Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

It looks like Tynan is fueding and WAC are saying nothing.

It's a bit rich from Tynan who had to take down a Podcast with McMahon earlier in the year because of defamatory statements and was outspoken about people not being able to take a bit of craic.

He's obviously having a tough time and responding poorly. I think he needs a bit of understanding and should probably take a break from social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭mylestheslasher

Is Tynan not the guy who hounded Terry Hyland for a year or two and set up some ridiculous Facebook page to get Johnston back playing. He's no issue throwing out the digs himself but very sensitive to getting some back.

From reading some of his posts, he's had some tragedies with people close to him over the past while. So I'd be inclined to give him a pass on this, he might regret some of what he's posted.

Any word of any challenge game for county this weekend? I see Mayo and Sligo were playing in Ballina today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭rrs

I was a bit surprised to see Conor Rehill back in. He struggled in a few club games last year. McVeety was excellent in the Club Championship. Probably a few Gowna players to come into the pane like Tiernan Madden

So who do we have hopes for in the new recruits?

David Brady probably top of the list. Didn't look at all out of place in his brief stint in 2017.

Looking forward to seeing if Tiarnan Madden can make the step up. He was key to that U20 run last year.

Also hoping Cian Reilly can get a corner back spot and make it his own.

Caoimhin McGovern might be a good option now that he's back to full health. He has good size and 2 good feet. A lot of the Cavan inside forwards are small bar Lynch.

Tristan Hoffman of Arva could be useful if he sticks around the panel for a year or 2. He was only back playing Gaelic football this year. He has played soccer for Longford Town and Bray, was back playing in his native Germany the last couple of years.

McGovern will need time, he's missed a couple of years of development at a vital stage. They rave about him down there though so it would be great to see what he can do given a run.

I didn't know that about Hoffman. He must be a good athlete.

Armagh have fanatical support for McKenna Cup games. 4,500 at their game last night against Antrim. They probably bigger support then Cavan last year in Breffni at the McKenna Cup game,which was played in Snow.

We'll have to listen to them bitching at the ref and shouting vitriol at the players next Wednesday. Hopefully for the only time this year, get it over with early.

A noisy bunch for sure. Cavan always seem to be drawn with Armagh in McKenna Cup.

I see Tiernan Kelly was playing last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

Much more than 4500 at it. That's what they announced but usually announce way less as they pay tax on it up north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Screenshot_20230107_103217.jpg

First team of 2023, nice to see some new faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭mogue77

It’s great to see new faces in and to see dara Mcveety back again he’s one of the best players to play for Cavan in my opinion and it’s a shame he missed out on 2020 hopefully he will get on Ulster championship.

Martin Reilly Conor McManus and Darren Hughes must be the longest serving outfield players playing County football. 36 this year.

Fair play to Reilly for keeping going, I thought he might retire after last year and losing a County finalm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

***this post is for use on Boards.ie only and not for reproduction or screenshotting on any external websites or Facebook pages****

Hard to read anything much into that performance. Antrim kicked alot of wides. Both teams went long periods without scoring. The last 15 to 20 minutes was disjointed due to all the changes. We missed a lot of goal chances.

An Armagh man I know reckons they’ll field strong on Wednesday and to expect a feisty encounter so that may tell us a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

The new lads..

I thought Liam Bradys kicking from lockouts and placed balls were good.

John Cooke made a couple of mistakes,but also got his hand in lots of times ,deflecting balls away.

Enda Maguire looked assured for his first inter county outing at midfield,

Brandon Boylan was very dangerous in the first half, as was Ryan o Neil whose movement was great even if his finishing didn't always match it.

Oisin Brady was outstanding.

Tiernan Madden was very assured.

The older/more established lads-

Dara McVeety was very good as was Ciaran Brady,both can probably do with more game time Wednesday night I'd say..

Martin Reilly was his usual industrious self...

Gerard Smith and Killian Clarke gave us their usual assured performances.

I will say one thing about the Antrim wides though, they were taking shots from way outside the scoring zone and ballooning them everywhere,we defended the D and scoring zones very well forcing them to shoot from well out.

Wednesday night will be a huge step up in class, so I wouldn't read much into this result except for the newcomers and returnees getting game time,I'd expect to see a much stronger team named.

Do we have many lads playing Sigerson this week whom won't be lining out Wednesday?

Ah ref had the Sigerson panels of each college up on Twitter before Christmas. Not many from Cavan involved.

Oisin Brady was very good. He performed well in McKenna Cup last year but then went off the panel for discipline issue. A very confident players on the ball.

Agree with all that with a massive caveat, Antrim were worse than any team we played in Division 4 last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,430 ✭✭✭tanko

We’ll be playing them in in the Ulster Championship Quarter final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

***this post is for use on Boards.ie only and not for reproduction or screenshotting on any external websites or Facebook pages*

Brady started against Leitrim in the first game of the League last year. I don’t think the disciplinary issue came until a few months later when he had already lost his place.

It would be great to try and win Wednesday and build some momentum ahead of the League. Down beat Monaghan Wednesday and Donegal today.

They’re a team who if they get their ducks in a row will cause us issues in Div 3.

Brady played well. He excelled on his debut in 2021 Championship so we know he can play at this level, he needs to find consistency and a run of form. That performance is a great start.

Ryan O'Neill had a tough day at the office. He's a class junior player but he looked a little out of his depth today. Hopefully more to come from him.

Thought the Holla was excellent but looked to be limping after the game.

What's the story with the asterix stuff at start of your post, did I miss something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,430 ✭✭✭tanko

Have a look at the Cavan club championship page on Facebook about five days ago. We’re being watched😂😂

They were terrible. Only early January but would be a surprise if they stayed up in Division 3.

A few other Division 3 teams under new management going well. Down and Longford. Longford have a lot of players back who opted out last year.

I see.

Hope mickey give Liam Brady the Armagh game too. Thought he was solid today a nailed a long range free. He must be the most patient man in Ireland as he's had to wait a long time for his chance.

I'd say he knows if he remains patient for a couple more years he's Ray's natural successor. He also seems to be heavily involved in Cavan Gaa, wasn't he part of the minor management team?

Martin Reilly is some man. Looks more mobile than half the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

Good win today, listened to it on and off on NS, nice to see a few new faces and hopefully a few more on Wednesday night

Very sad news out of Belturbet this evening may that young lad Rest in Peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

Ha ha! I was wondering if Cavan King was getting notions! 😝

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

Okay, first game down. You can only play and beat what is in front of you, but that looks like a very poor Antrim team. I know it's very early in the year but as mentioned above, they are going to struggle in division three.

From our perspective, none of the debutantes looked out of place, and Holla looked back to his best. Mc Veety was outstanding. Killian Clarke rarely gets plaudits these days but he was very good and kicked two good scores. Cooke had a shaky start against that breeze but came into it, never went hiding and improved as the game went on. Very assured game from Madden and Brandon Boylan looked lively.

I actually thought Rian O'Neill had a good game. Showed well, won a lot of ball and linked play. Would have been nice for him to get a score, would do his confidence a world of good. Brilliant return from Oisin Brady. You can see at club level that he's a top class footballer and he's only shown flashes of it at county level. Am i right in thinking since he debuted against Fermanagh in 2021 that those scores were his first at intercounty level? I remember him playing well against Tyrone that year but I don't remember seeing him score (albeit he has been a bit unlucky). That game will do him the world of good and would be nice to see him kick on from there.