General Premier League Thread 2022-23 - mod note in OP 12/03/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,628 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I say Arsenal will be peeved today with the Premier league and VAR (PMOL?) coming out today with saying they forgot to check the offside in the goal against them and yes it should have been disallowed. Totally different and more serious IMO then an interpretation of a foul or offside. Though I hear they messed up one of those this weekend also with wrong lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,882 ✭✭✭✭CSF

But taking a player down on purpose isn't even an automatic yellow card, you do it in the first 15 minutes and the 'oh you can't give a yellow that early in the game' argument comes out. But we're gonna make arguing with a ref into an automatic yellow card offence. I agree that seeing 4 or 5 lads circled around the ref isn't great, and yet I still don't think I agree with turning that into an automatic yellow card while so many cheating offences get dismissed as clever.

Well, not exactly. You're seeing a concerted push towards trying to give less yellow cards for things, with the intention of the referee having less of an influence on things. Obviously, this leads to players trying to get away with as much as possible (which is really just a nicer way of saying cheating), and we think this is less of a problem than players arguing with a referee about a decision? Really?

The rules are there, they just need to be enforced. I mean they brought in the goalkeeper 6 second rule and now every keeper seemingly has an exemption to it. Bring in a time limit on corners and free kicks too.

As much as I've been critical of that sport in the past, rugby has worked tirelessly on making their game more watchable and it's great to watch now compared to a few years back. There are constant fouls and penalties because they actually reward good attacking play, not no call blatant fouls in the box.

I actually think football could do with a huge overhaul of the laws. It's all about fitness and not tiring rather than rewarding skilful play from players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭doc_17

I watched a game on Saturday with 4 added minutes. On 93:50 the ref booked a player for time wasting. Then the ref blew it up on 94:05. Add an extra minute FFS when they do that. Any any outfield player from the opposition that lifts a ball after conceding a free should also get a yellow.

Whoah there never said less of a problem I think they are equally important especially with the whole soccer Respect push. That should mean all not just players

There needs to be a spectrum though, because if everything becomes a yellow card, that creates problems of its own. I don't think arguing with the ref is equally important to actual cheating. Dissent rules already exist for players being verbally abusive towards referees, but merely arguing with the referee is way down the spectrum from those things IMO. I don't know if its disrespectful to merely argue with someone btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭McFly85

The annoying thing about time wasting is that the World Cup showed how it works in practice. Crazy added time for a few games before nobody bothers with it anymore because it’s pointless to do it.

It’s crazy that the PL wouldn’t look at bringing that in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,035 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Can't mess with that Super Sunday schedule or Sky will not get all their adverts in.

That, and the fans in the stadium who want to beat the rush to the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,328 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Well the fix there is to stop this crap of not giving a yellow because it's too early.

"The ref ruined the game" is a blight on the sport especially the English game.

Yeah, don’t disagree with you, but still think there needs to be some cutoff point with automatic yellows where we start to see too many of them.

Automatic yellows for non-abusive arguing feels like a step past that cutoff point for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,328 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The way to stop too many of them is for the players to stop cheating and crowding the ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Bluebb993

Aston villa were time wasting yesterday even at 2 and 3 nil down

An automatic card for arguing with the ref or surrounding the ref stops that action players will soon just stop as it's not worth it like time wasting at the world cup with the added time

There will always be fouling no matter what

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

If they inform the clubs & enforce the rules (whatever they are) all this stops & the players will learn very quickly that crowding the ref isn’t allowed. By not giving automatic cards for crowds of players rushing at the referee they’re telling the players that this behaviour is acceptable.

Let’s say they do this. Next season starts & the first time this happens, after a foul etc. 4 or 5 players charge at the referee to protest/shout/whatever & they’re each shown a yellow card, watch how quickly player behaviour changes. We saw it at the World Cup a few months ago, they start adding on heavy amounts of injury time, the time wasting stops within a few games. Players only act this way because there is generally no bad consequence for them.

I’d like to see them copy rugby in this way. Only the captain approaches the ref & any instructions to the players are initiated through the captain. When the ref tells them to walk away they do so. Demand respect & show authority!

Yeah, I don’t actually believe this. Dissent is already a rule and players still can’t stop themselves in the heat of the moment. I think putting the yellow card offence, drops the amount of times people argue with the ref, but I’m defo not comfortable with the value of those additional yellows.

You start getting 2nd yellows and reds and you start loosing then so be it. Why is other professional sports notably rugby it doesn't happen. Ref speaks to captain and no one else and referee tells you to go away and you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I think you should be able to respectfully communicate with the ref, even about something you disagree with, without punishment - but the second you start shouting and roaring at them should be a yellow card.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,755 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Players sprinting quicker than they ever have in their lives to cover 30 yards to "talk" to the ref deserve the yellow.

That was one of the few good decisions made this week.

Sure its not the top of the list of issues but its an easy fix so no excuse not to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,682 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Was that a foul? I thought Tarkowski got the ball...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,226 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

the everton player was well entitled to go for that ball. what were the liverpool lads giving out about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

Thays about as dirty as it gets from the Everton player. Absolutely no surprises though with that lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,938 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Devastating counter attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭doc_17

Everton are a danger from corners….to themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,812 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Terrific breakaway goal by Liverpool. Finished by Salah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,226 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

1-0 liverpool thru salah. pickford suspect positioning and right after everton hit the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,938 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I know there were a rake of Liverpool players in that attack, but Pickford didn't cover himself in glory there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Wout Fayes will be pissed off…..he is now only Liverpools joint top scorer since the World Cup!