Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,307 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

If fairness to Dessie (and I wouldn't say that often) he does have a new format to deal with so it's hard to compare to Gavin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Was he hell playing an experimental team. Dublin got relegated to Division 2 last year, got hammered in many games. Haven't played well this year to date. Dessie Farrell knows well he is hanging on by a thread to that management position - basically until someone more suitable to the job puts their hand up. He would be some idiot to suggest to himself (or his backroom team), "right lads, lets throw out an experimental team for this one. Let's live on the edge". There is a reason those players that you named aren't picked. Some have not shown form, some have not played for a while, and some are basically past it. Rock and Costello scored 42 points in the league between them. That works out on average 3 points each per game. In Division 2. And both of them were sharing free taking duties That is a poor return against lesser opposition. Costello was 10th in the listing of highest scorers in division 2. Again, that is very average - for someone was was relied on to come good in Paul Mannions absence. If they continue to play Cluxton, there is no room for Dean Rock anymore. He's not needed for the free/45s that are beyond 30 yards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭Trampas

Why aren’t all provincial rounds ran over the same weekend.

Armagh play 4 games to win theirs where Kerry play 2 as well Armagh will have 1 week less break than Kerry if they win if both win their groups.

At least that way everyone on the same breaks bar early rounds in provincial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Rock and Costello wouldn't have started all 8 league games so their average would be a lot higher than that.

Biggest issue for Dublin is they don't seem to be bringing the players through as they did in the past. They reached U20 All Ireland finals in 2019,2020 with very few from those teams going on to be established senior players. Ciaran Archer was one I'd thought would be a cert but for whatever reason he hasn't

The last three Dublin U20 teams have lost Leinster finals so they'll do well to get many top senior players out of that batch either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,447 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Are the first Group 2 and Group 4 games (the games that may feature Armagh or Derry) definitely the weekend of the 20th or are scheduled for the weekend of the 27th ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭Trampas

Not that but how many weeks between first game played in knockout and last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭vid36

The Connacht winner v Tyrone is on May 20.The Ulster finalists v Westmeath is the following weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,431 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

You can often get more players out of losing underage teams than winning one's. Most if the Kerry players from the Noughties never won an underage medal. Compare that to the 2014-2020 Kerry underage situation and the players have not being coming through as fast as you imagine they should have.

In general you are lucky if you pick up 2-3 players of any particular age group. A good players will have a career of 10+ years. Biggest issue is if a manager keeps older players on too long. Lads get fed up sitting on the bench

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,946 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Any idea when dates and venues announced for Group Stages? It is today isnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,261 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Anyone who has watched Rock knows he is only on the panel because of his frees, can't run anymore and has become a liability if started. I would still back him to come on and score a crucial free if Dublin needed it. The fact that the clueless Dessie has finally stopped starting him, when most fans knew he was well past his best as starter speaks volumes.

But I would like to to see the DCB create positions for these aging legends to bring on the next generations. Dean Rock should be Dublin's freetaking coach. The fella has an unbelievable technique. Other obvious one is Cluxton as the keeper coach. Should be no brainers.

One is probably the best in his position in the history of Gaelic Football (Cluxton). And the other is probably the best free taker Dublin ever had (Rock) and is in my opinion the best freetaker of his generation.

Amazed the DCB are not clued in. All that untapped reservoir of knowledge just there. Priceless IMO.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

U21 grade was good to Dublin with All Ireland titles won in 2010,2012,2014 and 2017 players that came out of those teams was R O'Carroll, J Cooper, J McCarthy, D Rock.J McCaffrey, D Byrne, C Kilkenny, P Mannion,J Small, B Fenton, E Lowndes; P Mannion, C Costello, N Scully,E Murchan,B Howard,C O’Callaghan,P Small not a bad return at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,431 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

That would be similar to the 1975-77 U21 period that Kerry won three U21 titles.

Tim O Mahoney, Paudie O Se, Ger Power, Pat Spillane, Ogie Moran, Tim Kennelly, Jack O Shea, Mick Spillane, Sean Walsh, Charlie Nelligan, Tommy Doyle.

The 1973 team added Ger O keeffe and Micky Sheehy.

There was also a good few of those teams that were on the panel but the use of substitutes was not as prolific as now. Vincent O Connor and Tommy Doyle would have been the most noteable

Slava Ukrainii

I see Ciaran Whelan said on a podcast about Galway not getting enough out of their forwards and relying on a few players.

I made that point in my OP.

It's actually true.

Galway really rely heavily on Walsh and Comer.

It won't stop them beating Sligo, but will hamper them down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,351 ✭✭✭enricoh

Cracking under 20s match there Kildare v down , roy of the rovers stuff at the end.

Louth have released a limited edition jersey for the Leinster Final. €95 for the adult one, and €70 for the kids. Yep, €70 for a kids jersey. Thought this type of profiteering was confined to the soccer world. Seems not.

Is there some sort of significance to them wearing black ?

Nice jersey though a bit like Down's away one that they had a while back. Louth obviously think there is a market for it. If people don't want the jersey they won't buy it, if they do they will.

There is also the aspect that if Louth win the Leinster Final that Jersey and replicas will be worth a fair few bob in years to come.

Plus it is one of the few times Louth is in the limelight, they might as well try and make use of the attention. They would be stupid not to IMO.

Whelan should know what he is talking about because the Dublin team he played in, had similar problems for years.

Let's pray it's not a repeat of 2010 for them! Don't think i've ever seen a crazier end to a match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

@Fr Tod Umptious

Kerry top 6 scorers in the championship 2022 and the last one a defender. 

Sean O'Shea 1-26 David Clifford 1-21 Paul Geaney 0-11 Killian Spillane 1-6 Paudie Clifford 0-8 Tom O'Sullivan 0-7

Last year showed you can win the All-Ireland by relying on two forwards getting a big portion of your scores while it was the defensive improvement under Jack O'Connor and his management that went a long way to winning back Sam for Kerry. 

Between league and championship last year Galway conceded big scores in games 1-20, 2-16 v Roscommon, 2-17 v Cork, 3-10 v Offaly, 3-18 v Armagh. Down the line that was going to hamper them.

This year in comparison in 9 games against Division 1 opposition they have conceded on average 12 points per game its clear like kerry the year before they have put a big focus on defensive improvement and it remains to be seen in the All-Ireland series will that improvement hold up as good defences do indeed wins championships. 

Post edited by manofwisdom on

It just bugs me though when your team finally get to a big event seeing them not in their normal colours.

Generally I kinda hate all these new change gears like that crappy aqua coloured yoke Limerick now have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,249 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I'm a traditionalist, and I'm asking what rules allow Louth to change colours mid stream like that? There is no need to change to an alternate colour, Dublin wear light blue as far as I know, so no need to change (I know, there is a money grab/financial driver here, that's not what I mean by need ').

Take it to the extreme, why don't or what happens if they rocked up in blue jerseys? Wearing black would mean that the referee team now can't wear black, not a big problem at intercounty level but at club level it's more an issue.

AFAIK club teams have to submit and approve colours and alternate colours before the start of the year.

Just a cheap money grab if you ask me.

I had that on in the telly and was half watching it, by the end of it I was roaring at the Telly.

I was sick for Louth to lose like that. Plus those Wee County lads would have been legends forever. Plus at the time I wanted Meath to lose even more than I usually did. As the Dubs conceded 5 goals v Meath in the SF and all 5 could have been disallowed for various reasons. Louth had a very handy team at time, they just didn't have the depth of panel.

As for the 2023 final, I think if Harte plays it clever and cagey they have a real chance v Dublin. Dublin are an extremely frustrating watch for Dublin supporters at the moment. And many do not have much confidence in Dessie Farrell, he makes odd tactical decisions - late to react and change a game etc. Dessie is only there because there is no standout Dublin alternatives.

I honestly was thinking there yesterday I would take Micky Harte as Dublin manager, he would tighten them up defensively give us a bit of structure. As a Dub supporter I wouldn't begrudge Louth winning. What is another Leinster to our crowd? If Louth win it they will be having statues made, and many Louth children born 9 months later will be named after the players.

If I was from Louth I would be quietly confident they will never get a better chance IMO. The crowd will likely be a small one, even smaller than when Westmeath got to finals. So the atmosphere will not be cauldron like.

The Louth management sideline is far to superior to Dublin's. And Dublin are low on confidence, the correct mix of a team - youth v experience has not been found yet. A decent consistent system of play has not been found yet. And I would not trust this Dublin team to see out a game if it was a tight match near the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭HBC08

DCB probably couldn't afford him as free taking coach,have you seen his rates??

I was thinking of that as I heard he started independently.

Untitled Image

What are his rates again anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

The All-Ireland draw this week seems to have distracted from the provincial finals. It was a bizarre decision to host the draw before the finals were complete.

I would agree with all football provincial finals on one weekend but the GAA seems to have other reasons. I think GAAGO are covering the majority of Saturday games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

There seems to be a big shortage of Ulster final tickets compared to demand with clubs receiving less than they expected. This is when GAA virtue signaling goes out the window, they use slogans like "where we all belong" all year and then the bickering on social media starts about who deserves tickets more.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Your memories of that 2010 semi final aren't exactly accurate. I think two of the goals that day had instances way out the field that could have been frees. If you are holding that view then you would have to agree that Louth's goal in the Leinster final that year shouldn't have been allowed given that the referee awarded them a free way out the field that gave possession which led to the goal.

Cannot see Louth getting as close as Kildare. Dublin are 25/1 on for a reason. They weren't great last day out but Louth haven't exactly set the world alight either. They pulled it out of the fire against Westmeath having been way behind at half time while needing extra time to get over another division 3 team. Depending on Dublin's mood, Louth might keep it close in the first half but Dublin should pull away in the second half.

The All-Ireland draw this week seems to have distracted from the provincial finals

I don't agree

I think the playing of the provincial finals in early May has distracted from the provincial finals

Decent opening 10 minutes for Sligo but Galway have stepped up the gears since then with two goals with Comer the main creator and scored by Tierney. 30 minutes played 2-6 to 0-4