Irish Property Market chat II - *read mod note post #1 before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

One of the lads here in work was in Dublin at the weekend for a concert and he actually spoke about how busy the pubs were.

Obviously this is not happening every night or is it happening in every town in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,625 ✭✭✭fliball123

Well if your narrative is that you went to 6 different restaurants and couldn't get a table as every where was hopping would suggest that things are great? You were in at 6 and couldn't get a table till 10 on the busiest day of the week. Now if only restaurants could afford the luxury of only having to open on a Saturday then things would be great for them.

What point are you labouring to make?

My narrative is that some pubs/restaurants may have been quiet last Saturday, any of the ones I, and seemingly others were in, were very busy. So it probably depends on where you go. Nothing more.

I don't think we're saying you are anyone else is wrong on this - just that we're having different experiences. Places where I go are extremely busy, but maybe that's just the area (D8/South Dublin City)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭quokula

In my experience everywhere I've been lately is buzzing and filled with people, whether its shops, cafés or restaurants. I don't really do pubs these days so can't say if they're any different.

Everywhere is busy whether in Dublin or local places around my commuter town. A new restaurant and a new fast food place opened in my town recently and there's a brunch place due to open soon, along with a new coffee shop, both of which are hiring for staff currently. Another popular long running local cafe had the confidence to invest in a major refurbishment recently too which has allowed an increased number of tables.

We did have one restaurant close down back around November which might be mentioned in one of the above cherry-picked news articles that show one side of the story, but there have absolutely been more openings than closures around my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,303 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

Indeed, I thought we'd see a levelling off but still continuing to rise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭combat14

Pressure to pile on borrowers as ECB rate hikes tipped to continue into 2024

An analysis of the market by Bonkers.ie shows that property prices will have to fall sharply if thousands of people are to avoid being priced out of the market.

“Markets are pricing in the refinance rate getting to 4.5pc by the end of the year. This would be an all-time high.”

He said inflation figures from Spain and France showed that inflation was not slowing down sufficiently to allow the ECB to ease off on its rate-hiking path.

Already, some mortgage rates in this market are at levels last seen 20 years ago.

Vulture-fund owned mortgages managed by Pepper have variable rates of around 8pc, while non-bank lender Finance Ireland is charging up to 6.9pc on its variable rates.

https://m.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/property-mortgages/pressure-to-pile-on-borrowers-as-ecb-rate-hikes-tipped-to-continue-into-2024-42363396.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭d mc

What's the BER on that yoke?

Actually reminds me of the lighthouse Rob Burgundy went to when he went blind :)

Ye could make a funky guesthouse out of some place like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,927 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Anyone have experience/knowledge of Bow Bridge House, Bow Bridge, Kilmainham?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Ozark707

I know many on this forum don't like to draw any comparisons with other markets but the hiking of IR's seems to have been the straw that broke the camels back vis a vis their property bubbles. As they too seem to be at full employment and are having net inward migration (like us) then it is going to be interesting to see what happens if and when the banks start to apply these increases here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,036 ✭✭✭Villa05

It is a little bit of a mystery, maybe the banks think they will come back down as quick as they went up or viewing it as an opportunity to squeeze the foreign competition that may have taken their premium customers.

Rates may come back down quickly but highly unlikely to go to 0 or anywhere near it with the inflation genie released

There is nothing to suggest (apart possibly some wishful thinking) that rates will come down quickly. The latest utterances I have seen from ECB sources is that once they peak they are likely to remain at that level for quite a time.

I have seen some speculation elsewhere that the main banks have been slow to raise rates here as they want to squeeze out some people who are keeping their trackers. Not sure how plausible that is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭herbalplants

I agree bizarre place, wouldn't fancy living in it 😉

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭herbalplants

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.

can already see rates rising on car pcp loans e.g. toyota has gone from 3.9% to 6.9%

prices have risen substantially and no more deals too

eventually something will give because most employees are not getting 10-25% pay rises after tax taken out ..

Central banks talk tough to reduce the amount of rate increases required. If the talk changes behaviour/demand the the amount of increases is reduced.

Speculation is plausible, if your on base rate plus 0.5%, the jump in your mortgage repayments has been very significant and will be felt. Fear would push some into a fixed rate. Banks wold be making very little if anything on those mortgages, but if there put on a fixed rate and loose there tracker, that's a different story for banks bottom line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭growleaves

Pretty decent for holding off bands of marauders if you fill the moat properly.

may be good news for some mortgage holders

Funds refusal to offer fixed rate mortgages may breach contracts financial advisor claims

https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2023/0301/1359477-funds-refusal-to-offer-fixed-rates-may-breach-contracts/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

At the end of the day, those people's loans are with the vulture funds because they didn't adhere to their original agreements. You can have a bit of sympathy for them, but after 14 years if they haven't sorted themselves out then there isn't a whole lot you can say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭wassie

In my view, Ireland mortgageholders have been able to absorb the early rate increases better than other countries due to our lower LTI limits. But we may be getting to the point now where these increases will start to bite.

Observations in Aus of the impact inflation and rate increases are having on the domestic economy on the back of their quarterly GDP figures released today.

• Consumer spending boomed coming out of lockdown, but is slowing significantly post Christmas.
    • Savings ratios declining which helped fund this spending.
    • Minor positive growth of 0.5%, but primarily a result of imports dropping significantly on the back of weaker demand.
    • The biggest contributors to inflation over the past year were housing (+9.8 per cent, due to both construction costs and rents), food and non-alcoholic beverages (+8.2 per cent) and recreation and culture (+10.2 per cent).
    • Early signs inflation may have peaked, but Reserve Bank still may need to push rates further to dampen price & wage growth.

In order to fund that modest increase in spending, the household savings rate dropped for the fifth-consecutive quarter, from 7.1 to 4.5 per cent.

"The household saving ratio continued to decline in the December quarter, to the lowest level since September 2017," Ms Keenan observed.

"The fall was driven by increased interest payable on dwellings, income tax payable and increased spending.

That's not true, good mortgages went to vulture funds also. All of Anglo customers did not default on there mortgages

Absolutely right.

I had a mortgage with Bank of Scotland, when they exited Ireland , the loan book went to Pepper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭DownByTheGarden

House prices SHOULD come down if interest rates go up and supply increases.

Im failing to see where this supply is going to come from though.

1 - There are not, and will definitely not be enough houses built at the moment to even keep pace.

2 - If interest rates go up or prices come down there will be even less incentive to build them.

3 - People looking to sell purely because they want the money will probably just stick and wait for another time unless they absolutely have to sell.

4 - People who cant pay their mortgages will just stay anyway no matter what the banks say or do. They will have learned lessons from the last crash.

5 - Landlords looking to sell cant even get their properties back to sell anyway. Im thinking whoever is not out in the next few weeks may never get out.

6 - Renters wont be leaving any rentals where they have a good rent so no supply coming from the rental market to the sale market.

Where are enough houses to turn the tide going to come on to the market from?

From my time in the food business the only down day of the week used to be Monday. A lot of places closed on Mondays and depended on the money earned the rest of the days to make it up. Usually Tuesday and Wednesday were slow put turned a profit. Things would ramp up from Thursday with Friday/Saturday generating maybe 50% of the whole weeks turnover, but lots more staff required to get it.

Since Christmas and going back a bit, but mostly since Christmas down days are Mon, Tue, Wed and even Thu now. This has never been seen before (apart from the pandemic). It wasnt even that bad after the last crash.

So now you have places having to close for 3 or even 4 nights a week. Staff then are leaving because they are not getting enough work. Getting new staff in they are looking for more money as not worth their while working 3 nights a week.

The whole industry is in the sh1t. And its not the only one either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

The only thing stopping a person from moving a mortgage is their inability to get another institution to take them on.

If someone had a mortgage with Anglo Irish (and I'm not sure what direct, if any, exposure Anglo itself had to retail mortgages at the time of its collapse)... well they aren't in a position to claim what is in the article - i.e. that their new lender isn't giving them what is currently available from Anglo.

A friend who owns a large bar/restaurant told me that one enormous benefit for him from Covid, is that he closes the restaurant Monday through Wednesday and no longer does lunches apart from Thursday to Sunday. The other days were just about profitable prior to Covid but he didn’t want to put staff on part time.

Was common at the time. Ive a friend who owned one and they had the whole family working there the odd weekend when home from college or wherever they were away. Also a few friends in cleaning one day a week for a few bob to help them out. Even the children had jobs. Helped with the tax. During the pandemic the whole lot of them got the full covid payment. Not bad if you can get it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭flended12

Dunno if it been answered/discussed but with the recent 4 hikes in my mortgage am I better looking at fixing a rate now or riding out the storm till they reduce again, which if history tells us, it will come back down again. Id hate to fix now at high rate.

Thoughts?