General Premier League Thread 2022-23 - mod note in OP 12/03/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,627 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

The bounce of the new manager syndrome has not been there for anyone except Hodgson and you would not really call him a new manager for crystal palace. Still surprised they got rid of Viera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,758 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

I don't think I've ever seen Salah not rattle the net from a 1on1 like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,758 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Couldn't believe they got rid of Viera at the time myself but it looks like the only managerial switch that will work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,627 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

In terms of position yes (and that means more money) but I say they were always going to stay up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,281 ✭✭✭pavb2

Yes, awful stuff A few commentators have said that with their squad they should be mid table but I can’t see it, apart from the lack of quality there’s just no fight in them I think they deserve to go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,035 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Game week 36 Table

image.png

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Leicester are away to Newcastle next and have West Ham at home on the final day. They're going to need probably 4 points from those games to be safe and based off tonight I think they're doomed.

As for the third team to go down, most likely Leeds but they might possibly be able to snatch a win off Spurs on the final day (ignoring the West Ham game as they're hopeless away from home). The trouble for them is that Evertons final two games are very winnable so they may have to rely on Forest not picking up any points and stay up on GD.

I think when the dust settles it'll be the current bottom 2 joining Southampton in the Championship next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,265 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Emery is the other. Villa were hovering around the relegation zone when he took over a third of the way through the season. Done an unbelievable job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,754 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

the biggest problem was Southampton AND Leicester both seemed to have absolutely no idea who they wanted to replace Hassenhutl and Rodgers and eventually picked horrendous people to "save" them. Leeds did the same and are the other team in relegation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,132 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

I don't know about Hassenhuttl but I think Rodgers would have kept Leicester up. West Ham kept faith with Moyes and they look like they're going to bealright (and then have the summer to decide what they're doing next rather than making a panic appointment).

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭Azatadine

I think Hassenhuttl would have kept them up or at least made them more competitive about it. Nathan Jones was an unmitigated disaster. He really was.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Southampton tried to buy for the future last season with signing the likes of Lavia and Bazunu, without looking at the right now. Similar ideas went into appointing Jones imo in that they figured he'd grow into the role and build the team.

Trouble is he's the exact opposite of what you need in a relegation battle that Saints ended up in and he hadn't a feckin clue how to get them out of it.

His press conferences were funny though, so there's that😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,235 ✭✭✭golfball37

Rodgers had checked out at Leicester and they 100% would be in current position had he stayed imo. He wanted to be sacked so he could save face .

I have a feeling Leeds will pip Forest on GD and survive . Big Sam avoiding a hiding at Man City would be the difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,188 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Southampton sealed their fate appointing Jones has to go down as one of worst in PL history. I was a big fan of Ralph he always seemed to hit a purple patch that just kept them safe I think they should of kept him.

I dont know what some clubs are thinking, sack your manager sure but have some idea who you want. Palace got shot of Viera at the first sign of trouble and brought in a pair of safe hands.

Why didnt Leeds bring in Big Sam much earlier, giving 4 games including against man city is asking miracles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

They definitely hit Barnes, he was down for a few mins receiving treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,324 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

We have seen stuff like Southampton before where after promotion and the extasy of a few mid table years it all gets a bit stagnant and then they are caught out. Sleepwalked into this relegation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,033 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Everton have been sleep walking into relegation for decades now. They're just lucky there's a couple of worse teams. To be honest, relegation might be the best thing that ever happened to them. A chance to reset.

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,869 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Everton had a training exercise at Goodison Park recently. Had to draft in an external company, to use for their final home game of the season.

They are saying it's because of the board and protests against them but we know it's because of threat of relegation. Everton fans are passionate but have taken it too far in the past.

Hopefully they stay up but we know that emotions can get the better of people, especially with such a threat hanging over their heads. I hope Everton stay up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,226 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

its all a bit frantic isnt it. going through the process? just seemed like no one knows whats going on. no wonder so many mistakes are made.

there's enough to support that!? they need to get rid of clear and obvious aspect. was it a foul or not is the only question.

and why cant VAR just say i'm gonna go back and check a few seconds earlier re the collision? they go back prior for the APP.

would love to hear some more VAR discussions cos this is prob the 'best' mistake they had to offer

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Wouldn't be writing off Leeds against us on Sunday. If we get past AZ Thursday, we'll likely play a second string side and would expect Leeds to have enough for us. And if we get knocked out, chances are the team will be on the beach regardless of the team that's played on Sunday given that we're all but safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Ha, ha. The lad Ederson, of course, was who I meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,132 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

their finances are a mess, they're just as likely to go into free fall. When is the FFP case against them, could they get a points deduction? It would certainly be funny to see them inaugurating their fancy new stadium against the likes of Rotherham.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭McGrath5

They may not get to finish their new stadium if they get relegated, it would be a disaster for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,754 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

8 month ban for Toney.

What an eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Could’ve been a lot worse than 8 months, I was expecting to see a 1 in front of that number.

If he keeps himself in good shape between now and January, he could still hope for a move to a bigger club in the 2024 summer window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,361 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

really surpised it was not 1yr+

Didnt joey barton get similar for a lot less?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,952 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Is it 8 months from today or 8 months from the start of next season?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

With Brentford effectively on the beach, it'd suit them down to the ground if it was with immediate effect, wipe out a nice chunk of the ban in the off-season. He got pretty lucky to only get 8 months given the sheer number of bets.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Absolutely (the last bit).

The amount of crap you consume about betting to access the EPL is serious. Kids getting indoctrinated into betting being a part of football is as wrong as cigarette or alcohol advertising.

It's just plain wrong