Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,666 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Good thing everyone bought train tickets to Thurles yesterday 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭munsterdevil

I did just that but made sure they were refundable

Same here. I wish I had also booked Cork ones as they are sold out for the time being at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

I'd expect a bit of squad rotation for the Munster final this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Not at all. Limerick will play the best 15 available

It's not a 15 man game anymore though.

~20 players involved yesterday.

Ideal opportunity to rotate things.

Makes sense and motivates everybody.

Munster final is not do or die at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

If you think they are going to suddenly rotate player you know feck all about this Limerick team. You don't rotate player in a final. They go all out for 5 munster in a row

It's a matter of opinion. Cian Lynch was on the bench yesterday. Does he start in your book?

Now is the chance to freshen it up a little IMO. The target is the AI, while a Munster title is great nobody will remember it at this stage.

Swapping Lynch for someone isn't what most people are thinking when you saw squad rotation.

What we done in the league with 5 or 6 changes is what people are gonna think and that won't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Delighted to get through getting to the munster final is unreal never did I expect that.

I knew cork match was a hop of the ball, cork so dangerous their speed! Felt we could do damage to their fb line and ultimately I think that was the difference but was so close.

Still not at levels of last yr but slowly getting there clare will be the ultimate task.

Let's hope common sense prevails and the final is played in thurles or preferably limerick but understand totally why clare wouldn't want to play us at home. Just would be so easy for all of us if it was limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 ValentiahYes

Don’t think Clare are too bothered about playing in Limerick - they won there only weeks ago and rumour has it it’s actually Clare who requested the Gaelic Grounds as the venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,801 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

If the rumours are true it is a sensible approach. There's a lot of very dedicated fans in the GAA but likewise there is a lot that wouldn't go to Cork or even Thurles for the match

As long as the tickets go 50/50 it would suit both counties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

I've read that both Clare and Limerick county board officials have requested Thurles but the Munster Council have a preference for Cork. Decision will be made today.

Munster GAA have said Clare requested it and no mention of us. The Examiner said we want Cork.

99% of the time I would want Cork myself as I hate Thurles both the stadium and town. But myself and everyone I know has train tickets for Thurles.

Funny enough tickets to Cork were sold out very fast. I wonder how many Tipp fans have tickets for that train 🤣

I'd always prefer Thurles over Cork. Much easier obviously from Dublin. I like everything about Thurles. Handy road up from here. The square with all the pubs and fans is class. And then the walk over the hill/bridge to see the Holy Grail. So many memories. Never gets old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Limerick county board are kind of in a no win situation here. I'd hate this final to be in Limerick - it's nearly like a home game for Clare and the perceived injustice and unfairness of it would fuel the wagons to circle the camp for a feel weeks (I can picture Derek lynch from the champion having fits of apoplectic rage at the mere thought of it).

Having 20000 cars travelling down the one road through charleville, buttevant etc to target being in Cork for the same 2 hour interval is also madness.

Great bonus to have such worries but usually it doesn't do any favours to whoever gives out about a venue choice.

I don't think there is any hope or talk of it being played in Limerick.

That square wasn't class last year in the rain 😁. It's a real pity Semple didn't get a proper rebuild back when it didn't cost an entire countries budget to build a stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭PIORUN

lads just heard there it will be Limerick, came from a fairly decent source too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭paddyirish23

Tickets going up straight away after the announcement too so be quick! Sounds like they split on where to have it, Cork is madness with the 2sets of supporters heading down the same way but gaa won't care for that. Trains to Thurlas and Cork gone since Monday evening 🙈

Announcement on tickets will be straight away. They have already said information on Tuesday and sales later in the week.

I hope ye’re looking forward to Clare lads blaming you lot for the change of venue despite it being entirely down to Clare seeking the venue change and nothing to do with yourselves :D

Should be Thurlas as its a final and its the only place with Hawkeye outside of croke park (not that it works half the time anymore) plus max size it'll definitely sell out so more ppl in it the better, can't wait it'll be some atmosphere!

Capacity is pretty much the same.

Clare are 100% right to be looking out for the best interest of their fans. We are very lucky in Limerick as we probably the best connected county for road and rail to the other Munster counties. Cork isn't that bad a trip compared to many other counties.

They’re correct but they’ll also use it as motivation as well, they’re fond of the ol’ siege mentality there! (In fair to them it works a lot of the time)

Would ye all head up to Croker?! I reckon the two counties would bring at least 70k up there. Will never happen of course but it would be brilliant if it did.

On in Limerick 💪💪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭moby2101

image.png

Not confirmed yet but as good as I would imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

The city will be heaving. Imagine scenes won't be too dissimilar to Daly's words:

"But the most memorable day I ever hurled was certainly that day going into Limerick.

“The bus used go past the great Davin Arms on the left. We couldn't see the tarmacadam on the road with people. The guards had to try and free the bus to go up along.

“(Ger) Loughnane famously catching the microphone at the front of the old Glynns coach and saying ‘look out lads, don’t be afraid to look out. This is what your father and your grandfather told you about. This is the Munster Championship’.

“I had a fine head of hair back then. And any hairs on the back of your neck were standing. You either embraced it or you **** yourself. And I think we all embraced it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭LeoD

Gaelic Grounds - tickets go on sale Thursday at 12pm.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

Sensible venue!!

I am surprised that Clare would give the go ahead to go into the lions den. I know Clare won there few weeks back but would it be even harder to do it again in such a short time. It would be ideal for the fans obviously but it is definately an advantage to Limerick and i'm even more confident now of a Limerick win. 'A grain of rice' makes all the difference Paidi O Se used say well this a 2 kilo bag of rice.