Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

And what exactly of major positive significance has the current shower done?

Oh yeah the long promised new national children's hospital is a bit nearer completion.

Only thing is it will be the most expensive hospital in the world by a good measure and probably not fit for purpose from the start.

Besides staff are leaving St James in their droves because of the poor working conditions.

What else have they done over the last couple of decades?

Oh yeah created a construction bubble through their policies, with wrongly built properties in the wrong places, leading to a colapse of all our indigenous banks resulting in massive taxpayer funded bailout, then total lack of building for a number of years resulting in huge lack of housing today.

A health system that is one of the best financed in Europe, but not fit for purpose which means people that can afford it go for private healthcare.

And that is before we even mention the joke of importing dodgy people from God knows where that we can't afford or house.

The current parliament could reword the old slogan to now read

"A lot fooked up, a lot more to fook up"

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,570 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

• Administrators Posts: 55,180 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

What's holding them back is the reality that the appetite among the voters for any party to move to the right on issues is low.

Moving far enough to the right on immigration to placate the loud few at the moment would just result in alienating people in the middle and they'd lose votes there. You must also factor in the fact that many of those expressing concern and saying their issue is the process rather than the people are lying, and there will be no pleasing them barring some extreme measures that are never going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

You probably need to I dunno, chill,have a few jars, get laid or something. You sound very wound up.

How long have the Ukrainians been in the hotel?

The owner of the hotel would have signed a contract and would have been given a contact with the Dept. Of Integration.

A phone call threatening closure with a hotel full of refugees will have the money in pretty sharpish.

That said I would be surprised if any bank closed their line of credit knowing they have an active government contract.

It's not like the other signature is going to go bankrupt and the creditors don't get paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

I take the replies of both strazdas and awec above at face value.

It would seem that some people out there really think it is only a minority in the country who are strongly objecting to current immigration policy.

And maybe that is how those in the bubble see it too.

awec seems to believe that implementing tighter border controls, turning around those without papers and, above all, signalling that obtaining asylum status here is going to be made way harder, is somehow "far right" and beyond what the middle ground would find acceptable.

That's not my read of where we're at at all.

It would be hugely popular.

I'm just mystified at how slowly FG are moving there.

People ask what have the protests achieved. Most centres remain occupied.

The protests have been hugely succesful. They've given people a license to say private things publicly.

People had one view on immigration they held privately and then another thing they said in public.

Once they saw some of their neighbours and countrymen saying the private bit out loud they felt empowered to do so too.

Everyone has a different threshold for that change - some need only a few others to be saying it and they switch, others need it to be a majority. They follow. There's a snowball effect.

You're watching that cascade in the last two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭Bsharp

There's too many people affected by housing and cost of living issues for it not to have wider resonance.

It's understandable, and telling people they shouldn't be concerned in those circumstances is aggravating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Thatsthejob

I am aware we need a certain amount of immigration like all western countries. However such as Oz and the USA this should be vetted.

At the moment we are leaving in anybody who is willing to come here. How anybody cannot see the issues this will create in the not too distant future is beyond me.

Calling everybody who disagrees with this situation as Far Right is ridiculous. Most people I speak to feel a cap needs to be put on the numbers entering or country and this farce of turning up with no documents needs to be stamped out straight away.

Stand up for our beautiful country as unfortunately our polictians seem to have no regard for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭MagicJohn

I find it hard to believe they haven't got paid tbh (depending on how long they have been hosting Ukrainians) - there is a thing called the prompt payment act.

I also spoke with a hotel owner who told me they have gotten paid but the money was slow coming, he is renewing his contract and will be keeping the Ukrainians in his hotel.

He said he couldn't throw them out because they had settled in the town, children had gotten school places etc.

Somehow I don't think that is the fulness of his motivations for keeping them on, my guess is that the less salubrious hotels will be happy to keep the Ukrainians for the guaranteed income, it's the more upmarket hotels that could command a premium rate from tourists that won't be renewing contracts.

What then?

Where will they go?

I honestly think the government should double the rate for private homeowners to keep Ukrainians to €1600 per month as a more powerful incentive.

I am aware we need a certain amount of immigration like all western countries. However such as Oz and the USA this should be vetted.

The majority of illegals or undocumented enter both countries perfectly legally. Trumps beautiful big wall was a tool to whip up the crazies.

"Vetted" is what the guards do if you want to work with children or the vulnerable.

Anyone claiming asylum in the state is cross checked on SIS II system, photographed and finger printed and extensively interviewed.

Making no sense there at all, I have no idea at what you are on about.

The real dan Breen would be turning in his grave.

How do you cross check people with no documentation before housing them in local communities?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

Seems that some believe that the Irish are somehow different to the hundreds of millions who swept avowedly anti-immigrant politicians/causes to office in the US, UK, Italy, and beyond in recent years. That might be true, but it's a curious take on the Irish psyche.

Protests have been a phenomenal success, and have been a key tipping point. Everyone can see with their own eyes that the attendees are just normal, concerned citizens---people like themselves. This immediately put lie to the propaganda that anti-immigrants comprise the militant "far-right." This in turn liberated people to talk about immigration. Compare the immigration "debate" today to that in October; this is largely due to the protests. And never again can the government ship busloads of men into communities with impunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Why would that be? Dan breen was no racist and certainly wouldn't begrudge food and shelter to anyone!

100% and just think how big the protests will be in the summer?

They have unleashed the beast!

How do they interview these people who have no documentation before landing them into a local community???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,155 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Just to illustrate my point, newstalk had no problem giving a platform to Brendan Ogle this evening to have a go at the hard right.

He did make an interesting comment though about journalists. Back when Gemma was doing her thing he said (I'm paraphrasing) that there was a broad consensus to not give them the oxygen of publicity and they would go away. He said that that strategy was not working this time around.

Its news and not opinion shaping eh...

I agree 100% with this comment. I can see the marches getting bigger all around the country in the coming weeks. A couple of months ago I and I belive most people weren't taking too much notice of this but it is now apparent how big an issue it has become for Irelands future.

But he put Ireland first not some Globalist lackeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

I didn't make any claim, other than to state the obvious, the midweek breaks that were available previously are no longer there.

It's simple economic supply and demand.

If you want to believe that hotels are holding prices below what they can achieve in a vastly reduced market then believe it away.

Less rooms = higher prices.

I can't dumb it down any more for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

When people talk about unvetted men they can only mean Garda vetting. "Vetted" does not and never can mean anything else.

How facile and yet how often you hear this from the dwindling number still trying to defend this immigration regime.

People are worried we know next to nothing about the background and history of these men. That's what they mean by unvetted.

What information do you think the Guards or Europol have access to about the criminal history of recent arrivals from Algeria, Zimbabwe or Somalia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭brickster69

27 euros all inclusive a night in Turkey. A few cheap Ryanair flights one way and the jobs a good un.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Bs. Ya would arrive with them in tow to prove your need and if that massive threat did exist ya would ensure their safety

Post edited by Mr. teddywinkles on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

I'd say the chimpanzee hanging from the trees would offer better solutions.

They are self obsessed gobshites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,806 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Here's how:

'Immigration barrister Cathal Malone explains that people who arrive without documents still face rigorous testing before being granted asylum.

“Whatever claim they are making will be assessed with reference to information from their country of origin, reports from the US State Department, UK Home Office, reputable international media, information the department gets from Interpol, Europol and other EU countries,” he said.

“So, it is not that we just accept people at face value. There are fairly rigorous interviews and everything someone says is checked to the point that people often end up getting refused for the slightest inconsistencies.”'

Also, the no documents thing appears to be happening across Europe, not just in Ireland:

"Ireland is not the only country in Europe dealing with large numbers of undocumented asylum seekers.

Some 45% of the adult asylum seekers arriving in Germany in 2021 had no valid documents, while the figure in the Netherlands was 52% in 2020." (both figures actually a good bit higher than Ireland).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

So we need an EU wide response to outdated rules that are being taken advantage of

I would point out that the fact we are an island means we should expect less without passports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭riddles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Rustyman101

Was never a believer ln conspiracy theory's but I'm truly baffled as to how this is being allowed to continue unchecked.

Are we seriously "obligated" to decant the entire 3rd world population into ireland ?

How someone with 2 functioning braincells can't see this is going to end very very badly for all is beyond me.

It's chaos of the highest order.

The genie is out of the bottle now I'm genuinely worried for the future of this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

Who is this Cathal Malone fella?

As in who pays him?

Is he getting the equivalent of free legal aid from Paddy the taxpayer to be representing these people?

If so he is nothing more than a typical vested interest and the more people that arrive the more cash he makes.

Whats an "immigration barrister" anyway, where do you study that in college?