she was shocked by it all, when in fact she knew all along.

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,186 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

For the people in power at ITV, to banish him so publicly, for his closest friends to be shocked and disgusted to the point they no longer want anything to do with him, suggest to me this is not simply a case of a gay man hooking up with another gay man, as if it was then Holly and everyone else would be indeed acting homophobic, and should be called out on it, but I fear the truth is they know far more than is in the public domain, and it's this that has shocked and disgusted them to the point they need to distance themselves from Phillip.