Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland running out of accommodation for Ukrainian refugees due to surge in non-Ukrainian refugees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,970 ✭✭✭buried

But you said they are now currently "breaking the law" by issuing that statement today, you said that Boggles, so like I said, what are you going to do about it?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,379 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The middle way is where we are 'right now'. We are taking in an average number of asylum seekers when compared to the rest of the EU26, nothing out of the ordinary.

Problems with accommodation are not because we are suddenly being deluged with asylum claims, but because the government are making a total hames of making places available for people that need to be housed, whether Irish or non-Irish (as can be seen with the domestic housing crisis).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,162 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Asylum seekers will sleep rough in Dublin tonight

The first tranche of the state's new homeless population is tonight.

There'll be thousands following on in the next few months.

This is the social disaster starting now that NGO's and mindless do-gooders and a hopeless media have visited on this country.

Hope you're all proud of yourselves. I particularly hope you think of all those asylum seekers sleeping rough across Dublin every night from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 palette

Regardless of blame, the fact is that there is no accommodation.

Regardless of blame, the sensible thrust of an emergency response to an emergency situation is to forcibly halt any extra people coming into the country.

This needs to happen ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,970 ✭✭✭buried

What you are going to do about it is just ridicule our indigenous culture and heritage, just like you have done in your last couple of posts about "hurleys" and "flutes". So you are in no actual position to judge how our society is ran when all you can do is belittle its actual culture. Very "tolerant" and "liberal". Everybody can see this Bog. So keep it it up, you think you are being clever in pi$$ing on top of this islands culture, but the more you do it, the more you look like a complete and utter gom. Especially when you have nothing to say about the regimes turnaround today, a regime that you have defended to the hilt, up until today, that is.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

It doesn't even matter as to the who, why, when.

It's beyond that now.

There is no accommodation in the country right now.

There are people arriving into the country constantly day by day, right now.

The only adequate response is to halt the inward flow of people immediately. As for the EU and un, you act and then apologise later, but you don't stand there like a fool doing nothing.

If they can magic up enough housing to solve the housing crisis for irish people and have spare for everyone on earth, great, then you start again.

But anything less than this consequential logic is to let a crazy situation become a crazier situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,373 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I think the point is that we are being deluged.

Tens of thousands of Ukrainians have arrived here in the last 11 months. Combined with thousands of other refugees, the system is overwhelmed.

I'm not actually sure if you're joking or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

Our govmt and media have deliberately brought this about. Their concern for the Irish electorate comes a very distant second to that for the EU & outside interests. They're not idiots, only traitors

If we include the 70-80,000 Ukrainian refugees, that is definitely a 'deluge' - but war in Europe in the 21st century and many millions of people being displaced as a result is a quite extraordinary event (much more serious than Syria in 2015).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

And here would have been the best laugh.

One of the places that they wanted to drop off over 50 lads from Algeria, Somali, Eritrea, Georgia, Albania, Afghanistan, God knows where was none other than one of the film locations for The Banshee of Inisherin, Achill Island.

Remember that a couple of years back and how the natives were all inbred racists for not accepting it.

That would have been a laugh, sorry no donkeys but just wait a while and we will have a multicultural fight for ye.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭dublin49

if the climate change worst predictions come thru the current Asylum/refugee crisis will look like a tea party given that parts of the world will be uninhabitable .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Half of young Irish people are thinking of emigrating in the next year due to never being able to afford a home from a poll this evening.

And we are replacing them with these boyos from last night.

Buckle up folks, this is going to get bumpy.

Well of course we include the people from Ukraine.

I don't accept the far right idea to distinguish between those seeking asylum.

Pubs are packed with young people but they say they can't afford a home.

People will say any rubbish in an opinion poll if the question is leading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭bertieinexile

Finglas tonight. Pretty spicy.

https://www.facebook.com/100062599133235/videos/1612803425808648/

No one would have the neck to call that organised. It's down to one fella, Graham Carey, who's a kind of sole trader. With a lot of energy.

He called for a (mostly) men only protest and as you can see the temperature is up a level.

I don't know how you could be in government or in the NGO class and not be getting worried. There are hints here of power and control slipping away. Hmmm.

It'll be interesting to see how the larger protest movement deals with this input. Once again, as hairy as it seems, the protestors still recognise, and constantly repeat, the importance of keeping things under control. They know that any kind of skirmish undermines them.

The government and the opposition should shoulder a lot of the responsibility for these ongoing protests.

The government was the one who made Ukrainian refugees a separate group and gave them special status.

Even this week they've said Ukrainian women and children will be accommodated but single men from elsewhere won't.

It's a far right policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Ah that old chestnut.

They also have phones. Imagine that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,810 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,633 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Should just cut down on the avocado toast pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

One has to wonder if the UK are using the immigration crisis as leverage in the Northern Ireland protocol negotiations.

You want an open border?

Right have thousands of our unprocessed and failed asylum seekers.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

I tried to have an exchange of ideas there earlier, but it was a one way street.

It's important to get to the root of this indefensible stuff because, lo and behold, it demonstrates clearly it's indefensible.

There is no reasoning for this situation. Absolutely none. Hot air has more substance.

Let more people into the country "just because". I think it's a great idea to have more people arrive into a housing crisis "just because". I dont need to think further than what I'm told "just because". I don't need to explain anything "just because". You're a bad person to challenge "just because" because "just because".

This country has had enough of this tripe. If some of the "just because" people refuse to accept that this is the hottest topic on everyone's minds up and down the country, well, that's par for their course. They're wrong. It is evidently not to our advantage, it is demonstrably to our disadvantage.

Something needs to be drastically changed and it needs to start without single delay. There is literally no excuse to continue on this path a moment longer.

And yet thousands trying to move here despite the horror of living here apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,633 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Pity about him. Doesnt like the cold.

He shouldn't even be here as he has come in from a safe country.

Typical Ohadra soft interview. He's a simpering idiot.

Let's hope there's a good few more don't like the cold and feck off out of here.

Yeah but it's actually a great thing because "just because".

Everyone overflowing in the wealthy boon of an overpopulated island. Sheer bliss, says nobody.

If it were to stop tomorrow how long for the housing crisis to catch up and simply draw even? Are we set back another decade, as it stands? Unacceptable.

Farcical, is what it all is. I know there's some rubbing their paws dreaming of that property money, but they'll find out soon enough that money has to flow from somewhere and it isn't infinite. We're all in the same boat at the end of the day, and this concussion inducing stupidity will lay waste to all and sundry. Including the precious rents.

And then what'll be left? A country bereft of its youth and a whole load of fools and scammers left looking out the windows at each other trying not to join the sick or the homeless?

Time to wise up and think ahead. For a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Typical sh1tpost, full of errors and made up quotes.

There were tiny numbers of Poles here in 2003, 30 years ago. After Poland joined the EU in May 2004, Poles didn’t come as dependents, looking for food, housing and asylum. They came to work and work hard. Many, 30,000 in one year then left post boom.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

So it's fine for 'these guys' to keep their medieval belief system that women are inferior, is it? And to rape and abuse them because they dress differently to muslim women?

My Swedish colleague who lives here said most Swedes agree taking in so many Muslims ruined Swedish society for these very reasons. These immigrants can not adapt to a Liberal western culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

'Ah sure they are only here for a few weeks".

The left and the paid/sponsored NGO's have this country ruined.

Has a single Irish person been unable to buy or rent a home because of a Ukrainian national or an asylum seeker? The two subjects are 'not' linked - we would be having a major domestic housing crisis in 2023 no matter what. Most Ukrainians and asylum seekers couldn't even afford to buy a house at present.