If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

iPod Touch ?

• 21-03-2023 01:05AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭

Do you need to have an iPhone for an iPod Touch ? like for radio on google it said you need wi-fi for it. Can that be any device with wi-fi like a Windows PC ? like it doesnt have to be an apple product ? Then whats the story with it ? Like If I leave the gaff with me iPod Touch and go out say to the shops listening to the radio. Is there a range Im limited to or will it work wherever I go once I connect to a wi-fi network ? Says only 5th, 6th and 7th generation models has radio. Is this true ? I never had an iphone before but, was given an iphone 8 there a few weeks ago by me uncle because, I lost me phone. I was shocked to find that you cant stick a pair of earphones into a iPhone 8 like wtf They made it separate I mean they made the ipod for music I thought you could at least listen to the radio on an iPhone. Then I seen the prices for earbuds 200 and something euro like WTF man for small little earphones and then the headphones are 600 euro Jaysus like thats mad ! Are Samsung phones just as good as iPhones ? Also what the best monthly package I can get for a Samsung phone like best being the cheapest ? oh and last thing what version of Windows will I need for an Apple ID for iTunes for the iPod Touch ? Also how many GB's is enough to be able to have a big collection of songs and albums on an iPod Touch Is 128 to much ? Cex has a 128GB iPod Touch for sale but, its 200+ euro Is that a rip off ? or should I just go lower in GB Whats the best between the 5th, 6th and 7th generation ? Whats the difference ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

It might help you to format questions as single bulleted points that flow from one to another

Q : Do you need to have an iPhone for an iPod Touch ? like for radio on google it said you need wi-fi for it.

A : No, it's a discrete self contained unit, you do need an Apple Account to make use of the App Store though

Q: Can that be any device with wi-fi like a Windows PC ? like it doesnt have to be an apple product ? Then whats the story with it ? Like If I leave the gaff with me iPod Touch and go out say to the shops listening to the radio. Is there a range Im limited to or will it work wherever I go once I connect to a wi-fi network ? Says only 5th, 6th and 7th generation models has radio. Is this true ? I never had an iphone before but, was given an iphone 8 there a few weeks ago by me uncle because, I lost me phone.

--- word salad---

A: The only iPod to have have an actual radio was the iPod Nano 5th-7th generation (NA-NO!). iOS devices such as the Touch have never had a radio but you can listen to radio stations through apps such as BBC Sounds or 8Radio.

Q: I was shocked to find that you cant stick a pair of earphones into a iPhone 8 like wtf They made it separate I mean they made the ipod for music I thought you could at least listen to the radio on an iPhone.

A: Hello and welcome to 2016, Apple killed the headphone jack on the iPhone 7, several other large phone manufacturers have since followed suit.

This cannot be a shock

Q: Then I seen the prices for earbuds 200 and something euro like WTF man for small little earphones and then the headphones are 600 euro Jaysus like thats mad !

A: That's the price of em, note that quality ear-buds will generally tend to run in the €100 plus bracket (Bose, the good Sonys etc..)

Q: Are Samsung phones just as good as iPhones ?

A: Cameras are arguably better but their software integration blows harder than moby dick

Q: Also what the best monthly package I can get for a Samsung phone like best being the cheapest ?

A: Best is never cheapest, you need to be asking that in the vodafone or similar areas

Q: oh and last thing what version of Windows will I need for an Apple ID for iTunes for the iPod Touch ?

A: What matters is that your version is running the latest version of iTunes so Win 10 or Win 11

Q: Also how many GB's is enough to be able to have a big collection of songs and albums on an iPod Touch Is 128 to much ? Cex has a 128GB iPod Touch for sale but, its 200+ euro Is that a rip off ? or should I just go lower in GB

A: How big is your music collection? I have a 256Gb iPod touch but it's too small to store my library which is 1930 albums encoded at 320kbps VBR.

Most libraries wouldn't be that large, I fit 1300 albums onto my 256Gb with room to spare for apps such as BBC Sounds, RTE Radio, 8 Radio etc.

Q: Whats the best between the 5th, 6th and 7th generation ? Whats the difference ?

A: If you're just looking to listen to music then there's not much difference apart from the CPU and the version of iOS supported. Newer obviously will be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭ozmo

Pretty sure the IPhone 8 came with special wired earphones in the box that fit- maybe your uncle still has them?

If you want use standard wired earphones- there are adapters available that can go from IPhone 8 charge port to standard headphones. Official cost me I think 10 or 20 euros but there are unofficial ones for a fiver in like dealz and places.

The Iphone 8 makes for a great IPod.

9 pounds Apple dongle:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Apple-Lightning-Headphone-Jack-Adapter/dp/B01LWAUW1P

“Roll it back”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭STEE

I also have an Ipod Classic 120GB from my brother since he passed away but, I cant find the earphones that came with it. My brother used different ones. I read on the internet the earphones that came with the iPod Classic were shite and someone told me on here the same in a different post. So, I was just wondering what would be the best earphones to use with a iPod Classic ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭STEE

Q: Then I seen the prices for earbuds 200 and something euro like WTF man for small little earphones and then the headphones are 600 euro Jaysus like thats mad !

A: That's the price of em, note that quality ear-buds will generally tend to run in the €100 plus bracket (Bose, the good Sonys etc..) I've after finding a cheap pair by apple here https://www.apple.com/ie/shop/product/MMTN2ZM/A/earpods-with-lightning-connector Are these any good ? like for listening to music ? I just started using an iPod Classic 120 GB left by my brother, He passed away back in 2021 from lung and brain cancer. I cant find the original headphones from the iPod my brother didnt seem to use them. He used a pair of headphones from a Samsung phone. Also ppl told me on here the original headphones were shite The Samsung headphones sound great on the iPod. Anway are them earpods any good ?