If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leinster v Munster URC Semi -Final match thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,265 ✭✭✭✭phog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

Ah this is great stuff. Who knew bitterness and salt could taste so sweet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

It’s Monday. I didn’t think I’d have to add to this at this point, but there’s some serious bitterness as well…

Anyways, thought Rory Scannell had his best game in years for us off the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

In the interests of balance, there are also some incredibly sore winners.

Not you, but plenty of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,896 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,352 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I for one am glad he didn't get a yellow card... Have you seen how strong Leinster get when they are down a man? We'd have been mince meat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Haha

I hope you will be as gracious if the URC nominates a South African ref for the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,548 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

No such thing, they are right to be giving it large and lording it over Leinster, that's what you do in a bitter rivalry.

We could and should have won, but that's down to a catastrophic miscalculation on the part of our Coaches, the second such two years running and if I saw my greatest derby rival doing that I'd be wetting myself laughing at the way they threw it away.

Yes Munster played above and beyond their season's average and fair play to them, but a strong Leinster side would've skittled them, we know it and they know it too, but that's all on us and our management group.

He got two weeks, which is half the standard amount.

But they wouldnt have been down a man, they had frank so it would have been 15v15 then.

They would have been as it was 16 v 15 for the match then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

That's a good spot.

Congrats to Munster on their win. Leinster had the ball, in the Munster 22 and could have closed the game out but didn't. Munster got a chance and took it. Leinster got one final chance but messed up a restart. That's what happens in close games. Well done Munster.

Some questions answered:

Harry Byrne - game management in tight games needs to be better if he wants to kick on.

Jimmy O'Brien looked tidy at FB. Great utility back option for Ireland.

Coombes stepped up - great turnover at end.

Munster front row wasn't great and scrum looked weak at times.

Crowley stepped up.

If we need an older winger Earls better option than Kearney.

Regarding the ref: he was ok. But, it would have been better if Busby took that game. It's only asking for the keyboard warriors to have a field day if the ref has a connection with either team.

Leinster chose to give priority to the La Rochelle match and rested a number of players. It was a miscalculation but they didn't know they would have to use a substitute after a few minutes - or that Munster would go unpunished for knocking out a flanker with a forearm to the chin.

No, you cap him and tie him down and help him develop because the post sexton void could become a major problem.

None of Crowley, the brynes or Carbery have shown themselves to be a clear heir to the throne.

In fact carbery who had been his backup has regressed somewhat and healy has played himself into the starting 10 jersey for Munster.

A run of games, learning from townsend and russell could increase in his level no end.

Its bad business at worst, its neglectfull at best and this earning a cap thing is nonsense when it suits.

He got the standard amount of 4 weeks, reduced by the standard 50% due to the player’s clean disciplinary record and the conduct of the player and his club throughout the process.

Nothing out of the ordinary... Even Lowe accepted that he had committed an act of foul play and that his actions warranted a red card, you seem to be the only one who doesn't believe what he saw on the day

You may as well let the players in charge as busby

In fact carbery who had been his backup has regressed somewhat and healy has played himself into the starting 10 jersey for Munster.

He hasn’t. If Fekitoa was fit, Crowley would’ve started at 10, like in the previous 4 games.

Which is exactly what I expect to happen for the final if Fekitoa is back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,771 ✭✭✭degsie

Any chance that Leinster threw the game to give a leg up to the URC who are struggling with Leinster's dominance?

I didn't know you struggle to follow discussions.

Given Leinster have never made a URC final, I would suggest…. No. 😉

Considering it looks like your discussing something with yourself when you dont quote the person your replying to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,983 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

No such thing, they are right to be giving it large and lording it over Leinster, that's what you do in a bitter rivalry.

Meh, is it a bitter rivalry? Like, it's hard to buy into this when they're all best mates off the pitch.

catastrophic miscalculation 

It's only a catastrophe if you're particularly invested in a good outcome. It really doesn't look like Leinster were.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,818 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

now that the dust has settled (a bit) i want to congratulate munster and their fans, for a fantastic win. They can only control what they can control and they did it perfectly. That build up for the drop goal after that amount of ball-in-play time is a testament to their fitness, and dare i say it, they looked fitter than leinster. In the last five minutes there were some rucks hit with noodle arms. Thats something that leinster need to look at themselves for. Also, for all the talk about leinsters endless squad depth, that was a pretty callow bench when it was needed. It was hubris that thought closing out a game with nick mccarty would be good enough., i like the guy but unfortunately hes not 'leinster in a semi final' standard.

to munster fans, youre a credit to your province and theres more than a hint of jealousy i have about that. I havent seen scenes like that after leinster wins in a long long time. That rendition of SUAF by about 50 lads near the dart queue was spine tingling, surrounded by smiling faces recording the moment. To the leinster "fan" behind me who was there with his 10 YO young lad, learn the fcuking laws of the game before you go start shouting rubbish. Youre not a great role model for your young lad, who was very much 'monkey see, monkey' do by the end of the game.

The one complete wan*er of a munster fan, who was so fcuking obxious (in section 141) hes lucky he didnt get a few slaps during the game.... turned out to be a yellow toothed wan*er from Dun Laoghaire !!!. Yeah, one of those "i hate my own province" attention seeking coconuts. True munster fans all around us were brilliant.

I was delighted for the likes of POM, Archer and Earls to lead the team as they did. They deserve to get some silverware in a red jersey and it would be a travesty for them to finish their careers without a munster honour. So munster, go finish the job now! ill be shouting loudly in my local for you that day, and i may even wear my red highlanders jersey in support.

To leinster, theres nothing like having our hubris held up in a mirror to us. The fear of losing next saturday will be deafening all this week. That fear will have been building all through the season. We need to use that fear to find places we haven't had to go to in a long time. We need to use it positively though and not tighten in on ourselves. We will beat LAR with expressive rugby, by taking the few opportunities when they arise, which they will.

A season finishing with blue in europe and red in the URC is one most reasonable irish rugby fans would be very happy with. lets hope it happens now.

Some really sore losers in this thread. Bit embarrassing, take the loss and move on.

Couple of sore winners too though it should be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,265 ✭✭✭✭phog

I think you'll find (if you're really interested and not just trolling) that Munster fans weren't happy with Frank being appointed to ref this game.

In fact, a lot on Munster would never want him reffing any of their games.

That would surprise me, seeing as he made a pretty big contribution on Saturday

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,043 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Alan Lewis, Alain Roland. There may be others.

Murphy has reffed this fixture previously and there was never an issue. You'd wonder why.