Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster V Stade Rochelais. Champions Cup Final. Sat May 20, 16:45. Aviva Stadium, Dublin.

Glasgow are awful - typical Scottish team. Flatter to deceive all the time.

Very good Toulon side though.

For some reason I'm not even remotely nervous. Grand slam was the big one for me, it's a RWC year and I'm probably more fixated on that than the Champions cup.

But beyond that, we've a remarkable record at the top flight in Europe. Year on year with a home grown team. We're absolutely spoilt.

A win tomorrow would be brilliant, well deserved and terrific to celebrate.

I'm not going to be overly upset by a narrow loss however.

Parisse has slimmed down some amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,251 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

Tiresome.

12 of the starting 15 tomorrow are home grown and of the 50 odd players that get Leinster through every seasons the vast, overwhelming majority are produced by Leinster.

Beyond that If you've nothing positive to add maybe find another thread.

• Administrators Posts: 55,068 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Administrators Posts: 55,068 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I think tomorrow it'll be close, then Leinster will do that thing where they become unbelievably good for like 10 minutes and score a few tries, and then it'll be close again and ultimately Leinster will win comfortably.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,017 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

It's battle between the gallaticos of LAR versus the hometown local leinster boys.

Hopefully the provincial beating heart wins out over the bloated cheque book

Wait, am i allowed to reply to this obvious nonsense or not?

I don’t want to drag the thread anywhere but this is obvious bs.

I think there is a reason why Leinster have lost to La Rochelle in recent years. It's not that LaR are a better team. It's just a rock paper scissors deal.

LaR's strengths happen to be the key to unlocking Leinsters weaknesses.

Leinster kick the ball a lot and attack from either set pieces, or exploit space on counter transition (especially when the other team are down to 14 players)

LaR are an excellent 'keep the ball alive' team which means Leinster get fewer lineouts with their own put in, and LaR are excellent at counter transition defense

It's a final and could go either way. I think there will be some big moments where the referee decisions will decide the game. Both teams will be super physical, this leads to injuries and cards, and attrition could decide this game

I don't think I know what the rules are anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

Fair point, and I don't know that any can sing the words to Molly Malone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

31,000 is good, a lot better than last year when 2 French teams were in the final and most of the stadium was empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I can get 3 cans into my jacket comfortably. Never an issue. Beat queues and avoid the overpriced crap they sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Just sit back and watch the wonderful talents of both teams on show and enjoy a great game of rugby in Dublin and leave the bitching off for one day. The quality of both teams are unreal and should make a super game and throw Rog in for good measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,733 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Long shot: Any tickets going? Refreshing Ticketmaster like mad for resales. When one comes up, it always tells me it's gone when and if I get to payment page.

edit: I've actually just noticed- the resales option isn't there anymore. So that's that I suppose.

Tempted to hang around the ground in hope of getting a spare and watch it in Beggars Bush if none going.

Very nervous and almost just want this to be over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Breakfast done. Bringing the little one swimming shortly and then it's shower and into town to soak up the atmosphere with a few pints.

It's not often we get these massive sporting occasions in Ireland. Can't wait for it.

For the match itself, I'm feeling stupidly confident. Keep trying to stop myself but I can't help it. I think we are going to do a number on these today. Just hoping that there is no red card to spoil it. Enjoy folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,650 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Extremely jealous, lads. Think ye’ll do it relatively comfortably by 10+ points in the end.

Would be great for Irish rugby if we could have 2 teams winning finals going into the RWC. Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Anyone any idea if there's any family friendly things going on (e.g. screen in the rds or Donnybrook or anything)?

Guessing not - I'm running solo with a 4 year old today, so can't make the game, but would love something I could bring her along to (as opposed to just the couch).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Leinstertomas

Check your inbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭long_b

Any recommendations on where to park for Landsdowne road entrance ? Don't mind paying as long as I can leave the car and not worry about parking time limits.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

From a Munster man-

Best wishes today.

Hope you get the 5th star which will be the 8th star for Irish rugby. And I am looking forward to the Nigels’ wanting to change the rules again to stop an Irish team winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,204 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Same here! I’m enraptured by how well Irish rugby is doing right now.

Leinster need to win this game. It would be a fitting achievement for the side.

For Ireland, today’s game is also an important part in continuing the incredible run of form since Nov ‘22.

Confidence. Impossible to put your finger on it. But I think a win, in another cup final v LaR, would be another booster.

Im starting to get nervous now!

24v15 - Leinster to ‘take their points’

& fwiw Beirne, POM, Aki and Hansen would start if a WC final was on today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

Would be very happy for Ross Byrne, this would be a massive achievement for him and really give him confidence going into the RWC.

When there was talk of either him or Joey moving I wanted Ross at Munster.