Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭jackboy

I expect he got a stern warning about that far right statement so unlikely he will go down that road again. So, back to the initial strategy of no planning, hoping for the best and if things go wrong just shrug the shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

Government are exhibiting an urgency and ingenuity re migrant accommodation that I've never seen deployed towards their own people. There are simply no limits on what they'll do for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

The state does not have to place refugee centres anywhere, most especially for single men from God knows fooking where.

Ireland had become so attractive to chancers, and yes that includes some Ukrainians, that the exaxt opposite has got to be done to stop even more people turning up and to convince the chancers here to fook off.

Yeah you can call me a heartless fooker, but beggaring ourselves and our children so that gobshytes in power can appeal to self grandiosing halfwits in the media, vested interests in NGOs making a living off this lunacy and corrupt global organisations with celebrity endorsements is not what is good for our society and our people.

And the people are the natives, the ones here legally on VISAs and not some fooking chancer that arrived claiming they can't go home, wherever the fook that is.

We threw open the doors to Ukrainians, but now the p* is being taken even by some of them.

Why would you want to go back, most especially if you had legged and left your country folk to fight for the country's survival.

We stop it now because mark my words this is going to end in blood.

A traitor.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,323 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

So he is basically saying that communities don't want refugee centers in their area and his answer is basically this is inconvenient and thus better off not consulting because of this.

Democracy when it suits Roderic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭minimary

Then they should be honest and say there will be no consultation. Its the mealy mouthed pretending that they will consult local communities and then not doing it. They've been saying for months if not years now whenever problems arise that they will be open with local communities about whats happening but never do. I would respect the answer of we're not going to tell you whats happening because you won't like it over claiming that next time they'll inform people. He should be honest about the contempt he has for people who don't share his world view.

Theres plenty of open space in the RTE grounds, that seems like a perfect space for a tent set up for a few months

Only legitimate and democratic "consultation" is via a referendum, not this shambles of "discussions" with the community. On that ballot will be one question: Do you want further unlimited immigration or not? YES or NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Such a referendum would see the NO side win by at least 80-20.

This is why there will be no such referendum.

Mass immigration is, and always has been, deeply unpopular among native populations in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Put it to the people and then most of us win or lose will have our faith restored in democracy

If they don’t give us those things it will just get worse and very nasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,803 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The "Not in my back yard" mindset may well be causing much of the actual Irish domestic housing crisis, so I'm not convinced the government should be paying too much attention to what these local communities have to say about housing and accommodation. A lot of these guys are objecting to virtually everything that is planned : 'it's too high, it's too big, it's too near us, it's blocking our view, there's not enough amenities in the area for new houses, it's devaluing our property' etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Thats just how our government operates though:

EG:

If your against gay marriage your a homophobe.

Against Abortion your a backwards church nut.

Don't want Irish neutrality threatened - you love russia.

They love to stand on one side of the division and use it to quell any argument, and they can, because our backwards system of party whips and brown envelope independents means they can do what they want. Ie Sealing the mother and baby home records. We allow them away with that crap. Always have, always will.

Politicians must pay attention to what local communities say. They are elected by them. Irish politics is very local.

Frustrating at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭baldbear

Anyone listening to Pat Kenny? Fair play to facts been aired.

40% with false or no documents came here last year. Asylum seekers interviewed said the only reason they come here is because they can work after 6 months and get official papers .

A good few interviewed came from the UK.

Appears we have an open border policy at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Pat has both the intellect and the stature to force a change in discourse, might be an arrogant sod but he’s street ahead of the conveyor belt of journalists leaving left wing madrassas nowadays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

And even better was later when they interveiwed women protestors.

One it turns out is married to an African so there goes the chance of labeling her a racist.

Then the interviewer asked her how he came here and she replied he kept his documents.

Now the likelihood is they may not have had visa and they did claim asylum?

Then another women was saying they have no idea who these men are.

Of course interviewer went to plan B and said how they could be fleeing warzones, to which the woman piped up and said

"how come it is only the young men, what about the women and children in these warzones"?

No answer from interviewer.

The people are wising up and asking the questions with the inconvenient answers.

Have to say Kenny is it seems the only one setting out to really debate this.

Earlier on Newstalk you had muppets debating how Welsh Rugby have stopped choir singing "Bye Bye Deliah" because it is misogynistic or some such.

Then lad pipes up about ELO's "Devil Woman" and how it is misogynistic.

So it aint Newstalk that is finally seeing the light it is Kenny himself.

And is there any chance McDowell could resurrect a party again.

He would get my vote.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭conorhal

He'll have to go to the electorate in the next 2yrs and I really hope people remember this behaviour from O'Gorman and give him a 'taste of democracy' so that we get to see how it suits him then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

9356FD4A-915B-4137-9598-6A2E2CA8371D.png

I don’t understand what “initially refused to disembark” means. Are these just the numbers where an officer stood at the steps of the plane? If it is, does that mean that the actual number without documentation is a lot higher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,360 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

how come it is only the young men, what about the women and children in these warzones.

Man goes first, saves money, sends for women and children has been a staple of emigration for centuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

That's emigration. This is fleeing a life and death situation.

On the Titanic women and children went first, fleeing a life and death situation.

In a hotel near me it was all women and children that arrived in one of the first waves of refugees from Ukraine, fleeing a life and death situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

That’s economic migration. If you say you’re claiming asylum due to threat to life, war or famine, not very nice to leave your wife and kids behind.

Indeed. What is the character of these men who i) leave the women and children behind and ii) destroy their documentation?

This has been explained by experts in the field. Often the men are going there ahead of their family to try and establish a base in the new country. They haven't left their wife and children behind (or siblings, parents etc) - they're trying to arrange things so that it will be safe for the family to join them at a later date.

It's a complete caricature that they are all potential terrorists or sex offenders who are dumping their families.

So for each of these single men who enter the country, are you saying that there are on average at least two more who will come over to join them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭minimary

There was a fairly sneering article last week in the Guardian that basically said that the UK Government were wrong to describe these migrants as single men a lot of them are married. Which is such a dumb take, no one was objecting because they looked at them and though they were unmarried men they were objecting because they know that means the actual rate of migrants will be multiplied

Yes, in fact. Many of the 'single young men' are not single at all and are trying to pave a way for their families to join them. But this probably more an issue with people making the dangerous crossing across the English Channel to England in dinghies, than people coming to Ireland on board aircraft. A breakdown of the Irish stats for 2021 showed that there was an almost 50-50 split between men and women/children making asylum claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Jasus I would have imagined Cormac or Fergal would have given one of those newly arrived lads, most of them via Belfast BTW, Fergal interviewed on drivetime a bed for the night with all the emoting out of them.. But no too cowardly to ask any searching questions like a proper journalist might

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,082 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Heard it. This is the standard of migrant Ireland is attracting now!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Blind As A Bat

Did anybody see the bit on RTE's website earlier this evening about 180,000 refugees being in Ireland by the end of this year? If it's true it's downright scary. The country really cannot deal with that.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2023/0202/1353426-refugee-prediction/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Blind As A Bat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭jackboy

Not surprising. The government previously told us that the large scale influx of migrants is permanent so we can expect this every year going forward. I’d be more worried that this ambitious policy is being carried out without planning.