Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision Song Contest 2023

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭waywill1966

Cornelia was the best part of the whole show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,080 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Gas though that nearly everyone on here was rooting for Finland , and a few others , but not Sweden ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭forumdedum

The Sweden encore the only one I really heard. Super mixing from the producers and I love the visuals. Decent song. Sad none of this is live anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭forumdedum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ragwort and Stones

When and where should we protest. I'll be there!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Didn't think it would win, even accouting for taste I thought it would finish mid-table at worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,565 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

My my, at Liver-pool, Fin-Land did surrender 😛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,166 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

It’s funny how Cornelia jakobs last year had a great song and then tonight she was great and yet this crap from Sweden won. I wonder was the jury vote a make up call from last year ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭Indestructable

Stockholm has a lot to live up to now, great show from Liverpool. That's it for another year. Thread on boards is my favorite every year, so thanks all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭glitterIsland

There was no unique performance from the winner. She was rolling around on a floor feeling a screen in her face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Finland robbed, but sure that's what happens when you go to Liverpool.

Sweden nailed it in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,430 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Thought she performed it better the 2nd time but seriously annoying how bad her diction is. Like most people have said, the song is nowhere near as good as Euphoria but fair play to her for matching JLo’s record of only person to win it twice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ragwort and Stones

My my, at Liverpool, Loreen beat a pretender😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,932 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

OK song - but poor recorded vocals - and nowhere near the standards of winners over the last 10 years. Now CHA CHA CHA CHA CHA - was bullshit too. Great show - but a joke act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭hayrabit

RUBBISH this winner

to say it's "A Poor Man's Firework (Perry) " would be a gross overstatement

how tf did it win ????

😓

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭glitterIsland

Finland had more of a stage performance than Sweden. He burst out from a box and used his outfit to create shadows of a monster on the screen followed by dancers out from the box.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Well that was a load of bullsh1t, see ye again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,798 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'm currently listening to Cornelia Jacobs entry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,742 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Let TG$ organise the Eurovision process for us next year! RTE say they don't have the money for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭acequion

You're completely right. We are in the last century. I'm old enough to remember each of Ireland's wins vividly and to remember the feel good factor. But it was a very long time ago and Sweden have turned out great acts this century. So they deserve to be at our level of wins, though I didn't rate that song tonight and don't think it deserved to win.

For our younger generation, many who weren't even born when we were clearing up in the 90's, I really hope we get back there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,251 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Because it's Eurovision and Sweden are considered royalty (Abba basically). You don't think this is a song contest, do you? It hasn't been that since public voting was introduced back in the late 90's. The juries long lost any credibility too.

I just listened to Sweden's winning entry. Utterly forgettable (like most to be fair). It's not even a good song ffs.

Complete and utter bastards- have a slow cancerous death Putin- and too your children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,166 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

This is the version I heard of Cornelia Jakobs before the contest last year. Even though it would’ve equaled our record it’s a much better song than this years one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭techman1

thought it should have been Finland, then Israel, also the UK had a great song but did really badly.

Even if we send a great song and performance it still might come nowhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,798 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Could JP back a few Limerick Lads for us next year!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

We’re just another country at Eurovision now. We always had a cachéof being good at it but the game has moved on and our good days are over. I’m actually concerned. I grew up in the 80s where we had won once at that stage abd always had an act in the final. Then 1987 and hold be now happened and it sparked off something and ( years later we couldn’t help winning. At gge time it was a shot in the arm as we weren’t the most exciting of places.

undoubtedly now all our records will fall by the wayside. It doesn’t say much as a nation tget we can’t even qualify now. We do so many things we’ll nowadays abd the country has moved on so much from where it was in 93 but another 10 or 15 years of this dross and only oul’ lads like I will be then will remember an Irish win. If this was rugby or soccer there’d be protests. I’m tired of this. It would be good to be back in tge final again and at least look like we’re competing I really am mad now. It’s a disgrace.

There’s no real way of winning is there ? Look at the Oscar’s for example, banshees of innis played the game absolutely perfect, influenced all the right people and attended all the right festivals and put themselves right into contention. Sweden had the right people talking about them and they literally had the word “favourites” tagged into their name , and that’s what you have to do to stand a chance.

Irelands entry looked like a band in a local competition in a movie where they overcome odds to win with a powerful and spirited give it all performance, sadly for genuine musicians the top entries were extremely choreographed, over confident and rehearsed to precision. So thats what we need as a minimum next year along with visibility:)

Here’s my 3 point plan .

pick the best song humanly possible

hire someone like Lin-manual miranda or rammstein to transform it into a theatrical spectacle

get boots on the ground and hype the shite out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,576 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I agree.

Not a patch on euphoria.

I genuinely don't even think it is as good as the two other songs that she failed to make it through Sweden with.

Her voice isn't what it was either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,759 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Scenes on BBC News now, even the crowd in the Eurovillage going completely crazy for Finland. :(