Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭shockframe

'The game needs to be more attacking. Something has to be done'

Goalkeepers start to become more attack minded.

'What! Who do these fancy dan keepers think they are? Know yer place ye free thinking anarchists!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

First time i tuned into BBC today and found it to be goid coverage. Philly was a decent co comm. Don't know who the main commentator was but he was miles better than Marty (who isn't?). Murphy and Marty McGrath no nonsense at ht. And a nice touch going to ex referee Maurice Deegan to talk through and controversial moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Yeah saw some people giving out about Deegan being a pundit. Would be no fan of him as a ref, but it's a good shout imo to have a former ref as a pundit given how many controversial calls there tends to be. Could give some good insight into the decision making that happens in those split second moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,747 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

That Ulster Final was a great game. At the start the slow build up stuff from both teams seem unnecessary but I guess they’re keeping energy levels for later in the game and in this case went all the way to extra time and penalties. When the game opened up in the second half it was very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭blowitupref

intriguing final in a packed Clones and great scenes of celebration on the field afterwards. Don't think I'll ever warm to a shootout to decide a GAA match especially a final but HQ have made their bed with such congested season.

Well done to Derry though serious improvement they have made from no Ulster final appearances for over a decade to now back to back Ulster title for the first time since the mid 70s, they should go on to top their group another reward for winning your province.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,430 ✭✭✭tanko

I’m delighted for Kieran McGeeney, couldn’t happen to a nicer fella. Well done Derry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Purely off the top of my head thought, but could the provincial winners get something like a 1 or 2 points head start in the round robin??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,696 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

There's a fella called Rory Gallagher who you don't appear to have heard about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

Ciaran Whelan was correct in his analysis . All those games just to eliminate four teams. Schoolmaam Cantwell wasn’t going to let him get away with that, lines and/or detention for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Clare in Exile

Watched it on BBC NI and I have to say their coverage is a breath of fresh air compared to RTE. No reverting to lazy, cliche ridden analysis. Commentator Niblock was brilliant, on a different planet to Canning and Marty. McMahon, while I don't agree with a lot of what he says, was entertaining and enthusiastic. The presenter chaired it well, and Marty Clarke is always worth listening to.

Roving reporter was good, and the use of Maurice Deegan actually seemed to work well, it's obviously something they picked up from BT Sport.

A good contest, some great scores, particularly in extra-time. As a Clare man leaving Limerick last Sunday I was saying it was time to scrap the provincial championships, but today's Ulster Final has probably put a kibosh on that idea.

Hopefully we've plenty of good games left yet in this year's football...

Dessie farrell calling for a review of the provincials. Hopefully more follow suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I have never seen a McGeeney team win a big game where it was 50/50 or they were not supposed to. It was the same when he was with Kildare. He just gets teams fit thats all IMO.

I think he basically trading on his 'name' as a player, the media letting on he has an aura and all this sort of craic.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Grugan was allowed way too long with that last mark - it's not a free ffs, 5s is all that's allowed. Didn't matter as he missed but players are getting away with it all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,939 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

One small failing, no caption on the screen to show the progress of the penalties. If Niblock was on RTE I'd say the forum would be lit up with people complaining about how often he says "remarkable". And one of our friends here would be sent into a coma listening to Michael Murphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,167 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

People just want to use whatever "evidence" available to moan about RTE.

The modern pundits were "too boring" until Joanne Cantwell started causing arguments and now suddenly she needs to shut up and fuk off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭shockframe

You could spot it a mile off either the remarks towards her that the pundits are getting narked having her as the host.

Evanne and Jacqui are streets ahead. Have a far better rapport with the pundits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,040 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

The goal Paul Manion got today, I think they should ban those kind of goals as well as the fisted point.

1:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Its 15s now, but agreed, he took it like a normal free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,167 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Fisted point needs to go. Don't care if it means less scores but the excitement of a goal chance in the crowd only to see a fist point is a huge come down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Ah right, never realised that they changed it from 5 to 15s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ragwort and Stones

Nice to see Carlow v Wicklow get good air time. Lively game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Very poor crowds at the Tailteann Cup games

Scrapping the provisionals -

'Today's Ulster Final has put a Kibosh on the idea'

I would argue the complete opposite - it has shown why the provincials should be scrapped.

Ask yourself this why is Ulster more competitive ?

1) Many teams are of similar standard div 1 or at least pushing div 1

2) Ulster is not a hurling province but a football one - Antrim the only odd one out.

3) Ulster teams by their nature are very tactical and play cagey football resulting in less hammerings.

--

Also, Today's Ulster Final game was a cagey one like many in Ulster - was it exciting because of the play or because it was close on the scoreboard?

I think it was the latter, more than the former.

--

It is a joke, that 3/4 provinces are lopsided with teams of various abilities and unequal amount of teams. Historically the two most successful teams in the country Kerry and Dublin have the handiest provinces.

It is joke, that Ulster can hold the rest of the country to ransom and keep the provincials - Ulster can't say 'no' for the sake of the future of a decent Gaelic football competition for the country as a whole IMO.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

There is already moaning about Murphy on this site in the Second Captains thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

Good to see Armagh beat, some of their fans were singing about how there is no London in Armagh. Imagine a county that is also ruled by Westminster singing that.

After the dirt Armagh did v Galway in last years championship - I am glad Derry won.

Plus Rodgers - Glass deserve it - best midfield pairing in the country by a mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭elefant

I hope Ciaran Whelan was narked about being called up on his declaration that penalties are 'all luck' - it might spur him on to offer viewers something a bit more worthwhile in the future.

If having Joanne there means we can move past that level of 'analysis', I'm all for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,954 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Crazy logic.

Because the other provinces have problems destroy the competive competition that people want to see in the 4th one?

Look we've known for a good while that the privinces had run their course. The issue isnt with the counties but the GAA. The sheer advantages and favourtism they have shown dublin is the elephant in the room. They have actively participated in creating the beast. I really believe if this farce coninues that Leinster counties should refuse to compete in the leinster championship. Football is dying a quicker death year on year and immediate action is needed before its terminal. It might well be already.

Either that or we have a top tier competition where only Kerry, dublin and two other teams compete for the Sam Maguire. Because the current structure is pointless.

How many games so far have been decent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 JK1994

Was there as a neutral.

Some Derry fans were at it too, groups of them singing dirty orange b....... on the hill in the first half.

Armagh fans singing about Gallagher wasn't great either mind you.