Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,328 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Yes, we keep on hearing about immigrants being a supposed "burden" and "drain" on resources and infrastructure, but completely ignoring that these half a million migrant workers are tax payers and consumers just like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,374 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Ryan should have pulled him from that role ages ago. He was Minister for Children and got this hospital pass unwittingly. It will destroy Greens like Irish Water destroyed Labour. Ryan is too dim to see the damage. FFG should be forced to own this along with the general housing disaster they created.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,281 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

But I thought working class areas don't want them, rural Ireland doesn't want them and posh areas would be up in arms? So distribute them evenly to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭hymenelectra

And yet, just like the magic economy numbers, many, many pillars of a functional society are crumbling.

More and more people, more and more money. But not enough teachers, schools hospitals, staff, infrastructure, gp's, gardai, firefighters, not enough housing, shanty towns, unaffordable this, unaffordable that.

How do you square that?

There's something seriously backwards about this whole purported mess and it's illusionary effect is wearing off big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

Condalkin and Santry are good to go for nearly 700 "single men" - doubtless these are all persecuted poets for having distributed peace pamphlets in distant war torn regions! Meanwhile over in the mean streets of Dun Laoghaire, we're going to need to wait for some landscaping work before it's ready to open for these visitors ;-)

Just watch as our govmt "works so hard" on these unprecedented problems #sosomuchcare

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2023/05/17/asylum-seekers-to-be-housed-in-three-new-centres-in-dublin/

Do you, in all gods honesty, think that the nation is going to swallow that???

"Until they stop coming or whatever"

Ireland is a speck of dirt size-wise. Just one single of these disaster zone countries could fill it 20 times over.

But fair play to you for saying it loud. I'd absolutely love to hear just one of these politicians speak that honesty

"Until they stop coming or whatever"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,888 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

No of course not ..but was he given asylum ?

Should everybody seeking asylum be tarred with the same brush because of one ( and am sure there are more but there are checks that are gone through as soon as they are processed as above ) .

By that token nobody should ever be taken in seeking asylum ...is that what you are advocating?

It's really not a question of " importing " or " letting people in " as some people would like you to think .

People have to go through an internationally recognised system and as a country that wants to be taken seriously in the world Ireland cannot just ditch this framework just because it no longer suits / is becoming a but onerous .

We are an attractive country now, because believe it or not , we are deemed to be wealthy and prosperous. Yes hard to believe because our government are not acting like that, only developers , vulture funds and energy suppliers reaping the benefits at the moment.

Our government need to accept that they cannot keep putting extra money aside for a rainy day because the country needs it now !

Healthcare, housing , policing , education and more people on the ground to deal with it all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,281 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Well we do have to put them somewhere until they stop coming or we send them back at the airport, or whatever, no?

Think the thread is concentrating on 'refugees ' and not on the end product .

I do agree that some controls need to be in place , if only to catch up, however . But how to do that? These people are not the same as migrant workers although some may be just that. At least with migrant workers the government can limit the amount and type of visas if they want .

It just doesn't add up. An accountants fever dream.

The more people that arrive, the less people we have available (guards, doctors, teachers, firefighters etc). WHAT? COME AGAIN?

The more money we have, the less housing, healthcare, transport, infrastructure etc we have. WHAT? COME AGAIN?

The whole thing reeks to the high heavens. Told one thing, reality presents the opposite. Again and again.

And that's satisfactory to you?

Just keep allowing and facilitating more and more people into the country until they stop coming of their own accord? You know that's not going to happen.

So you agree that having a plan is better than no plan, like now, taking action is better than doing nothing, like now.

So it is in the interest of all those not raking the money in, ie practically all of us, to stop it. That politicians are literally standing in the way of sensible policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Jane98

Do they have to show that they can support their families if they are let in and not be a burden on the state or is that irrelevant to our government?

They don't .

Of course it is after they are housed . Or given a voucher and sleeping bag as of late.

But yes their applications are checked and verified with gardaí and police .

I don't know any more than that .

But my point is to stop one bad guy you would have to criminalise everyone .

That is the impossible target that those who rant and protest about asylum seekers want to impose, which makes a mockery of the system.

Yes , you stop the criminals abusing the system , but by stopping the innocent who need our help also .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭US3

And the average no of family members reunified is 20 per person. So 10 refugees becomes 200 very quickly

You sure do ask a lot of questions , and use a lot of CAPITALS , but I can no more understand WHAT 'S YOUR POINT than I like your inference of conspiracy? Do you get me ? Again and again and again ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Who said anything about a Brexit style isolationist approach? This isn’t a mutually exclusive issue you know.

We've taken more in per capita in the last couple of years than the vast majority of our EU counterparts - why can’t we just dial it back to those levels? Fwiw Denmark seem to be doing just fine

I know that we used to , for a fact ...

Not sure about the present process being honest with you. I would like to hear it from someone who isn't ...

someone in government,

someone in the opposition ,

someone who is ranting about all refugees being murderers and rapists ,

Peadar Toibin!

And what do they have to prove to get that status do you know ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Nice strawman. I didn’t say a thing about immigrants. Yet another disingenuous example of conflating immigration with our current asylum seeker crisis.

I am pro immigration. I am more than happy to see immigrants entering our country, but it has to be through the proper channels.

What we have instead at the moment is a free for all benefits buffet for anyone who can manage to get here in any way shape or form, while also experiencing a huge housing and health crisis.

Let’s get our own shop in order first.

My point is supremely easy to understand.

There are more people than ever. Yet there is a screaming deficit of people we need.

There is more money than ever. Yet there is a screaming deficit of investment or apparent use of any of it.

The point is this: it does not make any sense. Not in the slightest.

Similarly, adding more people to a housing crisis year in and year out also does not make sense. Ditto for all other crises.

Yet nary word to be said for an overall plan, or semblance of a plan, or a plan to have a plan. It's just "let's keep doing this"

Fair point, don't you think?

A conspiracy theory, yes. But unreasonable? I don't think so.

As I said, I'd love to hear anyone else's rhyme or reason for this blatant madness.

"This is a good idea for the country because..."

I don't disagree . They have been disappearing . But many are thought to slip over on a ferry to Europe's larger cities it isn't so easy to hide in plain sight here .

Aside said before policing and deportation of those who have failed the process needs to be strengthened.

Good night .

No . Disagree . Think you are looking for something here that isn't forthcoming on this thread . At least not from me .Goodnight .

Well if all anyone ever had to do in a debate or discussion was just declare "disagree", we wouldn't get very far.

Why you disagree would add something.

I'm seeing lots of people being added to the country, and practically nothing in way of justification.

On the contrary, I can't count the deficits that are mounting through population pressure.

It just doesn't add up in terms of a sensible and reasoned approach to bettering life. But greed? It certainly aligns with the destructive nature of greed.

Anyway goodnight to yourself too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,328 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

By your reckoning, many Irish people are a serious drain on the country and its infrastructure and a burden etc (probably far more than the working migrant population in fact). What do you propose doing with them?

You might think it's smart denigrating Irish people in ireland, but I wouldn't count on that working out well.

The facts of the matter are clear. We, as in the native population of our country, are experiencing precisely the expected results of over population. Not a shred less.

No amount of theorising, playing games, or hypotheticals is going to reverse or alter reality. Its not political.

Were there a clearly stated plan, a time frame, a goal, a benefit, literally anything of value put forward that could negate the massing negatives, that would indeed mean something.

But there isn't any of that. Do you know why? Because there isn't any of that.

We are seeing the signs almost daily now, heretofore unthinkable, shanty towns, protests, lack of this, want of that, not enough to go around. The handling and impact of this refugee debacle is one part of a whole.

We'll see where this leads. I doubt I'll be surprised. Will you be surprised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Is this Lucas again.

As said he travelled from Brazil to Portugal and around a bit then picked Ireland to camp in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

This chap fairly gets around, kip of a country we're living in atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Cbumkin

You sound like a person who is easily offended. " prove your claims sunshine" "cowardly post with coward likes" . " i expect you to run away"

Are are you a little bit paranoid? I'd suggest for the sake of your mental health to relax and take a little break , especially from social media.

Best of luck in life and I genuinely mean that.