Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is societies obsession with carrying cash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,252 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Well every time he posts it's keyboard diarrhea so I honestly assumed that if he tried to concentrate he'd pass out or crap himself.

The advice we give is borne of experience, we can only assume….

Yeah, plenty of experience of people threatening me with laws they don't understand like your godwinning friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,434 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Well that escalated quickly, 2 lads digging down then godwinning themselves, where do they go next?

No one is getting rid of cash, it will become increasingly niche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,814 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Some businesses obviously made substantial savings by not handling cash and in post pandemic ireland they like the idea of that continuing.

Any and every business i deal with take cash now… pubs, restaurants, gym, local shop / supermarket , deli, and clothing stores that I frequent …

anywhere I go that refuses cash I’ll just not entertain giving them the business…

Went out this morning

Lidl - paid cash

Tesco - paid by card

Coffee shop - paid by cash

Easons - paid by card

It's not f*cking either / or

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭blade1

imagine arguing about taxi Card reader signals in 2022, when there’s effectively 90%+ 2G/3G/4G/5G coverage throughout Ireland. There’s very few places in this country you simply cannot access a mobile data signal.

perhaps outside a specific location, but rest assured if the driver was to travel a km or two down the road, he’ll get signal, you can pay, he can drop you back up the road.

If you think for one second a card machine malfunctioning is an excuse not to pay, please visit dunnes or something the next time their machines are down and see how quickly you’ll be allowed walk out with your trolley load not paid for because I wAnT tO pAy WiTh cArD iTs lEgAl TeNdEr iTs My ChOicE

Whatever chance you have with gold, pungent purfumes and oils, can’t see Lidl accepting them.

you’ll be allowed walk out with your trolley load not paid for because I wAnT tO pAy WiTh cArD iTs lEgAl TeNdEr iTs My ChOicE

Completely different scenario.

You’re right, I’ll try it another way.

The same situation but you visit a restaurant, have a 3 course meal, drinks etc. turns out the card machine is down, do you think you can just leave without paying then? Of course you can’t.

There’s no situation (other than if the taxi driver says otherwise) where a card machine being down results in the contract to pay being void. Entering a taxi and using the service means you owe money, that doesn’t go away because a card machine isn’t operating.

The part I really take exception to is how some think that “my fare, my choice” applies here, it certainly does not. I’d love to see anyone argue with a judge or garda (or indeed even just the driver) that the machine being faulty at this time absolved you of any duty to pay for the services you used.

It’s honestly a fcuking disgrace this is even a train of thought for some people. Is it any wonder taxi drivers are leaving in droves. you used their service to drive your lazy arse home and you have the cheek to sit there and smugly claim it’s your right to get a free ride if the card machine is not operating, because how dare the driver inconvenience you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Dunnes have no OBLIGATION under the terms of their license to trade that they must accept card. What part of this is hard to understand. If they wanted to they could turn around tomorrow and say that from 1st January 2023 we will no longer accept cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

100%. add in alcohol to that mix and it makes everything so much more worse. taxi drivers dont get paid half enough.

them people are the same kind of morons who think if something worth 100 euro in a shop is marked 5 euro by mistake, that they are entitles to the item for 5 euro.🤣

If a passenger card payment problem occurs, such as insufficient funds or the card has expired, for example, drivers should treat the matter in the same way as when dealing with a passenger who finds themselves unable to pay the fare in cash at the end of a journey. A different card may work or the passenger may be able to pay cash for the fare calculated on the taximeter. The passenger may wish to be taken to a cashpoint to get cash to pay the fare or have a third party pay on their behalf. If a passenger refuses to pay and an amicable agreement cannot be found, drivers should consider involving An Garda Síochána. It is an offence under section 24 of the Taxi Regulation Act 2013 for a person who hires a taxi and, without reasonable excuse, does not pay the fare calculated in line the maximum fares order by a verified taximeter. 

Fandymo ignores this part, he just wants his free trip. he thinks if he trys to pay by phone, if that doesnt work the 50 euro fare is the taxi drivers problem.🤣 hopefully he ends up in court explaining his love for digital payments some day.

passenger card payment 

There's your first mistake, but you already know that....

Very passionate argument over something nobody said.

Look at the link ptj keeps sharing that discredits his argument, If my card doesn't work, i am on the hook for a different method of payment, so how is it different if your ability to accept payment doesn't work.

think that “my fare, my choice” applies here

TFI seem to think it does.

From 01 September 2022, every taxi in Ireland must accept credit and debit card payments (Visa, Mastercard, American Express) as well as cash – it’s the passenger’s choice. Drivers may not charge surcharges on any card payments.

them people are the same kind of morons who think if something worth 100 euro in a shop is marked 5 euro by mistake, that they are entitles to the item for 5 euro.

No, it'd be like the manager of a shop claiming you owe 95 euro after the idiot behind the counter charged you a fiver for a hundred euro item.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭jiltloop

One man does not equal "society". You just encountered an annoying person who didn't want to break a 20. A pretty rare experience generally speaking I would say and I would have extensive experience having worked for many years in retail.

It’s been explained to you already, quite slowly.

Problem with my phone/card not working that is 100% my problem.

Problem with drivers machine not working 100% not my problem, and a €200 fixed penalty for the driver if he wants to go the legal route as he is obligated to cease work if his machine is broken/uncharged.

Maybe this time it’ll sink in??

And if he chooses to ignore the obligation you are referring to? Which part of the legislation I posted for you earlier states they have to stop working if the machine suddenly breaks.? The driver could choose to accept the fine if it came to it.

There wouldnt be a fine, the NTA aren't that bad. They would only fine him/her if the driver never accepted card payments. card readers like everything can malfunction, the driver would get the benefit of doubt in my opinion.

Yes it is your choice to pay cash or card, but that choice becomes invalid when the card option is physically or technically unavailable.

it’s the equivalent of expecting a refund on your ESB over outages. It’s part of the deal sometimes things don’t work but that doesn’t mean you can refuse to pay a taxi fare anymore than you can a days worth of ESB if there’s a fault. The world doesn’t work in black and white as you’re expecting. The fact is you cannot say your contract to pay for the service received is void because the card machines broken.

in actual fact, in my opinion, in these cases you should be able to take the drivers bank details of equivalent and at your home wifi or whatever connection you use make an online transfer and WhatsApp them a screenshot.

my point being overall you cannot refuse to pay, or just get out of paying, because of a technical fault of a machine. Not when other means of payment are available, in abundance, stubborn is not an excuse for not paying.

it’s amazing too cos if any of you saying how it’s acceptable and your right apparently not to pay a taxi fare cos a card machine won’t work, it’s grand for you cos that money stays in your pocket, but the fact is your taking it from someone else. That’s €20, 40, whatever money that driver lost on your fare because you’re a bloody ****. You wouldn’t feel so happy if you were robbed on the street and left stuck for fuel money etc or if your wages weren’t paid properly etc. can’t understand how you think it’s fair or justified to literally steal someone’s time and money because you insist on a payment option that’s temporarily unavailable by no fault of the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

There was a statement here a few pages back that cash was only for a list of people that included "freeman on the land" types.

But as your post and others have alluded to using the not paying the taxi example, the freeman on the land stuff really sits better with the card only people.

my point being overall you cannot refuse to pay, or just get out of paying, because of a technical fault of a machine. Not when other means of payment are available, in abundance, stubborn is not an excuse for not paying.

Thanks for agreeing to a point we made 2 days ago, you wrote a lot of words to agree with us, next time try reading and save your word count..

You gave the impression that if the card or phone didnt work, you got a free taxi, dont pretend you didnt give that impression.

The terms and conditions they've signed up for their SPSV license states this.

Wouldn't be the NTA, its a fixed penalty notice from the Gardai. You really aren't keeping up are you??

Yeah they would definitely give a fine for that. 😂