Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭john9876

Why was it a penalty if outside the square?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,243 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Decent game nice and open none that shite like last weekend two teams playing football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,385 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

He was pulled down in what was considered a goal scoring chance

Slava Ukrainii

Dublin are going to win this handy. Kildare not showing up again.

Slava Ukrainii

It's a good game Kildare will run it as much as possible but ultimately there not very smart team. If Dublin keep going the way they started should win well.

It's a nice open game though love to see it.

Kildare in this second half some the worst kicking I've seen. Very handy chances as well. Such a unpredictable team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

They are very predictable in that they will kick those terrible terrible wides

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,917 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Kildare went by my calculations… 25 minutes in that second half without a score…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,235 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Kildare proving they can lose in Newbridge or anywhere! I don't know what to make of that team the raw matieral is there, they have had the underage success etc. But the seniors?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

They have the skills, athletism physicality etc. They dominated midfield from what I saw if it but there choice of options is crazy

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Good effort by Cork and big improvement on their last two championship games against Kerry. The debatable penalty the key score in the Kerry. The kingdom lacking the organisation and hunger of last year.

Westmeath was really giving a good account of themselves and were level after 53 minutes 0-11 each, with the man advantage Galway closed it out 0-20 to 0-12

Dublin with a straight forward win unlike the Leinster championship and Div 2 games v Kildare this year. With Sligo to play they'll probably top the group on scoring difference.

In the Tailteann cup comfortable win for Cavan, Laois had to earn a late late draw against Laois and Meath beat Down narrowly in 1991 All Ireland re-match. Tipp fell over the line against Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭threeball

Rian O'Neill off with another red. He's a fine footballer but he's a bit of a thug. He's forever leaving something on his opponents after the ball is gone. Loves the sly dig or the clothesline. McGeeney isn't man enough to hold him to account for constantly costing the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭Panrich

McGeeney is a chancer that should have been found out years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Half time Tyrone 0-8 Armagh 0-4.  Really foolish by Rian O'Neil, hard to see any where back for Armagh in this game now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Poor half from Armagh. Tyrone playing well and dominant even before red card.

Going to be hard for Armagh to grmet back into it with 14, but they have seemed short on ideas all game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Kildare were abysmal today, Dublin a shadow of their former selves cruise to a win. But it was the music and dressing rooms that were the difference!!!! Dear lord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Jock_Ewing

Armagh do ye realise you're 4 points down with 14 men. Have a cut. I suppose they have one game won and sure to progress. Though Westmeath might still surprise Tyrone.

The football championship is strange. Teams move up a gear in provincial semis and finals.

Then in groups where 3/4 get out it goes back into something probably less competitive than the league! Meanwhile hurling has been at full tilt for 6 weeks. The GAA brains trust have to come up with something better than this.

5pts on 51min in perfect conditions. Not good enough Armagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

As an ordinary punter, I find it a bit baffling. Teams get beaten, then play again, get bet and still seem to be in the competition somehow or other. Pointless to try and make any sense of it until you get to the semis.

There's a real pack of teams who could win the AI this year. If Mayo could get themselves to semi final stage..

I think Dublin would be my bet. Need to get some more out of their players but there's one last kick in that team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭shockframe

Tomas o se has gotten harder and harder to listen to with his constant moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭shockframe

It's been mediocre given the conditions but some of tyrones scoring has been very impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭McBain11

Jaysus, that was puke football times infinity in that second half of Tyrone Armagh. That last 10 mins of the match was like acid in the eyes.

Amazing all these years on that there hasn't been 2 rules brought into football, once you pass halfway you can't go back into your own half in possession of the ball (the amount of times Tyrone were on the Armagh 40 and kicked the ball back another 40/50 yards into their own half was putrid). Also a shot clock from first possession of the ball.

That was an absolutely rotten watch. I doubt there will be a debate in the Dail this week about making sure every football match is available on rte free to air in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

I'm finding it very hard to have interest in this new championship format. Three out of the four teams qualifying from each group is bizarre.

Qualifying is not worth a f@@k. IMO the winner will come from one of the teams that top the groups. The preliminary QF will kill the teams involved.

It's not as crazy as it looks. Probably needs a few tweaks. Biggest issue is that the competition should be three tiers. 12 teams in top group would be enough. You also need relegation and promotion between tiers.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I think we need to see this season out before judging, too many with the knives out ready to kill it off after only a few weeks. Let the groups play out and see how the teams progress before throwing the format out.

It's almost as if we don't want to see games being played. I suspect as noted above the 2/3 placed teams will fall away in the 1/4 finals and next year the groups will become more competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Why do players go for points when their teams are 2-3 points down in the dying seconds? Cork and Armagh guys both did it today. I know it's every gaelic footballer's instinct to 'take his point' when there isn't an obvious goal chance in the offing but surely an inter-county player's brain should be able to override that?

The only thing is it's easier said than done, take him out. He's powerfully built and well able to protect himself.

Aren't they just. So frustrating. Armagh a bit the same.