General Premier League Thread 2022-23 - mod note in OP 12/03/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

Like everything else, rival fans will give out about Arteta's behaviour but if the manager of their own club was doing it and the team were top of the league those same fans would be calling it great passion. Likewise I'm sure the Arsenal fans defending Arteta now would also be outraged if a rival manager had done the same in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭jacool

Irrelevant to the point I was making though. I was saying that a team 13 points ahead at this stage of the season, got overhauled.

You are, in fact, stating that the overhaul only took 16 games.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Honestly, it doesn't bother me in the slightest what other managers do or don't do 😂 it's nothing to do with what happens on the pitch so it's completely irrelevant in the grand scheme of things, just something concocted by the likes of Keys for as someone else said, clicks and media engagement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

But you see that's where your wrong,

It not completely irrelevant it can & has effected games in numerous ways , decision of officials on the pitch, even without effecting officials it can have an effect ,, Arteta & Pep recently enough both lost there head at Anfeild & it lofted the home crowd & thus the players & there teams went on to lose,

Fergie was the master of effecting officials ,Jose followed in his foot steps ,

My worry is Arteta will effect his own players ,if Arsenal go down in the second half of a game they will need him to remain clam & effective ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Richard Keyes is an absolutely terrible presenter. I remember complaining to sky about him. He’s smuggish and just really annoying, I can’t stand him.

But what annoyed me more about Arteta was anytime United players were taking throws near his box he was usually screaming stuff practically in their ear. He was regularly outside of the box, rarely in it to be fair. That I don’t actually really care about but he was interfering with United players anytime there was throw ins near his designated area.

There was one incident where Ericson was shielding ball out of play for a United throw and Arteta was so close to the by line Ericson nearly had to avoid the arsenal manager. He looked at the ref in a “wtf” sort of way because a player shouldn’t have to worry about running into a manager when doing that. That shouldn’t be happening.

Asides from that, any emotion from a manager that’s not at your club is gonna be annoying for rivals. Like having your own Roy Keane or cantona or Suarez, you will love how they wreck the heads of other teams/fans and will defend the indefensible.

it’s ironic that Ferguson used to get stick for supposedly influencing refs and managers can now scream sh*t all day in their area. And then the likes of Passive aggressive pep can make insinuations of bias from refs but gets away with it because he pretends he feels sorry for refs.

Another thing to be mindful of Necro is the higher profile your team becomes the more scrutiny. Things that may not matter in other games become a problem , particularly in big matches. No offence but arsenal have been relatively irrelevant for years (like United) but now that they look dangerous and are in bigger games people will pick apart everything. People went nuts for the goal United scored against city and didn’t give a fk about the obvious peno denied against palace a few days later for numerous reasons. That ended up costing us Casemerio for arsenal game and 2 points. But I digress.

I always took the unbalanced over the top insults against SAF as a sign that United were simply the best and that the only reason fans used to target him was because they were jealous. With Arteta there is probably an element of that, he may get away with it more this season but if arsenal win the league, the FA will look to make an example of him next season. That’s what they do , unless you are passive aggressive pep who for some reason is exempt , Prob cause he’s “good for the league” and city seem to get all sorts of passes where every other club , including Klopp , get pulled up on it.

Post edited by Drumpot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

I am not an Arsenal or City fan but I am looking forward to seeing them play especially Arteta and Pep on the sidelines. Sky should have a dedicated camera on it, could be great viewing. Have that fella David Coote ref the game to add some spice to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,025 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I see Chelsea are now in for Gordon, as a suffering Everton be glad to see him go, but what is it with Chelsea and signing wingers , **** bonkers, how many do they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,952 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

The Guardian are reporting Everton have been put up for sale for £500m (or what Chelsea have spent on players since Boehly came in).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭POKERKING

I really dont get the gordon hype, what am i missing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,278 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

They should change the club to

we buy any winger

The internet isn’t for everyone

The Mane & Salah era seem to have every club thinking they need two goal scoring wide forwards,

Every one seems to be in the market for them paying crazy prices & when it doesn't work out look to more ,

Grealish 100 needs replacing, Sterling at Chelsea, United could replace Sancho & Anthony already , Its madness

You make a point that Every club wants scoring wingers and then use at least two examples of wingers that weren't bought for there goal scoring abilities is all very random

I think all where bought to score goals , Who wasn't bought to score goals ?

There's no question all 4 where bought with the intention of scoring goals .,

Go back and read your first post you sound confused. You argue mane and salah caused this like it was a new thing, so before that you thought wingers were signed for something else.

There are so many reasons wide players especially are bought some of it is goal scoring but not always at elite levels.

You have create a poorly thought out argument to have a pop at a few players it seems because you are already arguing against yourself.

If you think grealish was bought for his goal scoring I'd actually have to question if you have ever seen him play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,035 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

March TV Fixtures

Saturday 4th March

Man City v Newcastle - (12:30) - (BT Sport)

Southampton v Leicester - (17:30) - (Sky Sports)

Sunday 5th March

Nott'm Forest v Everton - (14:00) - (Sky Sports)

Liverpool v Man Utd - (16:30) - (Sky Sports)

Monday 6th March

Brentford v Fulham (20:00) - (Sky Sports)

Saturday 11th March

AFC Bournemouth v Liverpool - (12:30) - (BT Sport)

Crystal Palace v Man City - (17:30) - (Sky Sports)

Sunday 12th March

Fulham v Arsenal - (14:00) - (Sky Sports)

West Ham v Aston Villa* - (14:00)

*due to UEFA Europa Conference League

Newcastle v Wolves - (16:30) - (Sky Sports)

Friday 17th March

Nott'm Forest v Newcastle - (20:00) - (Sky Sports)

Saturday 18th March

Aston Villa v AFC Bournemouth

Brentford v Leicester*

Liverpool v Fulham*

Southampton v Spurs*

Wolves v Leeds*

*Subject to FA Cup participation

Chelsea v Everton - (17:30) - (Sky Sports)

Sunday 19th March

Arsenal v Crystal Palace*

*due to UEFA Europa League

Brighton v Man Utd - (14:00) - (Sky Sports)**

Man City v West Ham - (16:30) - (Sky Sports)**

**Subject to FA Cup participation

You said two who was the other one bought not to score goals

Grealish like Sterling before him had a modest goal return before joining City & like Sterling before him you can bet your house Pep expected him to come alive in terms of goals , he hasn't scored them hence the talk already of him getting moved on ,

The top teams in the last 3/4 season have brought in wide forwards to get goals no question about it,

Can you name a wide forward at top Prem side not currently being judged on his goals or lack of them ?

Dude you started this nonsense with everyone is trying to copy the salah mane era where they were Liverpools two primary goal scorers ok so this is what the discussion is based off..

Then you choose wingers who obviously weren't bought to be there clubs primary goal scorers as an example of that, which as I said is just odd.

Of course grealish has a modest goal return he isn't asked or wanted to contribute many goals at city, pep has a different job for him he has other players who can score lots of goals.

No they haven't you have just imagined this in your head, Anthony is a wide forward who is kept wide all the time he doesn't or isn't asked to get in the box to score goals primarily, rashford plays narrower on the other side and shaw keeps the width, salah and mane always played narrow and Robertson and Trent provided the width at Liverpool.

Dude I've no idea what the question even means but if you are soley judging a wide player whos primary function is not to score goals on his goal scoring you might want to broaden your ideas on what should be Judged

Ahh i see Anthony & Sancho where named so your getting upset,

Ye your right Anthony is not supposed to score goals he was bought to spin around in circles & basically be anonymous

In December ep himself said he wants Grealish to be more ambitious & aggressive as he wants him to score more goals ,

Liverpool fan our not Mane & Salah & to a degree Sterling & Son changed what's expected of wide forwards in the Prem,

Great counter point, trying to make out I'm upset im not, merley pointing out you have made a very silly conversation point. I highlighted grealish and anothy I didn't even mention Sancho so again a poor point or one made in bad faith.

More goals is just that not the primary goal scorer which again I've to bring you back to your first post and orgional point, so no moving the goal posts.

No they haven't not at all, I mean klopp and pep have gotten strikers this year they want to be the primary goal scorers.

Just because you imagine this doenst make it so, and as I've pointed out your examples used were awful like saying grealish should be judged soley on his goal scoring is laughable

And just to add anothy is scoring at goal at a rate of .32 per 90 less but still comparable to sakas and martenellis rate of .39, so when he has played his goal scoring has actually been at a decent level. There are deffo better flaws to pick out if you feel the need to talk about him being overpriced.

Nobody said he should be judge solely on it but in the end of the day he is being judged right now by everyone on his lack of goal involvements

You really think City thought 100 million Jack would only 6 goals in 53 Prem & Champions league games,

Iv no idea why you think Antony was brought not to score goals , What was he bought to do as he has 0 assists, He scored in his first 3 games & not since in the league ,

Lets go back to the original comment ,If you think for 1 second the 4 lads i mentioned where not signed with the expectations of scoring more goals than they have for the clubs your off your nut pal ,& we can agree to disagree

That's exactly what you are doing 😅 you are judging then on there goal scoring you haven't mentioned one other aspect untill this post, assists, as you again try to move the goal posts.

Your orgional post was all kinds of nonsense.

6 in 53 was not the argument, you said he was signed to be a primary goal scorer like salah and mane were at there best, this is clearly not true,

Anothy plays wider then saka and martenelli he is primarily a facilitator, and as I said he is scoring about a goal every 3 games besides this, close to the two lads, so you are actually arguing for him being a good buy but honestly I'd have to disagree ( as I said goals only is a poor way to judge players)

The original point again Just to be clear salah and mane primary goal scorers ok? Lads you mentioned not. Simple?

There is no agree to disagree you made a really poor point and have tried to move the goalposts since then ,and now are signing off with a strawman argument, it's hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,340 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Why would you bother Mick, seriously, you know the craic at this stage.🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,752 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

This is especially dire tbf. Still not sure wtf the original claim is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,135 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Liverpool invented scoring wingers. No one ever thought of that before and now, everyone, even Pep are trying to copy them with no success.

The original point was Mane & Salah started a trend of Wide forwards getting judge on goals , its not a question of its right or wrong to judge them that way I'm simply saying what's happing ,hence Chelsea huge turn over looking for WF who can score,

There certainty didn't invent it , but they started the current trend in the Prem wide forwards getting judged on goals ,

I don't think anyone can argue that Wide forwards are now judged on goals, I mentioned four that are seen by media & fans as struggling & its down to there lack of goals since they moved Grealish ,Sterling Sancho ,Antony ,

Grealish is the perfect example, he does a lot more than score goals helped City win the league but currently fan & media are judging him on his lack of goals ,

I think you can argue with what iv said if you actually read it ,

Look at Almiron suddenly getting rated by everyone , why because he's scoring goals ,

Again i understand not all wide forwards primary job to do from there coach is to score but in the public& media that's what there being judged on ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,752 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Anthony Gordon is the most weirdly overhyped player I've seen in as long as I remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,308 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

You would expect it in the good old days when the English were not producing as many big players and salivated over any slightly promising young fella.

I think he might surprise a few people ,

To be a 21 attacking player & impressing In that Everton side over the last few years is no easy task ,

He's obviously behind the likes of Saka & Foden at that age & both would cost probably 100 million but he's got something

He's also be very good for the England under 21's in that period ,

For 20 to 30 million not much money in todays market i think he may turn out to be a decent deal ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

@yourdeadwright

"The Mane & Salah era seem to have every club thinking they need two goal scoring wide forwards,"

Just because 2 players play on the wing does not mean their overall expected contribution to the team is expected to be the same.

Just like you wouldn't expect Paolo Maldini and Roberto Carlos to offer the same output from left back. They have different skillsets, and depending on the other players in your team; 1 will be more suited to the role than the other. If a team is weak defensively in midfield/CB you'd want Maldini at LB. If a team is strong at CB and defensively in midfield but lacks attacking output from the left you'd want Carlos.

Antony at Utd is expected to hold the width on the right hand side when the team is attacking down the left. To stretch the opposition backline so they cannot completely shuffle across and crowd out the attack on the left. If they do Antony is free on the right.

He also is tasked with holding that width to make room for an underlapping full back in Dalot who has had an excellent season because Antony opens so much space for him to operate in. This has been even more evident the last few weeks when it is AWB at RB because AWB cannot attack space to the same level as Dalot.

ETH did not sign Anthony thinking "Yes... we have our Mo Salah here. We will create space for him to pop up in the box and score goals." ETH worked with Antony at Ajax so he will know what player profile he was getting and what role he would want him to fulfil in the team.

Antony will be expected to score some goals ~10 a season I would say. But he is not the sides primary goalscorer so to compare to Salah doesn't make sense. What he will be judged on more so inside at Utd is how effectively he is opening space for other players and linking up with them. Are those phases of play actually creating chances etc..

Antony has a lot to work on for me. He needs to be far more dangerous taking on a man, beating him and creating a chance off the back of it & working on his ability to go on his right foot but given his role in the team his goal scoring hasn't been bad really.

His price tag doesn't help. You would expect the finished player in their peak or coming into it for that but.. here we are.

TLDR: Not all players jobs on the pitch are the same because their names are on the same place on a teamsheet.