If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,383 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Most of the people I originally joined up to be with, no longer post or have closed their accounts.

Still have my account but rarely log in these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,725 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I was going to suggest sticking a match to it if it was dry enough and working with the regrowth. But then sensibilities kicked in and I'd be attacked from every vegan, every PhD, every drone operator now looking for the shill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,725 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

If you haven't interacted with a poster in the last few days. Your post won't show up on their timeline due to this new algorithm from Musk. And then very often it's what's recommended for you shows up which is not what you'd be interested in anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Irish ag twitter isn’t a big loss going by what I’m seeing recommended to me. Ohh, look at me I’m flat out calving and I need caffeine to stay going, see picture of said calves and caffeinated beverages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

There is one lad on it I know of and if you were to go by what he posts you would think he is an award winning farmer. If you stood in his yard (its actually his dads) you wouldn't think it was the same lad as on twitter. Its as untidy a place I was ever in, scrap machinery all around the place, rotten bales of silage from over the years in lumps in the paddocks around the yard and the muck everywhere, you need waders if entering. His photos don't show any of that, nor do they ever show him doing any work. His dad is a hard goer, from dawn to dusk, but the twitter poster might appear in the yard around noon, yawning and he be gone before tea time after giving out to the father for not doing all the jobs. Anyone who works around the yard hates seeing this lad as he is always giving out about something, so if they can they call early in the morning when they know he is still in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,277 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

You don't have to go to twitter to meet such people....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

@whelan2 O I know that, I do laugh at your man when I see his posts on twitter & I would guess when the father stops working the place will probably rented to the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,709 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Any Kilkenny lads on here? Say it aint true ...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,345 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Anyone try the Supersoil product ??

I was curious and bought a 1 acre pack to try on half a field to see if there is anything no to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Hasnt been said as far as im aware in the media yet however my uncle was contacted by the gardai as a certain GAA superstar text him asking him if he knew anyone capable of sending him a donation to fund treatment for cancer in the states. He doesnt have cancer, i heard during the week the cancer story started out 30 years ago and looks like its still going on he does have some sort of sickness/illness like his sister and possibly another brother of his too. I remember him well growing up (same club) the nicest most down to earth fella you would meet its mad to think the positive impact he has had on countless youngsters across the country and then this all comes out. Theres plenty of stories going around these parts since it started to break locally in the past few weeks about his living conditions etc and you would feel bad for him upon hearing it had this new scandal not broke. The man hasnt a bob to his name however i saw him in town before Christmas and he was driving a 222 reg jeep.

Theres a hell of a lot to be said for being able to go out and do a days work, that man couldnt do anything but hurl so he was f#cked when his county days were over. Too many pats on the back growing up and in fairness in St Kierans College (also a past pupil) if youre handy at hurling you can do what ye like in there and youll get on reasonably good. There was probably no career guidance back then either when he was there and the teachers at the time probably figured it would all fall into place for him as he was a superstar on the pitch.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,090 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Jeez, as a big hurling fan myself, I was really saddened to hear it. It's a problem through out the GAA though. Anyone that's any way showing some talent at underage is treated like a demigod. I seen it here locally. They don't exactly grow up to be well rounded individuals.

Local gaa star has his head so far up his arse here . Doesn't even acknowledge the promising young kids at the club or any kids for that matter. They are the future of the sport . Its all about him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Our county man is the complete opposite. He spends a lot of time in the club with underage teams etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

No Irish court will look at them so what's the point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,270 ✭✭✭StevenToast

I married a woman who was better off than me financially....she has no interest in my farm and i have no interest in her assets/income....

Took me a while to find her...but got there in the end.

Happy Valentines day!

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

Happy valentines day 💓

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Dealing with banks for a loan is a horror show. Absolute incomepetence all round. Have bent over backwards for the fuckers so far. Latest craic now is they lost documents sent in 4 months ago. Jaysus christ. A more cynical person would say they are dragging their holes so a drawdown would only be possible after they up their interest rates next Tuesday.

Get a scanner and scan everything you send to people. Has served me well in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,660 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Oh I have copies and records of sending/uploading it. It's the shambles in the bank itself dragging their heels. It's cat altogether since they announced the last rate hike

You should try being an ulsterbank customer at the moment looking for a loan off new bank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Base price

We changed from Ulster Bank to Bank of Ireland a few weeks ago - stocking loan and overdraft the same as what we had in UB. No major issue other than the usual having accounts up to date. Our accountant suggested BoI over AIB as they seem to want farmers business.

Aib are taking over my existing loan, it's just bad timing as existing loan won't move until April.. I did go to bank of ireland to suss them out but found the staff very rude and I wouldn't fancy dealing with them for confidential stuff as it was being broadcast to everyone there what your business was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Base price

That terrible service from BoI, I hope we don't have the same experience. We also deal with AIB but that account has to do with another business. Their staff are ok but nothing like the Ulster Bank staff who I always found to be very efficient and helpful.

Ye in fairness ulster staff were always great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

When I opened an Ulster Bank account, the lady noted my address saying it was the second time that day that she had come across it and naming my neighbour. I did say it to her that it was inappropriate information. Later that day when I met him I was tempted to say I heard you were turned down for a loan today.